Re: Afghans vs Marathas, the largest battle of 18th century
PA walon ki History ke khilaaf sazish ![]()
interesting from what point of view? in engaging verbal war…YES! but we must learn a lesson and move on. ![]()
lol…bajaa farmaayaa! vaise, baqaul Ali Syed bhai ke, hai to maze kii baat varna PA forum to band ho jaayegaa!![]()
interesting from what point of view? in engaging verbal war...YES! but we must learn a lesson and move on. :)
we can learn a lot, especially what we are now can be explored further by digging out the past.
If you don't agree with me I will send a drone towards you.
we can learn a lot, especially what we are now can be explored further by digging out the past.
If you don't agree with me I will send a drone towards you.
lol...i've a patriot missile in front of my house...i'll shoot it down! :p
yeah, this is the job of historians and i am sure they have already done there job. we may read their writings and not engage in verbal wars and waste our valuable time and energy. right?
^ I used to hate history while I was younger, now I love it particularly as we have got a very rich history. The traits of most people living in the sub continent can be gauged by looking at the history.
lol…i hated History and i hate it even now! dates mujh se yaad nahiiN hotiiN aur ek baar to maiN ne Had kar di…date meN confusion hone kii vajah se maiN ne ShahjahaN ko Akbar kaa baap declare kar diyaa! ![]()
Valid neutral information? , you are copy pasting from Wikipedia which can be edited by any one.
Afghans didnt committed any atrocities after panipat war, those marathas who survived and ran away........killed and raped mulsims of the surrounding region while retreating in acts of revenge .
Pick up any neutral book written by british, you wont find about the false and fabricated tales about afghans propagated by hindus.
Prove it! Post links to neutral sites, name of books written by british historians with page info (excerpts will be welcome) to prove that Afghans did not commit any atrocities after the Panipat war when most sources say they do . Prove that the Rohillas were not foreign afghans who had settled in India and try to betray India to the invaders by siding with them. Prove that general Gardi was not killed by angry Afghans for serving "hindu" masters so bravely and wholeheartedly. Prove that Mysore was a muslim state. If you have a problem with Wikipedia even after studies have shown that it is as accurate as Britannica Encyclopedia, then do post your neutral info with links.
Marathas and the English Company 1707-1818 by Sanderson Beck The climactic battle between the Marathas and the Afghans took place at Panipat in January 1761. Half of the 60,000 on the Afghan side were Rohillas, Bangash, and Mughals. The Maratha army had 45,000 men, but hundreds were dying every day of hunger and disease. The starving Maratha army left their defenses to fight a desperate battle. The victorious Afghans enslaved women and children, taking 50,000 horses, 200,000 cattle, 500 elephants, plus money and jewelry. Only one-fourth of the Maratha army returned to the Deccan. Peshwa Balaji retreated to Puna, where he died in June 1761. The Maratha confederation was shattered as local chiefs regained control-Mahadji Sindia in Gwalior, Raghuji Bhonsle in Nagpur and Berar, Malhar Rao Holkar in Malwa, and Damaji Gaikwar in Gujarat. Abdali named 'Alamgir II’s son 'Ali Gauhar emperor in Delhi as Shah 'Alam with Imad as vizier and Najib-ud-daula as Mir Bakshi (military commander). The Afghan troops were two years behind in their pay and insisted that Abdali leave India before the hot summer, and they refused to go to Mathura, where hundreds had died of cholera four years before. His retreating army was followed and plundered by the Sikhs, who were reported to have freed about 2200 Hindu women
So you do atleast believe in the validity of Encyclopedia… In 1838, Maharaja Ranjit Singh signed a treaty with Lord Auckland to restore Shah Shuja to the Afghan Throne in Kabul. As per this agreement, his troops went through the Khyber Pass and took part in a victory parade in Kabul. Of course Shah Shuja did hand over the Koh-I-Noor to Ranjit Singh before all this happened. Source: Ranjit Singh (Sikh maharaja) – Encyclopedia Britannica
Ninja Hattori, its been so long since you came around giving "likes" to all those posts which oppose mine. Really missed you my friend :D
my question is:
what's the purpose of digging dead from the grave out? why do we concentrate so much on the past and ignore present and not worry about future in order to better ourselves?
past is past, jo ho chukaa so ho chukaa!!!
i think we should all spend our energies in running the current affairs right and plan for the future for our own good and betterment.
Past is important. Those who don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it. We can learn a lot as long as propaganda is not being promoted in the name of history. This thread would have gone better if we were able to discuss objectively why Afghans won and the mistakes that marathas committed that led to their loss without bringing up that old conspiracy theory that "Islam was in danger" from the secular Marathas who did what ? Conquer and force shuddikaran and reconversion to Hinduism or God forbid selectively kill muslims and rape muslim women that had to necessitate the barbaric Afghans to intervene ? Lies!
Haider ali, tipu sultan were as indian as you can get or otherwise they wouldn't have survived that long with the 'divide and rule' british at their tails. You lose credibility by being a hindutva.
where did you see Ninja?
Post #32, I think ![]()
Haider ali, tipu sultan were as indian as you can get or otherwise they wouldn't have survived that long with the 'divide and rule' british at their tails. You lose credibility by being a hindutva.
Eh!You are making no sense here. How are Haider Ali or Tipu Sultan even relevant to the battle of Panipat ? The only place they were discussed here where OP claimed that Mysore was a muslim state. Infact Haider Ali usurped the throne in the kingdom where he was commander when the wodeyer king died and made himself defacto ruler. His "empire" ended with his son Tipu sultan who was defeated by the british who put the wodeyers back into power and made it a princely state, There was a whole different thread here on the antices of Tipu Sultan a few months back, do go and peruse that if you are interested in them.
Prove it! Post links to neutral sites, name of books written by british historians with page info (excerpts will be welcome) to prove that Afghans did not commit any atrocities after the Panipat war when most sources say they do . Prove that the Rohillas were not foreign afghans who had settled in India and try to betray India to the invaders by siding with them. Prove that general Gardi was not killed by angry Afghans for serving "hindu" masters so bravely and wholeheartedly. Prove that Mysore was a muslim state. If you have a problem with Wikipedia even after studies have shown that it is as accurate as Britannica Encyclopedia, then do post your neutral info with links.
Well, I am eagerly waiting for marwati's reply to this post.
So what is your take, marwati?
The starving Maratha army left their defenses to fight a desperate battle.
Why were they starving to death?
Why was it a desperate battle for Marathas?
confused.
Eh!You are making no sense here. How are Haider Ali or Tipu Sultan even relevant to the battle of Panipat ? The only place they were discussed here where OP claimed that Mysore was a muslim state. Infact Haider Ali usurped the throne in the kingdom where he was commander when the wodeyer king died and made himself defacto ruler. His "empire" ended with his son Tipu sultan who was defeated by the british who put the wodeyers back into power and made it a princely state, There was a whole different thread here on the antices of Tipu Sultan a few months back, do go and peruse that if you are interested in them.
But you made it sound like that haider ali was some afghn who randomly came and took over mysore. There were no elections back then commanders did take over this way.
In which sentence did I imply he was an afghan ?
He usurped the throne is a fact however but did this turn Mysore into a muslim kingdom? Hardly. Then by that yardstick, Kashmir was a hindu kingdom.