Afridi is a COWARD ! - so goes the title of a thread in another Pak forum that I visited recently…and I will totally agree with the author of that thread.
Contrary to general perception - players from Afridi School of Slogging are not HEROES (though they may seem like that on certain days) , they are actually COWARDS. They don’t have the guts to withstand pressure for long, they don’t want to take the pain/effort that goes with task oriented batting, instead they take the easy way out - surrender to their instincts and hit out.
Back in the 1960s Walter Mischel, a psychologist at Stanford University, gave marshmallows to groups of four-year-olds and then left the room, promising that any child who could postpone eating the marshmallow until he came back, some 15 to 20 minutes later, would be rewarded with a second marshmallow. Years later, Mischel discovered that the kids who triumphed over their desire had grown into teenagers who were socially, emotionally and academically more competent than the four-year-olds who ate the marshmallow at once. Self-control in the face of a marshmallow at four was shown to be “twice as powerful predictor of later academic prowess as IQ”, says Daniel Goleman in his best seller book - “Emotional Intelligence”. Goleman sees the ability to delay gratification as a master skill, a triumph of the reasoning brain over the impulsive one.
Re: Afridi's Emotional Quotient (EQ) and the Marshmallow Experiment
afridi is not a 'smart' player
what he has in ability gets overshadowed by weaknesses in dealing with pressure, playing smart, and reading the game.
I may be lacking in knowledge here, but when was the last time he as a batsman brought victory to Pakistan? when was the last time when teh going got tough, he tilted the match in pakistan's favour. Not recently from what I can recall.
There are essentially TWO kind of big-hitters or even sloggers :
(1) Players who can slog if the situation demands.....but when "run-rate" is not of the essence, these players also have the ability to play in lower gear and patiently work for the "delayed gratification" (team victory)....eg Shoaib Malik, Symonds, Dhoni etc...
(2) Players who will slog...no-matter-what e.g. Afridi, Sehwag, Nazir etc
My submission is that players of Type (2) are mentally weak....though they seem like brave-hearts and highly entertaining.
I am just confused, there is so much hype around this guy, i mean even i was impressed at his innings where he just thrashed the bowlers last year, but i look back and try to figure out where did he win the game for the team atleast recently and can not find any examples.
Pir Sahib, it is like comparing Viagra (autehtic medicine such as Miandad, Zaheer Abbas) to desi kushtay from Hakeem Nabinna of Shekupaura!
Yeah exactly. You cannot compare Afridi to proven greats like Miandad or Inzi (I am ofcourse giving PAK examples here). You can compare him to other hit and miss namoonay like Imran Nazir or as some1 mentioned Sehwag. Srikkanth is an old example that springs to mind.
There are essentially TWO kind of big-hitters or even sloggers :
(1) Players who can slog if the situation demands.....but when "run-rate" is not of the essence, these players also have the ability to play in lower gear and patiently work for the "delayed gratification" (team victory)....eg Shoaib Malik, Symonds, Dhoni etc...
(2) Players who will slog...no-matter-what e.g. Afridi, Sehwag, Nazir etc
My submission is that players of Type (2) are mentally weak....though they seem like brave-hearts and highly entertaining.
Exactly!
I remember an interview of Imran Khan a few years ago where the host asked Imran what he thought about cricketers like Abdul Razzaq and Afridi? Imran laughed and said that these guys are what he calls "relu katta" cricketers. He then explained that by relu katta, he means bits and pieces cricketers who can do "a little bit" of batting and "a little bit" of bowling. He said that he never believed in cricketers like them and would not have them in his team.
Now when you think about it, the Pakistan team of the late 80's and early 90's (also, the one that won the world cup) had players who were genuine bastmen and bowlers. They also failed, but they were all solid cricketers with solid records, not cricketers like the ones we have today with 100 or 200+ matches and a batting average in the 20's and bowling average of 40's. That's also the reason why Australia is so strong because they do not believe in "relu kattay" cricketers who can do a little bit of everything. That's the biggest issue with Pakistan team right now that we have about 4-5 of such characters who are once in a 20 match players.
Re: Afridi’s Emotional Quotient (EQ) and the Marshmallow Experiment
In many ways today’s loss was more troubling than the 20 20 final. We showed heart that day. This day we turtled.
But y’know what, next time or whenever Pakistan take the field no matter the opposition; I’ll be there supporting my team! Because thats what true fans do; they stick it out during the tough times and inshAllah when we make (positive) cricketing headlines again it’ll be sooooooo much sweeter!
Re: Afridi’s Emotional Quotient (EQ) and the Marshmallow Experiment
That’s the spirit my friend, that’s the spirit…lekin mere to pooray din kee waat laga dee in kambakhton ne aaj, thought seriously about not watching the first two PAK v India games but then kya karein, yeh kambakht dil hai k maanta hee nahin, free headaches aur heartaches k baghere apna kaam chalta hee nahin.
^ Talking about "die-hard" fans, I decided to stop following Cricket (more specifically "Indian Cricket") after the recent 3rd test against England when Dravid meekly refused to enforce the follow-on. and killed the chance of a very likely victory.
That's the spirit my friend, that's the spirit....lekin mere to pooray din kee waat laga dee in kambakhton ne aaj, thought seriously about not watching the first two PAK v India games but then kya karein, yeh kambakht dil hai k maanta hee nahin, free headaches aur heartaches k baghere apna kaam chalta hee nahin.
I know the feeling yara. For the first hour after the match i wasn't talking to anyone nor paying attention in lec. I just sat there shocked at how we could go from 123/2 to two hundred something all out (chasing 233). But it wasn't the first time I've been heart broken over our failures and sadly, unfortunately i know it won't be the last.
Well, well, well. The "villain" of GS set up Pakistan for a series win, and the brave "hero" (who defended nanha Asif in a childish spat like a "true warrior") totally blew it. Allah insaaf karnay waala hai.
Afrid is one dimensional. He is not a batsman. To expect him to play an inngs like that of Inzamam or Dravid is too much to ask for. Overall, he did made an impact on the series.