Advice

You needn't apologize uklawyer. This is a difficult time, but as all else, this too shall pass. Believe me each one of us has had times, where we've prayed but our heart and mind wasn't with us. It was emotionless, but you always come around. Perhaps, its taking you longer time to come around because you haven't really been practicing Islam for a long time. It will be a gradual process, you won't wake up one day and feel a drastic change. I hope you stick through this and don't lose hope. I think you want a sense of belonging, an order to chaos, and answers to this life full of queries. It's the sense of powerlessness thats really getting to you, i think. But as i said hang in there, and don't lose hope. I'll make duaa for you, if that helps.

*Originally posted by uklawyer: *
I have a palestinian friend who is christian--- and he made me read excerpts from the bible-- and I just read wonderful stories-- and whether or not they are false-- they gave great moral endings--

he did everything he could to convert me-- and i acceptd his views and help, but he didnt succeed.

Is the Koran supposed to make me feel good. Because I read the bible (LUKE) first time and that did make me feel good-- i enjoyed reading it- eventhough Im not christian-- i dont get that from the koran-- i keep on reading and reading and reading it-- but i just dont get anything from it.

I am honestly trying-- i just need something-- i want to be a muslims but what is the point in praying if your heart isnt in it

this is really emotional for me-- (ive been crying since the last paragraph)--

I dont know-- im sorry i wasted all your time

I wont bother you anymore

Thank you for your help-- i will follow all your advice

La ilaaha ILlah Muhammadun Rasoool Allah

When one say that he/she agrees with the above statement there are several other things they agree on too. Allah has mentioned that person is kafir who disagree or disbelieve in HIS other books. Thats part of 1 pilgrim :~).

Let me stress on one thing ** Quran Shareef ** NOT "Koran". I am sure even Christian and Jew wouldnt like it if we misspelled anything religious of their.

Why don't you take a trip to MAkkah Mukarama? I would honestly do that may be you might find another part of yours or may be your soul will get satisfied?

UKlawyer.. welkum to gupshup... :)

m sure u hav heard a lot of advices by now.. so m not addin n ethin new to em .. i just figured u ask for sum literature that u can read .. i hav sum very good and non- biased literature if u r intrested... dont hesitate to ask for em if u really need em...U'll get through... Keep Faith on ur Creator... n on Urself ! .. Good Day ...

UKL - Man, please accpet my condolences. Inna-lil-lahe wa-inna-ilehi rajaoun.

You're not wasting anyone's time here. Everyone here, in individual capacities, capabilities, and knowledge are eager and willing to help so as long as you keep talking. So, first step for you is to push that thought out of your mind.

So, again, why do you think you're a Muslim? Why didn't you continue with the Bible that your Palestinian friend was having you read? Why did you feel you weren't going to be influenced by it?

Have you thought about the Torah?

Do you own any books on Islam and have you read them?

Seems like you have grown up detached from desi community and it's associated benefits but that would suggest that the home life did not offer any grounding in the faith of your parents? I am trying to understand your statement that your parents were/are Muslims and not you so much. Why and why do think is the reason for that?

welcome to GS:)

The world of warped personalities and mad people…you fit in perfectly..no sweat at all…

condolences first..loss of a dear one is a feeling that cannot be replaced and the space cannot be filled…

about faith…its not found on the net..nor in a masjid..nor in the lawyers office or convertees..if you find it it will be inside..somewhere taking very uncomfortable turns and shifting restlessly..its a thin line between faith and the other and one is shifting feet sometimes…especially at points when one is faced with the restlesness and the fact that one has no power over anything in life..that is the crunch part…one has no power over anything…that is the point you need to go sit with yourself and ask..then who does…look at the larger picture…reach within AND then without and upward…its not easy and no one said it was..

read up if you can and look within the translations…the answers are there…give it the benifet of doubt..and seek
http://www.unn.ac.uk/societies/islamic/quran/naeindex.htm

interested in listening to something soothing other than R&B and Enrique..here…

http://quran.al-islam.com/Display/recitation.asp?nType=1&l=eng&nSora=1&nAya=1&sel=1

read the aayat no 18 of Surah Yusaf at the first link..ill check this forum again…
happy suffering for in suffering and pain is the answer:)
P.S just rememebred a sher for you if u read urdu:)

gham na kar ger hai baadal ghanera
kiss ke roke se ruka hai sawera
raat jitni bhi sangeen ho gi
subah utni hi rangeen ho gi
gham na ker gar hai baadal ghanera
kis ke roke se ruka hai sawera

:slight_smile: :slight_smile: :slight_smile:

Somehow I always find it difficult to understand your philosophies…oh…wait I know it now! Hey who are you comparing me with? :hoonh:

UKLawyer
my condolences for your father, may God grant him heaven, ameen.

im in admiration of u, it must b hard to b in the middle of such a struggle. i can understand perfectly y u may find finding answers to questions in the quran difficult. God gives some people wisdom to do that, others like me need it explained.

My advice to u would be to find people to talk to, there are wonderful muslims (really there are, contrary to media hype) people with a sense of fun, an awareness of reality, intelligence and a real and practical understanding of Islam.

I think u need people like that who can answer ur questions but also who u can chill with. please read the posts here. I hope u dont give up, I hope u find peace. Ameen

Somehow I always find it difficult to understand your philosophies...oh...wait I know it now! Hey who are you comparing me with?

Sherry, definitely not Einstien, so don't think too much about it.

UKL, first things first. Your father passed away last year. Inna lilahi wa Inna Elaihi Rajioon, but the grieving period has passed. If u really want to follow Islam, or any religion for that matter, you need to go on with your life, and make a better future for yourself and your family. That is what your father would have wanted, and that is what Allah wants as well. Best wishes, Ana.

PS MODS?ADMIN!!! what kinda ppl are you!!! you start giving back ppl their old and NEW icons, whereas even my OLD title still hasn’t been uploaded!! :smash: :mad2: laziness ki bhi had hoti hai!!

Most ppl got their titles back few weeks back

yaar mods annoo^^ te under band karo ya aida au waapis karo ..puhleeze:)
hes suffering as can be seen clearly by the symptoms......;)

waise lawyer hai kahan.....sounded real low last night..when he was online actually...

Re: hmmm

Brother!

AsSalaam-O-Alaikum!

The teachings of Islam is simple: look at this way:

ALLAH has given us free will and HE tests us in this whole temporary life for the life hereafter which is immortal… as HE says in Quran:

Surah 67. Al-Mulk (The Sovereignty, Control)

In the name of ALLAH The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful

1. Blessed be He in Whose hands is Dominion; and He over all things hath Power;-

2. He Who created Death and Life, that He may try which of you is best in deed: and He is the Exalted in Might, Oft-Forgiving;-

He is testing us in either way, whether by giving us happiness or by giving us sorrow:

*****He wants to test if we are thankful to Him when HE gives us comfort in this world.

*****He wants to test if we remember Him when a time of sadness and sorrowness is put on us as our test.

As far as your concern about your prayers not being accepted… I think u must understand the concept of prayers in Islam… No prayer is rejected… There are three different forms in which they are accepted:

1. Prayer accepeted Exactly the way, we ask ALLAH.

2. Prayer accepted but not what we ask but a better alternative, since ALLAH knows that the thing we ask is not suitable for us and we are nothing but “ignorant” infront of ALLAH’s knowledge and wisdom.

3. Prayer not accpeted in this world but are saved as the rewards in life hereafter… and according to one hadith (prophet saying), when a person will see the reward of unaccepted prayers of the world on the day of judgement, the person will pray there and then if none of his/her prayers were accepted in this world…

and, as far as the death is, ALLAH says:

Al-Imran (The Family of Imran) [3]

**ﻢﻴﺣﺮﻟﺍ ﻦﻤﺣﺮﻟﺍ ﻪﻠﻟﺍ ﻢﺴﺑ **

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/3_185.gif

Translation:

In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful:

*“Every soul shall have a taste of death: And only on the Day of Judgment shall you be paid your full recompense. Only he who is saved far from the Fire and admitted to the Garden will have attained the object (of Life): For the life of this world is but goods and chattels of deception.” *

Al-Imran (The Family of Imran) [3:185]

Al-Hadid (Iron) [57]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/57_20.gif

Translation:

In the Name of Allah, The Most Gracious, The Most Merciful:

“Know ye (all), that the life of this world is but play and amusement, pomp and mutual boasting and multiplying, (in rivalry) among yourselves, riches and children. Here is a similitude: How rain and the growth which it brings forth, delight (the hearts of) the tillers; soon it withers; thou wilt see it grow yellow; then it becomes dry and crumbles away. But in the Hereafter is a Penalty severe (for the devotees of wrong). And Forgiveness from Allah and (His) Good Pleasure (for the devotees of Allah.. And what is the life of this world, but goods and chattels of deception?”

Al-Hadid (Iron) [57:20]

and for the suffering we get read this:

Surah 90. The City, This Countryside

In the name of Allah, the most Gracious, the most Merciful

1. I do call to witness this City (Makkah);-

2. And thou art a freeman of this City;-

3. And (the mystic ties of) parent and child;-

4. **Verily We have created man into toil and struggle. **

5. Thinketh he, that none hath power over him?

6. He may say (boastfully); Wealth have I squandered in abundance!

7. Thinketh he that none beholdeth him?

8. Have We not made for him a pair of eyes?-

9. And a tongue, and a pair of lips?-

10. And shown him the two highways?

11. But he hath made no haste on the path that is steep.

12. And what will explain to thee the path that is steep?-

13. (It is: ) freeing the bondman;

14. Or the giving of food in a day of privation

15. To the orphan with claims of relationship,

16. Or to the indigent (down) in the dust.

17. Then will he be of those who believe, and enjoin patience, (constancy, and self-restraint), and enjoin deeds of kindness and compassion.

18. Such are the Companions of the Right Hand.

19. But those who reject Our Signs, they are the (unhappy) Companions of the Left Hand.

20. On them will be Fire vaulted over (all round).

May ALLAH guide us all and save us all from hell fire.. Aameen…

Wama Alaina Illal Balaagh (“And your duty is nothing but just to convey the message!”)

and brother!

look! ALLAH already answered to your doubts and questions in QURAN as NIA mentioned earlier:

Al-Baqara (The Cow) [2:214]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/2_214.gif

Translation:

In the name of ALLAH, The most Beneficient, The most Merciful.

“Or do ye think that ye shall enter the Garden (of bliss) without such (trials) as came to those who passed away before you? they encountered suffering and adversity, and were so shaken in spirit that even the Messenger and those of faith who were with him cried: “When (will come) the help of Allah.” Ah! Verily, the help of Allah is (always) near!”

An-Nasr (The Help) [10:21]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/10_21.gif

Translation:

“When We make mankind taste of some mercy after adversity hath touched them, behold! they take to plotting against Our Signs! Say: “Swifter to plan is Allah.” Verily, Our messengers record all the plots that ye make!”

Al-Anbiya (The Prophets) [21:46]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/21_46.gif

Translation:

"If but a breath of the Wrath of thy Lord do touch them, they will then say, “Woe to us! we did wrong indeed!”

** Al-Baqara (The Cow) [2:153-157]**

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/2_153-157.gif

Translation:

*"2:153 O ye who believe! seek help with patient perseverance and prayer; for Allah is with those who patiently persevere.

2:154 And say not of those who are slain in the way of Allah. “They are dead.” Nay, they are living, though ye perceive (it) not.

2:155 Be sure we shall test you with something of fear and hunger, some loss in goods or lives or the fruits (of your toil), but give glad tidings to those who patiently persevere,

2:156 Who say, when afflicted with calamity: “To Allah We belong, and to Him is our return”:

2:157 They are those on whom (Descend) blessings from Allah, and Mercy, and they are the ones that receive guidance."*

Muhammad [47:31]

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/47_31.gif

Translation:

“And We shall try you until We test those among you who strive their utmost and persevere in patience; and We shall try your reported (mettle).”

**Al-Imran (The Family of Imran) [3:20]

ﻢﻴﺣﺮﻟﺍ ﻦﻤﺣﺮﻟﺍ ﻪﻠﻟﺍ ﻢﺴﺑ**

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/3_20.gif

Translation:

“So if they dispute with thee, say: “I have submitted My whole self to Allah and so have those who follow me.” And say to the People of the Book and to those who are unlearned: “Do ye (also) submit yourselves?” If they do, they are in right guidance, but if they turn back, Thy duty is to convey the Message; and in Allah’s sight are (all) His servants.”

UKlawyer

You've been given some very good, genuine, honest and realistic advice from many a Guppie here, but you still tend to disagree and mope.

If you want stories, then go to a decent library or bookshop and get some.

Please don't compare the Qur'aan to some happy ending novel or something.

If you want to be a weak emotional wreck, then so be it. Get lost and go cry your eyes out.

Once you've done this, you'll realise that time is the best healer. But by then, time may not be on your side, as we never know when it's our turn to go.

'If it's not written for you, then it won't happen, no matter how close you are. If it is written for you, then it will happen, no matter how far you are'!

Ponder, just ponder.

Peace.

Uklawyer..if you really wanna make an effort then you really have to read Quran and Nahjul Balagah http://www.al-islam.org/search/index.html ..this book has the sermons given by Imam Ali ..check it out when you have some time

uklawyer:

Before you dip into religion, heal yourself first. There are more than plenty fake pirs and fakeers, gurus, shamens, Mullhas, etc. who are more than happy and willing to tell you how to live, what to think, how to be and what to call yourself. That is not spirituality!! So the time for learning about religion is not when you are emotionally/psychologically in a weak state. First heal yourself, in the manner that you have grown up. If it is the western secular style, then go find some western secular counselor. When you feel yourself and mentally strong then decide what you want to do. If at that time you feel like exploring your father's religion then do so and do so with an open mind. Seek out those who say it is the only way for man, and also seek out those who say that it is all delusional and it is evil. Listen to both of sides with an open mind, and let your inner voice guide you.

saleemwaqar now i am sure u are not a pakistani or even a muslim

saleemwaqar remarks like that are not needed, just shows how immature you are

.....forget it about editing the post, better everyone figures out what the guy is like themselves
..and apologises uklawyer for taking your thread off track

Why edit his post? He has a right to free speech just like anyone else.

jeez....