Aging Gracefully

Re: Aging Gracefully

tu sindhi ahain?

nahi, all i know is baba saiN and challi... thats the beginning and end of my sindhi lol

kool…then i can show off mine :dixsi:

That is all about compromisation.

There are just two ways to get "Inner calm". Completion or extermination of all desires.

Intellect develope compromisation, which will provide a surface feeling of calmness but always increase the radius of inner emptiness.
Intellectual, with aging, if able to persist really, can not remain calm.

completion of all desires, extermination of all desires or reality based categorization of all desires. while it may be there, because it is unrealistic, one does not worry about it and on a daily basis the lack of ability to fulfil that desire is not a hinderance. i.e. you may still have desires for making a change or for material goods or success, but you have come to terms with it and its no longer important enough for you to fret about.

..I dont disagree with you though, i think the third option depends on people who could reach a state of mind where things become irrelevant on a daily basis.

well on serious note: i used to be one sensible Champ. but when i find formless need of me i left every other self reflexive attraction.
though people still query my intellects but i stick to that matter until they are not hurt.

otherwise, what we get from these pointless show-offz. absolutely NOTHING!

and when do we reach that state ,

dunno man, I saw that in my nana. a deeply religious man, he is among my role models in life.

I think while he appreciated finer things and was happy on material success of his children and grandchildren, he just seemed to be at ease, a simple person believign in qanayat, and happy with who he was, and realizing that this life is just a temporary stop on the way to other things.

But , then that has a connection with religion , a religious person at any stage of life will be content and free of worldly desires where things become irrelevant on daily basis , in my opinion this has nothing to do with age , it depends on the strenght of one's believes

the topic had kinda moved from age to intellect, and i agree that intellect can come at any age..especially if we are looking at it from a religious or spirirtual perspective.

most people still take time to get to that place, not seen too many teenagers in that frame of mind, so age has a little bit to do with it. not 100% of the time but I would suggest still a fairly large percentage.

with age people change and how nice would it be that a good partner stayed instead of becoming dormant. that he aged with whom he advanced towards, that he aged gracefully to maturation. but no.

Dushi Ji, first, sorry for flooding in your thread, i kinda got carried away with zobia's nerd reasonings, mauf ki jiye ga plz.

I like the responses that ppl have given here, but personally, I just pray that I dont become the sort of person that ppl look at and feel that they are throwing stones at a brick (lead rather) wall... that ppl look a me and say "u cant teach an old dog new tricks so lets leave her as she is"... I pray to Allah SWT that I have an open mind, and that I am able to understand and adopt new things Inshallah, and that mein kisshi ki mohtaaj na houN inshallah.

Wassalam

& Pinks when did you change your personality color? :>

such respect, is so nice to be accorded.
nice thought that you would like to be open minded. very true and necessary for life and social existence.
i wish people who you think care for you, and indicate that they possibly, possibly like you, mean that and that they with age realise that this is oneof the biggest gifts of human sense of responsibility and honesty.
you have good intentions brother/ sister, carry on. may Allah swt enable you wth ever so more open minded ness balanced with fair and moral reasoning. amen!

best,
Dushwari

JAK for the dua... I am always greedy 4 those.

And its sister :)

Sorry, I didn't understand the first question in ur post, plz explain :)

dear pinks,

what made you pink? that was the implied qs.

the answer to that question is embarassing: it was the only word that came to mind when i was registering for the forum... I never thought I'd actually be a part of it one day :) its such that some of the pics in the fashion sections cant be opened up if you are not a member, that is why i became a member :)

its not that i particularly like the colour pink, i mean i dont mind it, i like almost all colours!... my sisters tease me about how lame my nick sounds :( kher i have to live with it....

You can always create another one :halo:

:salam: @ both

Walaikum Assalam.

I c a n n o t b e b o t h e r e d

thnx 4 the advice all the same :slight_smile:

i’m kinda used to this girly nick by now :slight_smile:

^ ok my lame attempt to write a "lazy ' version of "i can not be bothered" kinda screwed up...