Re: —Advice Needed-Would you SUE in this Situation?
Ask99: Right now she is telling you this…
If you had asked if the food is Zabiha she would have scolded you for not trusting non-Muslims as the Muslim caterers feed dogs and donkeys in their services…
Re: ---Advice Needed-Would you SUE in this Situation?
You forgot to mention calling the local newspaper...
But Ask99 is a Muslim...All he'd get is the title of a moaning and whining Muslim and other Muslims on GS will call him names for being an attention whore and casting a spotlight on other Muslims...
*Ask99: Be a good Muslim and just accept the fact that you were fed pork and don't do anything about it...
And the thing is that there were guests that own local desi papers in the city and a radio station owner too...so thats the thing ...Its just the thing that is infuriating me is the reaction I am getting from the Hotel management. Its not about money...u know they wanted everything paid for before the event and afterwards like offering 250 dollars compensatory it feels like a slap on the face..its not about the money......and I talked to them...like do you not get that you know we made sure that the dishes have meat used thats Zabiha..because for some people its important and we wanna cater to that..and this thing is totally the other way..its prohibited....its like asking for Kosher food and then serving pork to orthodox jews!
..and its not like that hotel doesnt cater to desi's...she knew everything about desi food and traditions....
Its just that the principle ..I mean I dont know how to explain it well ...Why is it that we muslims when it gets to something personal...try to hide in corners or try to be the wallflowers so nobody can know we are here...why not we order some invisible cloaks and just live in em..carrying our daily anonymous lives
And the thing is that there were guests that own local desi papers in the city and a radio station owner too...so thats the thing ...Its just the thing that is infuriating me is the reaction I am getting from the Hotel management. Its not about money...u know they wanted everything paid for before the event an,..............
Its just that the principle ..I mean I dont know how to explain it well ...Why is it that we muslims when it gets to something personal...try to hide in corners or try to be the wallflowers so nobody can know we are here...why not we order some invisible cloaks and just live in em..carrying our daily anonymous lives
i recently learn "koe jhoot bolay> SUCH US SAY BHI ZOOR SAY BOLO". so y the heck u r hiding.
kher i give u several suggestions. n ya for suing> sooner the better. btw when did this happen?
If you take it to court, you will probably be asked who was supervising the food delivered to the kids that it took so long for adults to find out what their kids were eating? They'll ask what adults were responsible for watching over the kids.
I mean, you throw a party, and you're feeding people, you should do a cursory glance over everything to make sure its okay before its put out to the guests...
You say you ordered cheese pizzas. If its got meat on it, any kind, it wouldn't take a rocket scientist to figure out the order is wrong.
And through the supervising adults came the notice or shall we say ...asking reconfirmation that everything is Zabiha?And thats how the host found out(who was also the groom and you can imagine how busy that is)..And it wasnt like dominos or pizza hut pizza ..it was one large pizza that serves abt 75 and the it was displayed at the other far from where the other food was served And again noone other then me knew what was ordered so thus the assumption that its"zabiha beef"...not the porky pig.
i recently learn "koe jhoot bolay> SUCH US SAY BHI ZOOR SAY BOLO". so y the heck u r hiding.
kher i give u several suggestions. n ya for suing> sooner the better. btw when did this happen?
I agree!Its just I feel that I wouldnt want to create a scene but again there reaction is getting to me.
This happened about 2 months ago and I have been trying to talk to the hotel management during that time.Last I talked and explained that its not about the money she said that oh we can write apology notes to the guests and after that nothing from their side for so many weeks.I have been busy too with family stuff but again I contacted them recently and the same answer even after talking to her about how it is really wrong of em and that it puts us at such a weird situation.
^^ n u r still trying to contact hotel mangement
sir ghee terhi unglyoon say nikala jata hai. if u really wana do this talking talking then my suggestion would be> go direct to the owner. (managment is kamzoor ppl.)
publish it on the news. its a big scam. i am sure lawyers would love to have this cake ;). in fact hire a jewish lawyer (he will understand it better )
but also have some research on the hotelz past too
As I said that I have talked to someone who suggested me that its a very good case and find a lawyer. Its a good idea about the jew lawyer.Tomorow Im going to do the research..mind you I have heard that it takes years for something like this. I can pm you their name:) better yet their website. It is a big hotel chains and tomorrow would it be lawyer hunting for me, which in itself is an olympian task:)
^^ lemme see wat i can dig for u.
its good u didnt post their name here otherwise GS might have to face some legal actions. even if not ny legal action still it would be under tight surveillance.
But matey , one more thing , If you go on with the case , you will be getting some negative publicity as well . The news will spread like a fire in woods and you will become laughing stock of desi community around. Are you ready to bear the pressure ?
If it is only you , who knew what really happened , you better chugalug it mate .
There is a situation that I know of and wanted some advice.Suppose you threw a party and had food that you paid extra to make sure it is all Zabiha. For the kids you put the order of cheese pizza as you know kids dont eat prime ribs etc. But anyway the cheese pizza that was ordered for the kids..the hotel made it not only with meat but Pork...supreme porky pig on all of it. You have already told the guests that everything is zabiha(the food was not catered but was prepared by the hotel). And the pork/bacon sausage watever ..half was eaten by the kids and somebody comes to confirm it with the host and that is when they find out the big error and has it removed.There were quite a number of you know conservative Muslims ,hence the making sure that the meat was zabiha.
But the thing comes after talking to the hotel management about the issue , they apologize for the mistake and say "oh we'll reimburse the pizza and on top of it give you $100 compensation"..and mind you they charged $1000 for the Zabiha thing on top of the 17k banquet bill. The thing is they have just apologized but at the same time do not understand that this is like a big mistake that they have made. Considering this circumstance...Would you sue? They dont get it? Its more then just an issue of money here...the hotel management seems to take it so lightly? What would you do?
On the one hand its all done..so there is not much anyone can do about it now and they have apologised.
On the other hand ....do they seem sincere?...and what steps did they take to ensure that meat was as you ordered. If I were convinced that they were sincere in their apology and would ensure that something like this did not happen again then I would let the matter rest. Otherwise I would at least get legal advice and get the lawyer to write to them...just to emphasise the seriousness of the incident.
But matey , one more thing , If you go on with the case , you will be getting some negative publicity as well . The news will spread like a fire in woods and you will become laughing stock of desi community around. Are you ready to bear the pressure ?
If it is only you , who knew what really happened , you better chugalug it mate .
And through the supervising adults came the notice or shall we say ...asking reconfirmation that everything is Zabiha?And thats how the host found out(who was also the groom and you can imagine how busy that is)..And it wasnt like dominos or pizza hut pizza ..it was one large pizza that serves abt 75 and the it was displayed at the other far from where the other food was served And again noone other then me knew what was ordered so thus the assumption that its"zabiha beef"...not the porky pig.
I don't think you're getting what I'm saying. You're acting like a huge number of people ate this pizza and pork, before you knew what was going on. You do realize that you're going to be questioned regarding why no one from your party verified the food was ok before being served, and why it was only you, out of this large gathering, that knew what the food order was?
The accusation the opposition could level is that you waited too long before reporting it to the food service, just so that you could blow this out of proportion and make a big stink about it.
Anyhoo, do what you wish. I'm just saying that if you're going to make it a court case, you have to have some basis for the case. So far, the opposition has given you a full apology and is willing to compensate you with money. If you took this to court, the judge and jury would want to know what you'd want out of it. More money? A more public apology? Another pizza? Apologies to each and every individual who ate this pizza? If this is just about your temper being hurt, because you feel like you're not getting the same reaction an orthodox jew would get for being fed pork, then that's not going to hold up in court.
As a service that you had outsourced for 18K to a hotel, you expect the highest level of professionalism and diligence. Assuming that you have a written contract of some sort which spells out your menu items and instructions for caterers (typical in banquet events), you should be able to file a lawsuit.
The mental anguish is reason enough to sue… the only variable that I see is the reaction of your invited guests, family and friends. If they already know about the issue, then things would be simpler and it would probably allow you to save face by taking explicit action. On the other hand, if they don’t know about it, you’d have to factor in any negativities that would result out of going public with this.