Age Appropriate Clothing......

I know a silly question, but what do you guys think… is it okay for a 28-year-old to wear outfits from American Eagle, Aeropostale, or Abercrombie etc…???. Will it look going a little over the edge??? I mean these all shops target a quite younger age group (highschoolers to undergrads), but if you are 28-year-old and a big fan of their big and bold styles, do you guys think it will look appropriate to wear these brands??? (btw their outfits scream out for their brand even from a mile)

Or should a 28-years-old just stick to boring Banana Republic, AK, Micheal Kors, Ruehl, Lacoste, or maybe the gheeto JCPeenys’ old ladies section???

Do you guys even think one should change the brands they wear as their age progress.

All i want to say is that I have a great appreciation for American Eagle hoodies and Abercrombie jeans! :frowning:
and I am 28-year-old,
and I have three kids,
and i take all my kids to AE Outfitters to shop for my clothing
and ppl think i look like a 21-year-old (hint hint)
and I am still an undergrad! :smiley:

wow... ure so young and have 3 kids already Mashallah! u mst have married really young huh? :) i m 25 and i think i wudnt mind wearing a bit "teenager-ish" clothes myself. Its all about being comfortable and being able to carry it. these r the two things that u always need to remember when u buy somethin which u think mite not b appropriate for ur age. just dun go for toooooooo bold and in ur face shirts, which promote ur brand... just go for whatever looks gud and decent on u..

Re: Age Appropriate Clothing......

You know I always wonder about this too. I'm almost 23 and I've gone through the whole phase of trying to dress older/mature and its really not so much fun. I did the whole dress pants and conservative clothing for one whole semester in school... we're talking button down shirts, pencil skirts, heels... all that stuff.. and while it was fun for a while and made me feel like I was some serious successful big shot haha I quickly went back to dressing like a "teenager" so to speak... the jeans and hoodies and sneakers and cute flats, matching fake jewelry, and more colorful fun stuff that you find in stores like Forever 21 and whatnot. I dont think there's really a cut off point where you can and cant wear certain clothes... its all about how you feel and how you look....

I've seen 40 year old women pulling off such cute trendy stuff that even a 20 year old might not look good in... its all about how you carry yourself I guess..

& what looks good on you... goes with your body type, personality etc.

^Well that's a given.

You haven't seen the show, "what not to wear" then, have you...?

No my point is carrying yourself well includes dressing body appropriately and all that other stuff.

Almost 32, with 2 almost teenage daughters and not afraid to buy clothes from teenage shops.

THey are the only places I can find my size, most 'Adult shops' dont have my size, everything is too big.

It matters not where you buy your clothes from, But how you wear 'em.

Ooh btw I met an aunty yesterday at an iftaar party she had a bright orange shalwar kameez on, with orange plastic high-heel shoes, and an orange escada handbag... and a tacky orange/gold set on (yes SET!) and orange lipstick as well.

good lord... 32 only and teenager daughters???? when were u married? when u were 15 or something? amazing man! its gud to know u continue to dress the same way. i maintain u can dress any way u want as long as it dusnt look cheap on u!

I always imagined you were a 20 something kid...

I DUN BELIEVE IT!!!!!!!! but thaz the reason why they r calld aunties!! sheesh.

That's because you are one of those lucky one's who look so young at 32 and you can pull off so well .not everyone can do this :) as someone said above a young girl with a wrong body shape can easily kill a look if they dont have the right body and personality .

I am so glad there is someone out there with the same question as I do - How to dress for your age!

I feel good wearing jeans n stuff... I HATE career wears. I HATE career pants, blazers - oh so boring! (for jobs)

I love the conservative teenage / early 20s clothes and I wear them and look good in them.

If I try clothes that is in the "women" section I feel so old and actually they simply don't look good on me.

I think about this question so many times - I am in my 30s.

I have same problem with Desi outfits too - I love the latest styles and they suit me better - cause I am thin - but then people of my age do not wear these - they wear those boring old fashioned salwar/kurta's...

... but I have made up my mind - it's better to be dressed up the way you feel comfy - instead of thinking about how your aged group are "expected" to dress up... right! ;)

Wear what makes you feel like yourself. If you look good in it, the tag does not matter. There is no formula for when to stop shopping at AE and such places.

I shop at Abercrombie, AE, Aero, Hollister, H&M, Banana Republic, Ann Taylor, Ruehl, Lacoste, etc. And yes, the age group is different but that doesnt mean the cut of the jeans might not look nice on me.

Now, I DO know a couple of Aunties who go shopping in their daughter's closets for the baby-tees and capris! THAT is a no-no!!!!!

If u can FIT in their clothing, then its age appropriate :wink:

It also depends on how many braincells a person is lacking to not look in the mirror and realize although this looks good on me BUT i dont think it looks appropriate at my age.

My girls have their closet choking with clothes that I've handed them down, most of them brand new cause I wore 'em once, realized its not me and gave it to them.

why would you buy clothes - when it's "not you" to begin with?

obviously you have no other choice but to hand them down. Do some smart shopping and save some!:)

Re: Age Appropriate Clothing…

well its better than seeing an 80+ yr old wearing a totally pink outfit including pink trainers that was the most hilarious thing i ever seen n i get to c the lady every wk on my wkly shop:omg:

sometimes they just look pretty :cb:

I dont think Im alone guilty of buying clothes that may seem pretty at the shops but then you get home and go what the hell was i thinking :o