Agha Khan Development Network

:salam:

I had a question about AKDN
http://www.akdn.org/index.html

I don’t mean to sound skeptical, this is a genuine question. Is the AKDN a purely philanthropic organisation? As per its claims? As per reality? Underlyingly does it try to promote the Agha Khani religious beliefs? Does it, in reality, only cater to the Ismaili [Agha Khani] community?

In Pakistan AKDN is considered one of the best NGO’s, its international reach, professionalism, involvement with projects of the highest scope etc – it is overall a very well reputed organisation atleast in Karachi, but I’m getting mixed reactions from people about their aims and plans/projects etc.

Could someone who might have some info shed some light on this? :slight_smile:

mehrbani

Aga Khan Community is going to be the similar community as jews in USA, very small in number but biggest in economical sectors, just watch mcdonalds pakistan, habib bank, most of the five star hotels in pakistan and that will go on, God knows they will be the King of economy in pakistan.

yeah the Agha Khan Foundation is no doubt the country' best. it's not just the best NGO, but overall the best organized organization. everything they step into reflects perfection. the biggest example being the medical university in karachi. the foundation has done so much work for the country especially in the northern areas of pakistan; it's outstanding really.
i think Irem, your concerns about their ismaili faith preachings through this welfare work can not be disregarded, i too think that this way they are trying to promote their beliefs and culture and a they have done so much in northern areas, many northerners have converted to ismailism. at their univ they offer special discounts and prefernce to students from their faith and especially from the northern areas under their influence.
and maybe GolaGunda is right too, they just might emerge as the richest most refined, most educated and most respected community of pakistan, at home and internationally, in a way like the american jews. i just hope they dont turn evil like the jews have. :D
but' it's a fact that the agha khanis are extremely talented, well bred, well groomed, hardworking and organized people. they make excellent business men, excellent administrators, educators, chartered accountants etc.
recently their proposal of forming an Agha Khan board of education was accepted by the govt of Pakistan and the board will be allowed to conduct Matric and Intermediate examinations from 2006. schools and colleges are already liniong up to register with the board which will obviously be recognized everywher as equal to the other education boards like Federal, Punjab, sindh etc. and no doubt the standards are going to be much much better! so there again. the AKF will be doing a great deal for the country's education. which ironically the govts have never been able to do.

^ wah such tolerance...kya baat hai...

^ and whats wrong with his post, I think he gave an good objective about the organisation.

thanks haris

Harris, you're totally right. I'm deciding upon taking up a job with the AKF but I'm still thinking if I should go for it. Its a fact that they do a lot of developmental work but I don't want to work for an org that has aims to spread Ismaili faith. They have a right to preach and are free to do so, I just don't want to be part of an org that does. I don't know if its really true that they preach Ismaili faith though or if its all just talk. That's why I was asking. Thanks for your reply.

Gola Gunda, they definitely are major shareholders in our economy. I'm a bit uncomfortable with a minority that is not even part of mainstream Islam, becoming such a huge force in our economy, but then again we only have our own incompetence to blame for this. Thanks for your reply.

thanks Saadia and Irem.

well Irem, i really think if you have a good offer from AKF i’d say go for it! you are right that we can not be absolutely sure how correct it is that they do preach their faith through their work and besides, millions of muslims work in places owned by Jews, Christians, Hindus etc anyway. every sect does promote its faith to some extent, but i dont think that has anything to do with an normal employee of the organization. unless ofcourse if the job is to go into the mountains and distribute leaflets on Ismailism :smiley:
also, think about the good work they do. if you weigh both things, the preching would be some 10% and 90% the welfare work. and by the way not to forget, they pay good money, nice environmet, good benefits and facilities!
good luck :k:

thanks Haris :-)

I am currently working as the co-ordinator curriculum for a bunch of schools in Karachi to see their smooth transition as well as affiliation with the AKU-Examination Board.

Irem darling, no they aren't spreading the Agha Khani /Ismaili faith. Thats pure devlopment work. However, I can't say much regarding the situation in the Northern Areas but so far the people I have come across did not say anything to that effect and they aren't Agha Khanis either. If they are preaching their faith whats the hitch... I mean those who criticise and castigates them should have the courage to take up this uphill task to bring the ppl in the mountainous regions at par with or atleast provide them with the opportunities whereby they can be as good as the rest of the citizens on the educational and economic front. And than who is stopping them from preaching and upholding their particular version of Islam.

There is nothing in the syllabi which in anyway deals with the Agha Khani faith. And I believe its more or less true for their other ventures as well.

Every community tries to support and backs its own people. Whats so wrong if the Ismailies are given preference. Besides, you'll have to gauge it yourslef how much you are being affected by their versionof Islam. I mean c'mmon, have faith in your self. Though I can understand where you are coming from but I bet in the urban centers they arent doing any such thing................................. Goahead and good luck!

^ Minerva someone told me that people from the Northern areas are entitled to free treatment at AK Medical College?

Matsui if you have something useful to add, please do so, otherwise keep the assness out. Thanks.

Minerva, thats pretty cool what u r doing, thanks for ur post and the good wishes…same to u

they have a right to preach, i dint say they dont…i dont have anything against aga khanis..i have some good aga khani friends..i just dont want to be a part of an org that preaches ismailism…like i dont want MY khoon paseena going towards spreading ismailism…does that make sense :konfused:

btw if i cant go to the mountains to bring those ppl at par, i can still have an opinion abt this issue..i think…? just becoz they r providing education, it doesnt mean they have to start converting ppl…?? i dono

nothing at all…its totally true, each community tries to strengthen itself

u missed the pt…its not abt me being affected…alhamdulillah i am not worried abt that…its just that i was wondering abt the aims of this org…but khayr, as u said, and as some other folks whom i spoke to today told me, it seems they r doing a lot of pure good work as well…

Irem,

AKDN is a non profit organization which promotes the social development among poor.
The organization doesn’t spread Ismaili faith through its development programs. The aim of organization is to support disadvantaged communities irrespective of gender, ethnicity or religion.
Islam faith teaches us that we have obligations far beyond our own or even our family’s interest. By the way we conduct our daily lives, by the compassion we show to our fellow men and women, and above all, by our faith in Allah, we all will ultimately be judged. AKDN represents the above mention notion and works with the support of international Ismaili community to enable poorest to transform their existence from extreme poverty, to choice and opportunity. Within a context that safeguards, for each of them, their right to their own identities, and to preserve and practice their faiths and traditions.
AKDN has number of foreign workers and employees. They all work hand in hand with Ismailies to achieve common goals of social and economical development of specific regions of the developing world.
I hope this will help to clear your doubts about organization works and programs.

Harris ,

Please don’t compare ismaili community with American Jews and please do some research before you make such comments.
Ismailis affirm the fundamental Islamic Testimony of Truth, the shahada, that there is no deity but Allah and that Muhammad (Peace of Allah be upon him) is His Messenger. We believe that Muhammad was the last and final Prophet of Allah, and that the Holy Qur’an, Allah’s final message to mankind, was revealed through him. We also affirm that after the Prophet’s death, the Prophet’s cousin and son-in-law, became the first imam - the spiritual leader of the Muslim community and that this spiritual leadership - known as continues thereafter by heredity through ‘Ali and his wife Fatima, the Prophet’s daughter. Succession to the imamat, according to Shi‘i doctrine and tradition, is by way of nass or designation.
It is through the leadership and guidance of Prince Karim Aga Khan that Ismaili community has made progress in the educational, health, housing and economic sectors.

*Originally posted by nali: *

Harris ,

Please don’t compare ismaili community with American Jews and please do some research before you make such comments.
Ismailis affirm the fundamental Islamic Testimony of Truth, the shahada, that there is no deity but Allah and that Muhammad (Peace of Allah be upon him) is His Messenger. We believe that Muhammad was the last and final Prophet of Allah, and that the Holy Qur’an, Allah’s final message to mankind, was revealed through him. We also affirm that after the Prophet’s death, the Prophet’s cousin and son-in-law, became the first imam - the spiritual leader of the Muslim community and that this spiritual leadership - known as continues thereafter by heredity through ‘Ali and his wife Fatima, the Prophet’s daughter. Succession to the imamat, according to Shi‘i doctrine and tradition, is by way of nass or designation.
It is through the leadership and guidance of Prince Karim Aga Khan that Ismaili community has made progress in the educational, health, housing and economic sectors.

nali,
first of all welcome to GS.
by your post i conclude you belong to the ismaili community.
if you have read my post carefully enough you'd know that i didnt compare the ismaili community with the jews in the US the way you thought i did at all! my comparison was only because GolaGunda before me had just mentioned a similarity in the sense that like the jews in US, the Ismailis is pakistan are very successful and so on...and i agree to that. i think i said a lot of good things about the AghaKhanis...and i dont think i doubted their belief in Allah and the prophet PBUH...they are a different sect, and every one knows that...so please make sure youve read and understood a post whenever you comment on one.
hope i havent hurt any sentiments.

The AKUH(hospital) is nothing to boast about. No doubt that it churns out good doctors, most of my friends have graduated from there but the hospital is a another story. I have had personal experiences and found many that went in rich and came out poor. Once they know that your not going anyehere and that you are someone from the west or a rich local businessman , their goal then is to extort money from you until you have no more. Patient care is "not" their priority , I have proof. Actually at one point I was thinking of suing AKUH but it would be difficult a task to manage this from North America. So in future be careful of AKUH hospital.

Irem, my apologies... that diatribe wasn't particularly targeted at you...

nali thanks a lot for your detailed reply. welcome to GS :k:

Haris and zman thanks for the replies

Minerva heyy apologies abt what??

hey Irem, interesting thread :flower1: :flower1:

i hope tum jo bhi decision lo gi, it’s the best for you Insha’Allah :hug: Please let me know how it goes out if you do decide to accept the offer :hug: :hug:

Incidently, the Aga Khan III played an important role in Pakistan's creation.

Imdad Ali - true

Nadz :hug: :hug: :hug: