Afghanistan bans indian soap operas

May be we need to learn some thing from little brother!!

http://www.cbc.ca/arts/tv/story/2008/04/20/soapopera-afghanistan-ban.html?ref=rss

**Afghan TV station pulls 'un-Islamic' Indian soap **

**Last Updated: Sunday, April 20, 2008 | 2:33 PM ET Comments23Recommend9

** CBC News **

An Afghan television station has pulled an Indian soap opera from the airwaves on the orders of the government.

Kumkum had already raised the ire of conservative clerics in the country, who had called it “un-Islamic.”
“Under pressure from the Ministry of Information and Culture, we had to stop running one of our famous shows, an Indian drama,” Abdul Qadir Mirzai, chief news editor for leading private station, Ariana, said Sunday.
“It was a famous drama and had lots of fans,” said Mirzai about the show, which centres on the love story of an Indian Hindu couple. It aired most evenings.
Kumkum is the first victim of a government edict which had given stations until Tuesday to stop airing several programs it had deemed inappropriate because they undermined Afghan culture.
The culture ministry, headed by conservative Abdul Karim Khurram, has called upon TV stations to yank soap serials Tulsi and Kasauti Zindagi Kay.
Tulsi chronicles the life of a Hindu housewife hated by her mother-in-law. In 2006, it became the first soap opera to be aired after the fall of the Taliban government in 2001. During Taliban rule, television was banned as “un-Islamic.”
Heads of Afghanistan’s broadcast media met with the Afghanistan National Journalists Union Saturday to find a solution to the bans.
They called for a meeting with President Hamid Karzai and religious leaders to find a way to allow the shows to air, offering to “edit out culturally and religiously sensitive scenes.”

Re: Afghanistan bans indian soap operas

little **brother ** :eek:

jaisay pakistan main baray Islamic soup bantay hain :rotfl:

phir bhi
don't you think personal choices were imposed on whole society ?

hain...i thought you want them to be banned.

well to me indian dramas are dumb, but it is used as a tactic to keep everyone occupied with these nonsensical never-ending soaps. but it also a huge multi-million dollar industry.

**dont forget KumKum is star plus soap opera...and star tv is owned by Rupert Murdoch...

to bhai yeh mamla (khichri) kuch or he hai**! :D

Un soap may kam uz kam button ki pooja to nahee hoti na!

ghar bhet ker loug jo itni aqeedat-o-ahtram k saath pooj rahay hotay hain!

Peace bro

But that can work the other way round too. That some personal view is being subjected to a whole society with subconscious lures to compromise personal standpoints. Today in Pakistan the biggest cause of a relaxed Islamic society I blame the Indian and home made Pakistani dramas. It is a big statement to make with little to no hard evidence but I feel this is the case.

I do , I was referring to mush imposing his own choices on whole society .

But it was nothing new other than nawaz/bynazir every one did it.
bhutto/zia/mush

^ what kinda choices?

Na or dubai ky shaukh bari Islamic herkatin ker rahy hain Russian Londion ky sath:chai:

Zobia
1- zia changed pakistan nearly fanatic muslim society.
2-Bhuto made sduent/poor ppl crazy, they started thinking rich ppl/middle class owe them some thing. Just like black in the west.
3-Mush imposed ultra liberalism on pakistan, because he was raised in Turky him self.

so u want to go back to fanatic muslim society?

Since that girl thingy happened, you are not same chinto.:(

BTW we could non-fanatic and non indiansoap opera watching country.
Specially when india has abandon their values chasing after west.

Dude..there is thing called freedom.
.one should not impose his views on others. If someone think its not moral he should stop watching it and may be advice others but then forcing one to do it...i think its not right.

dude just by dancing in a pub wearing western clothes doesnt change any values. Indians still have love and respect for their parents, elders and family as thats what i count as value.

And what that girl thing..usne theek nahin kiya dost. she wont get a guy better than me.

dude you got to get over her.
I mean she does she think of her self??
trust me she didn't deserve a guy like your self!!
almost every on on GS told you that. and trust we are not lying .

Excellent move by Afghanistan. Soaps are nothing but opiates.