After Wedding suits

hey guppies,

i was just wondering how many suits did u have made to wear after the wedding
like heavy suits to wear for dinners or other functions?

thanks

Re: After Wedding suits

I had to attend dinners at each uncle's/aunt's house from my hubbies side and my side. My parent's friends and some of my friends invited us. Also my parents threw some dinners and then when they were leaving for pakistan everyone held a dinner for them. I did wear most of my outfits but still have some untouched. I made around 30 outfits for my after-wedding formal wear (out of which I'd say 10 were extremely heavy ones and the rest lesser heavy party wear). It all depends on how much family u have and how many events you expect to attend. Oh and I also managed to gain ten wonderful pounds after all these lovely dinners were over.

** lol..
well in england we have a couple of families but mostly in pakistan, my mum suggested just get a couple made to wear here and then make the rest when i move to pakistan other wise it will come here and then just go back being untouched..

um i think i went a bit overboard with my suits i made well my mom made 50 suits of which 13 of them are like realllyyyyyy fancy about 20 are fancy 6 saris and the rest fancy/casual party wear but still waerable to small get togethers at home or so i havent counted the house wear or normal everyday wear with the 50 suits!! seems like a lot but trust me i have a huggge family so im more than sure i'll be wearing them all

So far I have got 46 suits made & 12 more are on the way. I have divided them as such

Extra heavy Embroidery 6. The ones I'll be wearing on the first week after shadi.
Heavy Embroidery 10
Party Wear 17
Daily Wear 25

Got some Shalwar kameez, Churidar Pajamas, Sarees, Trousers & 2 Ghararas.

There is an unfortunate part to this & that is I don't like 20 of the outfits someone got made for me.

It's a good idea to categorize them.
I didn't even think about the dawats part and carried 2 heavy suits with me while flying to my inlaws after my nikkah.. and everyone who came to the reception there invited us for a dawat. My sister had to mail me my formal clothes because not only we had dinner parties but also lunch parties because I was visiting for a couple of weeks only and everyone wanted us to come over. My inlaws know alot of people and we won't just be having dawats but also parties almost every weekend, too many get togethers. So considering all that, I am still thinking about how many to make.. maybe have enough to last me about 6-9 months. Ordering from Pakistan is SUCH a hassle, not to mention pricey. I might as well stock up until I have a chance to travel there and shop. I haven't worn a few of the outfits I got made during nikkah time.. so I am saving them for rukhsati too.

no advertising

anyways normally what i suggest to ppl is right after marriage u realize that u do need alot of clothes. sometimes there are brunches lunches and dinners ofcourse.

initually everyday wear should be lightly embrioded nothing too simple or prints (é prints or simple too waisay hee ban jatay hein) should be around 15
semi formals for brunches, lunches or teas - 10
dinners 14 u can include saris, chooridars, peshawaas, dhaka pajama, patialas.

it also depends upon girls how much socilizing the inlaws are into.

I have a huge Family MashAllah... so,yup looking fwd to the dawats after Shaadi InshAllah. I'll b getting loads of kaam walay suits, not sure about the number yet...will come up with the number once i'll know.
but hey ladies what about the clothes we'll b getting from the in-laws I mean shouldn't we wear those for the 1st week..?

depends upon u zara u should always wear theirs and yrs. when going on their side wear theirs and make a big deal aboout the fact how lovely they are. makes a big deifference in improving ur relationship with inlaws.

alot of times inlaws do not give clothes to girls these days they give money instead saying make clothes over time ya hamaree taraf say bhee banawa loo.

when are u getting married khair say?

Scenario 1 You live in the west and not Pakistan and you or your husband are the type to want to socilaize : Make lots of heavy clothes as there are usually lots of dawats and people wear heavy clothes to these gatherings (depends upon your own style too, if you don't like too kaam walay clothes then you don't make more than 2-3). Also, the same group of people are at these parties so one can't reapet too much. Also, living away from pakistan makes it a hassle to get clothes made. About 15-29 suits should be ok including really heavy as well as light party wear.

Senario 2 You live in the West but are not to socilaize a lot, then you don't need a lot of clothes.

Scenario 3 You live in pakistan. Then don't make too many as you have the luxury of going to parties with different groups so you can repeat clothes and of course there people don't wear heavy clothes to every day dawats except in teh very initial days after shadi.

omg u guys are making so many suits i never knew you that it was so many :s
i forgot about the inlaws how many are they supposed to give then?
my sis got like 10-12 made, she had her wedding pakistan and then stayed there for a while but she did make suits afterwards

depends on ur in-laws.I don't think there's a limit or certain number of suits to b made from the in-laws..

i don't know of the number but a lot of the girls i know made 3 suitcases full with their jahez....this includes everything from formal, party, and casuals...so i was like i guess 3 suitcases is the requirement now hehe

i am probably getting just 10.. as i will be in pakistan for a week and then in the US it'll just be me and my husband(his family's in pk). He doesnt socialize that much with pakistani people. i have some family there. uncles and aunts. so i figured even if i make 10 formyself. and then get some from my inlaws.. it should do. not to mention the styles get old and then u dont feel like wearing them so i'll get my mother to send me clothes whenever she can afterwards.
Yeah so i had this figured out but looking figures of 35 and 50.. im having second thoughts. should i get more?

**I had a lot but only a few were heavy. so my advise is make a few and get the rest made later as in stitching and work because of the style being changed so often.

that's what i did and i am very happy that i did that other wise u never really wear them afterward.

I got about 11 from moms side and about 17 from husbands side. i had told them both to make no more than 10 each mostly cuz i live in ny and dont go out for dawats where i would be wearing shalwar kameez. when i do go out im mostly in dresses, skirts and jeans. it was pointless spending money and making even that much. out of those around 27 dresses i have probably worn a total of 10 dresses because we had to go to dawats in pakistan after the wedding and a couple in ny.

i think its pointless to make so many dresses firstly cuz almost every season theres a new a style. i personally get sick of lookign at the same clothes over and over again even if i havent worn them, out of the remaining outfits i might wear another 2-3 that i absolutely love and might just donate the rest.

and its not like u will wear a dress only once, i got a sari made that i wore once at a dawat for us on my inlaws side and then wore it again at an event in my own family.

I got 25 suits made for myself and 11 from my inlaws.

All the stuff from inlaws was quite heavy and have worn them like once ... mainly because I have gained weight and they dont fir too well : P

I made a mistake when getting my stuff done that I got them all too heavily embrioded...like only 7/8 outfits were partywear or casual...this was a big hassle for me...because I couldnt just dress up to each and every gathering...

I say you are going to get heavry worked outfits from the inlaws ...so u should stick to more formal/party/casual wear from your side...that is.....if you trust your inlaw's choice!

It depends. I think the bride should mix & match both. In my case I didn't know up till now that I'll be getting bari from my in laws besides the walema outfit & I knew I'll be attending a lot of dawats so wanted to be prepared.

That is such a great advice Sozankaar.

If you have the luxury of getting clothes made anytime by your mom from Pakistan then you should be fine. Especially since you mentioned you don't have that many people. Its like my cousin got many Desi clothes made & all she wears is American clothes. Even at family gatherings. But that's her. It all depends on how you plan to dress after shadi or how many dawats etc. will you be attending if you are living in the West.

I think girls should be practical both ways. That is are they gonna be dressing up Desi, then get a lot clothes. Second clothes here are expensive. I have always purchased clothes from here. Now that I got 'em made from Pakistan for my wedding I realized even with shipping it only cost 3/4 of what I might have paid here. Second thing to consider is will you have enough opportunities to get more clothes made if need be from Pakistan.

^^ agree to all the other posts that at the end of the day, it really depends on how much to socialize. But if we are talking about minimums (ke an average bride should have how many formal/party wear) then I'd atleast 20...that's just party wear. Other regular ghar mein pehne waley kaprre separate.

But then again that no. can be different based on, if you guys don't socialize at all except maybe 2 EIDS or somethings, then ya you should be fine for any no. that is around or over 10 :D