After Independence India has produced the biggest slums in the universe.

The best Indian cities are over 60 percent slums and the rest of India, please read on.

This is Bombay where 60 percent live in slums

Urban planners say that the makeover will only happen if the government builds new homes to house 7.5 million of the city’s 12 million people who live in slums - that’s more than 60% of the population.

And the rest of small town India.

http://indianexpress.com/res/web/pIe/full_story.php?content_id=62791
If Mumbai looks bad you only need to drive through the featureless ugliness of small town India to see that it is a beautiful city compared to the small towns that have come up in more recent times.

Re: After Independence India has produced the biggest slums in the universe.

Yaar what do you get out of putting our neghbours down? Islam teaches us to be good with our neighbours, non? And we're pretty much in the same boat as India, economically... so lets keep it cool :D

Chalo sahi hai, Abdali found purpose of his life :)

hahahaahhaa, Abdali, thats one funny title for your post…:slight_smile:

Do not forget that majority of slum dwellers in Indian cities, like Bombay, Calcutta and Delhi are Muslims, who have rejected all kind of schooling after madrisa coachings and moreover slums are overcrowded by illigal immigrants from Bangladesh.

Are you saying over 60 percent population of your best cities is muslim! amaJing absolutely amaJing. Rest of India must be 90 percent muslim since its 90 percent slums. even more amaJing absolutely amaJing…

Hum, still the Hindus declare India the next “super” power “economic power” etc etc… Very bad situation in India very very bad …:snooty:

Oh yes exactly for this reason we would like a dictator to be in Delhi who could go out ruthlessly cleansing every city of Slums. Perhaps that is what made china so successfull. To take decisions without having to worry about of being voted out in the next election.

There is no doubt that India is a world SLUM super power.

I have 2 comments here:

1. Please replace Hindus with Indians. Its not Pakistan where people want to be known by religion and not the nationality.
  2. Indians did not declare India to be the next superpower, its the world talking about India. Take a look at Chinese newspaper - http://www.chinadaily.com.cn/english/doc/2005-08/05/content_466580.htm

Pakistanis in this regard dont have to go any further, if India has produced the largest slums in the world then Pakistans are not behind in this race also. In India the slums are created as immigrants are pouring in to the urban areas and creating slums in the hinterlands and vacant areas of the cities, Bombay is the prime example of this.
The same can be said about Karachi, and its slums, but Pakistanis are going to be leading in this slum race within the next ten years. Here is how Pakistanis are going to lead in this slum race. Other than the slums created by the mass migration into the urban areas there are developed areas in Lahore, Karachi and even Rawalpindi which will be declared as slums, by the city govts because of decaying infrastructure and urban facilities. Now this phenomenon is even more worrisome for urabn planners, a breed unknown in Pakistani society.
Its strange that we make fun of people who are suffering due to the policies of our representative and non-representative administrations.

Are you saying China has/had bigger slums..NO…

You will never know. So no point discussing it. But it is true that in China people cannot question the government if it decides to move them
http://www.isn.ethz.ch/news/sw/details.cfm?ID=16178

http://today.reuters.co.uk/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=worldNews&storyID=2006-06-06T104044Z_01_PEK206201_RTRUKOC_0_UK-CHINA-DAM.xml&archived=False
More than 100 people died during the $25 billion (13 billion pound) construction project, state media reported, and 1.3 million people have been or are still to be relocated.

Right on. No, I won’t. Because You Hindus confuse the two words “Indians” and “Hindus” together and when we write something about Hindus, using the word “Indian” the other faith who are not included are dragged in for no reason. So, I’ll stick with the word “Hindus” whenever I want to specifically point out to something don’t by HINDUS and not by Indians.

Okay so you think coutries outsourcing for “cheep” labor, are fools. They are just creating an illusion so that you Indians could be lured into this easily. Buddy, be realistic. India in the next coming years will face the opposite situation UNLESS it starts to “create”.

Look at microsoft. Indians are in huge numbers working for it but are they working on higher levels? the answer is NO. Indians are the hardware developers, software developers not more than this. So unless you people start creating and producing on your own, you are just a cheep market for others. Nothing more. If you want to the illusioned by this “super power” view, go ahead.

PS: Don’t retaliate by telling about Pakistan. Pakistan is way behind in technology.

Thanjks

Atleast we are much better off in Pakistan.. In my opinion, Lahore is the best city in South-Asia after Hong-Kong and Shanghai.. maybe? Lahore trades much better than any city in the sub-continent.. it is very clean.. has the best food street in S. Asia, there’s almost no violence, and there are educated citizens.. Lahore rocks :k:

Lahore 981 said "Look at microsoft. Indians are in huge numbers working for it but are they working on higher levels? the answer is NO. "

I will reply in context of Microsoft only since that is the company you have used as example.

Here are some executives of Indian origin in Microsoft
Anoop Gupta - VP Unified Communications Group
Satya Nadella - Corporate Vice President, Microsoft Business Solutions
Gurdeep Singh Pall - Corporate Vice President, Live Communications Team, Real-Time Collaboration Group
Sanjay Parthasarathy - Corporate Vice President, Developer & Platform Evangelism Group
Amitabh Srivastava - Corporate Vice President, Windows Core Operating System Development

Before capitalizing your "NO", make sure you know what you are talking about.
The Hotmail that you misght be using today is the company started by S Bhatia and Indian and was bought by Microsoft. It was first email system of its kind which was later copied by so many other companies.

How many of them actually live in India?

No we do not confuse anything, but I am sure you are a totally confused Pakistani, blinded by the hatred for India and Hindus.
My response was for the comments by Abdali that "still the Hindus declare India the next super power/ economic power". What I am saying is that this has nothing to do with religion. Hindus, Muslims, Sikhs, Christians, Buddhists and Jains (any other religion I might have missed)
have the same thinking about the growth prospects of India.

No idea, but I am sure not all, because some of these groups are for sure based in Redmond. If you can find some please let me know.

Not to take the air out, since you are busy defending Pakistan in your own particular way, and I am not against that. But the above shows that your knowledge about Lahore is out dated. The last time Lahore was cleaned its was in 1974 before the Islamic summit. There are heaps of garbage in modern Lahore which are sitting there for the last 20 years, and mind you these are no landfills, they are in pure residential areas of posh Lahore. In the first week of 2006 alone there were 7 murders in Lahore, that’s just one week. A city with a population of 7.5 million, its last public elementary school was opened in 1994, surely the people are educated in Lahore.
A man should know what he is defending, now please continue with your India bashing.