advise sources

I was talking to a friend and mentioned how I find better ideas and advise in songs than in volumes of books by philosophers..

any songs you like?

here is one oldie that always makes me gain equilibrium when i am too caught up in the rat race.

Life in one day by Howard Jones. (if you know who he is and know this song, u like me are a certified uncle or aunty)

The old man said to me
Said don’t always take life so seriously
Play the flute
And dance and sing your song

Try and enjoy the here and now
The future will take care of itself somehow
The grass is never greener over there
Time will wear away the stone
Gets the hereditary bone

Don’t try to live your life in one day
Don’t go speed your time away
Don’t try to live your life in one day
Don’t go speed your time away

The old man said to me
Said you can’t change the world single handedly
Raise a glass enjoy the scenery
Pretend the water is champagne
And fill my glass again and again
While the wolves are gathering round your door
Time will wear away the stone
Gets the hereditary bone

Re: advise sources

so what song do you listen to when you are down, or need encouragement, or just need a kick in the pants..etc

name the song, and what you find in it.

Bhaijaan, its because we listen to more songs than reading philosophers.

*Hope dangles on a string
Like slow spinning redemption
Winding in and winding out
The shine ahead has caught my eye
And roped me in so mesmerizing
So hypnotizing
I am captivated
I am

Vindicated*

I don't know what he is trying to say but it sounds so cool.

AJ

I thin what philosophers spend volumes arguing and writing, a poet like rumi or some inspired songwriter can capture the essense of that in one page.

This is a song from Abrar... which I often listen to ... it is quite obvious what form of inspiration it provides

Main Zaat Paat Mein
Oonch Neech Mein
Aur Firqon Mein
Bata Huwa
Jo Sachai Ko Dhundla Day
Dil Esi Gard Say Atta Huwa
Shikwa Nahin Jism Ki Matti Say
Par Rooh Bhi Ab Baytaab Nahin
Teray Hukam Pay Chalna Aik Taraf
Tera Naam Bhi Lena Yaad Nahin
Tera Naam Bhi Lena
Yaad Nahin
Kam Say Kam
Mujhko Lota Day
Kam Say Kam
Mujhko Lota Day
** Woh Rooh Aur Jism Ki
Jang Jang**

I was one of the few that enjoyed Howard Jones in my time.

I liked this one best:

No One is to Blame

You can look at the menu but you just can’t eat
You can feel the cushions but you can’t have a seat
You can dip your foot in the pool but you can’t have a swim
You can feel the punishment but you can’t commit the sin
And you want her and she wants you
We want everyone
No one, no one, no one ever is to blame

You can build a mansion but you just can’t live in it
You’re the fastest runner but you’re not allowed to win
Some break the rules
And live to count the cost
The insecurity is the thing that won’t get lost
We want everyone

You can see the summit but you can’t reach it
It’s the last piece of the puzzle but you just can’t make it fit
Doctor says you’re cured but you still feel the pain
Aspirations in the clouds but your hopes go down the drain
We want everyone
No one ever is to blame

good ones kaleem and muzna
i like these songs as well.

this oldie has a very special place for me, not thru one, but multiple hard times in my life. as I tried to get back in life.

Back in the highlife again

It used to seem to me
That my life ran on too fast
And I had to take it slowly
Just to make the good parts last
But when you're born to run
It's so hard to just slow down
So don't be surprised to see me
Back in that bright part of town

I'll be back in the high life again
All the doors I closed one time will open up again
I'll be back in the high life again
All the eyes that watched me once will smile and take me in
And I'll drink and dance with one hand free
Let the world back into me
And on I'll be a sight to see
Back in the high life again

You used to be the best
To make life be life to me
And I hope that you're still out there
And you're like you used to be
We'll have ourselves a time
And we'll dance 'til the morning sun
And we'll let the good times come in
And we won't stop 'til we're done

We'll be back in the high life again
All the doors I closed one time will open up again
We'll be back in the high life again
All the eyes that watched us once will smile and take us in
And we'll drink and dance with one hand free
And have the world so easily
And oh we'll be a sight to see
Back in the high life again

Here...

Maybe it's intuition
but some things you just don't question
Like in your eyes, I see my future in an instant
And there it goes,
I think I found my best friend
I know that it might sound
more than a little crazy
but I believe...

I knew I loved you before I met you
I think I dreamed you into life
I have been waiting all my life

There's just no rhyme or reason
Only the sense of completion
And in your eyes, I see
the missing pieces I'm searching for
I think I've found my way home
I know that it might sound
more than a little crazy
but I believe...

A thousand angels dance around you
I am complete now that I've found you

Muzna, that is for noor right? sounds just perfect..

song to pump me up before major client meetigs or presentations. if they only knew what I was listening on the ipod before I start..(yeah I may have issues)

Don't call it a comeback
I been here for years
Rockin my peers and puttin suckas in fear
Makin the tears rain down like a MON soon
Listen to the bass go BOOM
Explosion overpowerin
Over the competition I'm towerin
Wreckin shop when I drop these lyrics that'll make you call the cops
Don't you dare stare, you betta move
Don't ever compare
Me to the rest that'll all get sliced and diced
Competition's payin the price

Don't u call this a regular jam
I'm gonna rock this land
I'm gonna take this itty bitty world by storm
And I'm just gettin warm
Just like Muhummad Ali they called him Cassius
Watch me bash this beat like a skull
Cuz u know I had beef wit
Why do u riff with me, the maniac psycho
And when I pull out my jammy get ready cuz it might go
BLAAAAW, how ya like me now?
The river will not allow
U to get with, Mr. Smith, dont riff
Listen to my gear shift
I'm blastin, outlastin
Kinda like Shaft, so u could say I'm shaftin
Old English filled my mind
And I came up with a funky rhyme

Breakdown!!!

Shadow boxin when I heard you on the radio [HUUUH!!!]
I just don't know
What made you forget that I was raw?
But now I got a new tour
I'm goin insane, startin the hurricane, releasin pain
Lettin you know that you can't gain, I maintain
Unless ya say my name
Rippin, killin
Diggin and drillin a hole
Pass the Ol' Gold

Shotgun blasts are heard
When I rip and kill, at WILL
The man of the hour, tower of power, I'll devour
I'm gonna tie you up and let you understand
that I'm not your average man
when I got a jammy in my hand
DAAAAAM!!!!! Oooooohh!!
Listen to the way I slaaaaay, your crew
Damage [UHH] damage[UHH] damage [UHH] damage
Destruction, terror, and mayhem
Pass me a sissy so suckas I'll slay him
Farmers [What!!!] Farmers [What!!!]
I'm ready [we're ready!!!]
I think I'm gonna bomb a town [get down!!]
Don't u neva, eva, pull my lever
Cuz I explode
And my nine is easy to load
I gotta thank God
Cuz he gave me the strength to rock
HARD!! knock you out, mama said knock you out

Oh baby baby, oh baby baby

Oh baby baby, how was I supposed to know
That something wasnt right here
Oh baby baby, I shouldnt have let you go
And now youre out of sight, yeah
Show me how you want it to be
Tell me baby cuz I need to know now, oh because

My loneliness is killin me (and I)
I must confess I still believe (still believe)
When Im not with you I lose my mind
Give me a sign, hit me baby one more time!

Oh baby baby, the reason I breathe is you
Boy youve got me blinded
Oh pretty baby, theres nothin that I wouldnt do
Thats not the way I planned it

Show me how you want it to be
Tell me baby cuz I need to know now, oh because

Oh baby baby, how was I supposed to know
Oh pretty baby, I shouldnt have let you go
I must confess that my loneliness
Is killin me now
Dont you know I still believe
That you will be here
And give me a sign, hit me baby one more time

I must confess (my loneliness) that my loneliness
(is killing me) is killing me now
(I must confess) dont you (I still believe) know I still believe
That you will be here (I lose my mind)
And give me a sign...
Hit me baby one more time!

http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=213740&highlight=fallen

here you go, we’ve been seeking advice in cafe for a long time :stuck_out_tongue:

some of the songs are childish but some are good, the ones that i posted :halo:

and all time fav.

round,
Like a circle in a spiral
Like a wheel within a wheel
Never ending or beginning
On an ever-spinning reel
Like a snowball down a mountain
Or a carnival balloon
Like a carousel that's turning
Running rings around the moon
Like a clock whose hands are sweeping
Past the minutes on its face
And the world is like an apple
Whirling silently in space
Like the circles that you find
In the windmills of your mind

Like a tunnel that you follow
To a tunnel of its own
Down a hollow to a cavern
Where the sun has never shone
Like a door that keeps revolving
In a half-forgotten dream
Like the ripples from a pebble
Someone tosses in a stream
Like a clock whose hands are sweeping
Past the minutes on its face
And the world is like an apple
Whirling silently in space

Keys that jingle in your pocket
Words that jangle in your head
Why did summer go so quickly?
Was it something that i said?
Lovers walk along a shore
And leave their footprints in the sand
Was the sound of distant drumming
Just the fingers of your hand?
Pictures hanging in a hallway
Or the fragment of a song
Half-remembered names and faces
But to whom do they belong?
When you knew that it was over
Were you suddenly aware
That the autumn leaves were turning
To the colour of her hair?

Like a circle in a spiral
Like a wheel within a wheel
Never ending or beginning
On an ever-spinning reel
As the images unwind

New Religion (a Dialogue Between The Ego And The Alter Ego)

I've been now sauntering out and down a path sometime.
Come on, it takes me nowhere which i knew
Faces everywhere pulling grins and signs and things
Telling me not there man, it's no go (don't go there boy)

I need a reason (i can't think without one now)
Too much learning got to show
Call it treason (maybe catch her don't know how)
Too many things too much to know

Bring my timing in, seagulls gather on the wind.
Lady screaming, lady leave me out
'cause sometimes people stare (coming down, electric chair)
And steaming crowds they gather and they shout

Don't know why this evil bothers me (take another chance boy carry the
Fight you can take him if you're fast)

So why is he trying to follow me? (didn't i say if you're holdin' on
You'd be laughing at the last)

How many reasons do they need? (i get along fine with them friends of
Mine, but you have to make a choice)

I might just believe this time (you're singing out of tune, but the beats
In time. and it's us who make the noise)

I'm talking for free. i can't stop myself, it's a new religion
I've something to see, i help myself, it's a new religion

Okay my reasoning might be clouded by the sun
But someone sees the departmental lie
You know this peacetime, jabbing fist in stabbing knife
Only get one look before you die

Don't know why this evil follows me (gotta take pay for the saints 'n'
Sinners. in regulation hats 'n scarves 'n things)

So why does he try to bother me? (walking in formation down the lane. they
Carry their cross make a church bell ring)

How many reasons do they need? (army majors pull a mean cool truth
There lying in a swimming pool)

I might just be right this time (searching for the undeniable truth,
That a man is just a fool)

anybody heard this really, really old hindi song that goes something like this:

tum baysahara ho to
kissi ka sahara bano
tumko apnay aap hi sahara mill ja'ay ga

kushti koi doobti pohncha do kinaray pay
tumko apnay aap hi sahara mill ja'ay ga

I may have messed up the order and stuff....but I recall hearing that song a long time ago and have always wanted the lyrics for it.....can't find 'em.

Although I am not in english poetry etc. for I find it many a times a lil childish but may I suggest to run a search for the threads opened by user 'hiccup' in 'Sho'ara-e-Gupshup' ...

Mind bogling to say the least.

at the risk of sounding cliche, no one's mentioned Survivor - Eye of the Tiger ??

another one that springs to mind is Standing outside the fire by Garth Brooks...

will try and get the complete lyrics later today.

With Urdu ghazals... there're just way too many to mention here!!

eye if the tiger yeaah
dunno garth, allergic to country music

another one of my favorites from Garth Brooks.. Unanswered Prayers

Sometimes I thank God for unanswered prayers

Remember when you're talkin' to the man upstairs

That just because he doesn't answer doesn't mean he don't care

Some of God's greatest gifts are unanswered prayers

Its your loss… really :p:hoonh: