After the news

I have been wanting to become pregnant for a long time now and recently we found out that we are expecting our first baby. I didnt know how to react. I was so happy. was about to cry but couldnt and my whole body was in extacy.

We have know for 3 weeks now but not told anyone yet. I am dying to tell my parents, siblings and friends. but my husbands wants to wait cuz he knows that his mother will tell the whole world right after she gets the news and he is worried that its still too early to announce as its normal to have a miscarriage.

Becauase of this I became a bit introvert in the beginning and didnt want to talk about my pregnany even with him. then I started to think about the consequences of becoming a mother and how it will change my lifestyle. I cant wait. Its going to be absolutely amazing but one thing that I am struggling with is to cutting myself off from extraculicular activities. I cant realx after work due to all these things going on.I have started to cut down a little but still a long way to go!

Perhaps it will be easier to say to things when we announce that I am pregnant. Hubby is willing to let go of his wish to wait the first 3 months. so we might be announcing it around Eid next month…

I am also tinking about my career and that I need to get out of my current job into something new and challenging but then I am so exhausted and tried how can I be productive and efficeient at a new job?

is it normal to react like this?

Re: After the news

hey gurl alot many congratz to u n ur hubby.. ALLAH has blessed u eventually...may u have a smooth n safe preg.. n ya its normal custom to not to announce it for first 3 months,, but i told my family n frnds as i gt this gooog news.. i simply m amazed how can one conceal ths such a big news...

It seems normal .. well I never waited the 3 months period to tell the good news, as soon as the doc confirmed at about week 8 I have told a everyone. Jo hona hai hota hai ...

yeah we also are planning tell when I am in week 9 or so...will send them small baby items without writing anything on it:D

but is it normal to "panic" about your career and stuff or am I being so weird?

Congrats! Well it wouldn't hurt just to tell immediate family, like your parents. After all they will make tons and tons of duas for you and a safe pregnancy Inshallah.

yes the first time you do panic about your career and stuff but by # 2 ...3 u dont care anymore :D

mashallah congratulations C420 on your excellent news! Inshallah hope you have a fantastic pregnancy Ameen!

Haha, so true. I'm having baby # 2 and I don't give a damn about work anymore.... career gaya bhaar mein :p.

I think it's different for each individual and what they deem important or what is necessary in their life. It is normal to feel anxiety, but it is possible to do whatever you will..you can work after the baby or you can stay at home for some time. It depends on you, and you can decide what you want to do when the baby is here and is on maternity leave. As far as career is concerned right now, mind over matter. If you really want to do it, just put in the effort, it is doable. Most ladies work up until their due date and they are just fine.

^ yep exactly one of my friends went to the doc's appt during her lunch break at work and ended up having a baby the same day.. the whole labor took no more than 2-3 hours and she was back at work after 5 weeks because 1) she felt just fine to get back to work 2) her parents live next door so she was able to leave the baby with them 3) she was on unpaid maternity leave!

Congratulations on your news and honestly I never understood the logic behind not sharing/announcing.. I feel like you get more prayers, rest, and like you mentioned relaxation if you announce your pregnancy.. I know I will be calling everyone the day I find out about it (I am dying to see my mom's smile once she hears that and my friends excitement as soon as they will find out) and will be announching the gender too without a problem..I just never understood the logic behind hiding these two things but I respect everyone's personal opinion/decision so it's all good :-)

hey congrats buddy
look like u r experiencing the same thing like me i also conceived after waiting for 2 yrs n was lil affraid 2 tell everyone when i became pregnant but i told my mum n mum in law after 7 weeks n thn the news spread like a fire as expected but allhumdullah everything is fne i m 25 weeks now :) just pray 4 healthy baby n smooth pregnacy n let ur mum n mum in law to be part of this good news n join the club of mums 2011 :)
good luck n my prayers r wth u :)

First of all congratulations !!!

It look a long time for us to concieve and when I did finally become pregnant, although I was really happy, it felt like I needed to be cautious of the whole thing, I didn't believe it. I did have a hard time talking about it with my husband, I stayed at home a lot, I would go to work and come home and sit around all day.

I just felt like it was too good to be true, and I didn't want to get my hopes up incase something happened. My husband encouraged me to tell a few close friends and my mother, MIL and SIL. I did, we made it clear to them that at this time we wanted to wait to tell the rest of the family and they respected that

I felt much better being able to have their support, It was good for me to have someone to talk to, although my husband was very supportive, I had under estimated the value of talking to someone who had children, I would call my mom about every little think that scared me or made me paranoid and I felt much better

As for the exhaustion - it will get better,

Just hang in there, and enjoy this absolutely wonderful time in your life. I also found it very helpful to repeat certain duas over and over again, whatever came to my mind at that time, it helped me take the focus off whatever I was stressing about