I just saw this speech delivered by this young man to Mr. Musharaf. WOW! God bless him. There is still hope for Pakistan from our next generation. I also appreciate the president for listening to the young man patiently and responding to his points. Has anyone else seen this?
Re: Adnan KakaKhel - There is hope..
I liked mush's response even more.
Hey, the opportunity to cross question the Pres/PM in person in a public setting
something that was unthinkable in previous regimes, we have short memories we forget what it was like.
oh and as far as hope goes, there was NEVER a shortage of people with opinions in Pakistan
There is a chronic shortage of people who actually get up and do something, in an organized manner and achieve results. apathy, group baazi and rigidity hampers all that.
I didn't see the response from Musharaf. Youtube only had the student's speech. Do you know where I can find it?
umm right here on GS, look in video section. if i find the link I will post it here
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/showthread.php?t=233698&highlight=mush
post #6
Cool. thanks. Yeah, you are right. Shughal mela is all we like to do. I bet that was mostly what crowed was doing with all this information during the speech. :)
I just watched it. Mush defended well. I still like the way this young spoke. This needs to happen more where common man can call on the leader who suppose to serve them and make them explain their performance. Thanks for sharing the link.
Adnan kakakhel is from a prominent aalim family- His grandfather was Moulana Uzair Gul of Reshmi rumal tehreek fame.
I am fortunate enough to know adnan and mashallah he is such a knowledgable young aalim i tried to convince him to post here.Hope ALLAh takes some big work from him after his takhsus from Jamiatur Rasheed karachi.
Parvez sahibs reposnse to childish, any one can compare the two, stupid arguments to begin with.
Ullo ka kuch nahi :)
Very interesting... This Adnan kid seems to have pretty good head on his shoulders... But Musharafs response was responsible, brief, and to the point, truer politician never lived.
^ I disagree, Musharraf's response was very vague, citing irrelevant example, I couldn't watch full response but IMO he was outdone by Adnan.
Perhaps.. But like I said Musharaf has become a shrewd politician… He kept his cool and stuck to the point, although im sure the content of his response could be more polished.
The fact that this even took place speaks volumes.
a) so either this adnan guy is a pawn in a staged event, or
b) this regime has been open enough to allow this sort of direct questioning which I have not seen before
so lets assume that captaaan saab is right and musharraf was outdone, although I think he schooled adnan, but lets give captaan saaab the benefit here. ..so even if musharraf was outdone in the question versus the response, He won from a big picture perspective by creating conditions that this event and this question was possible.
^ Fraudia bhai, no one is taking credit away from Musharraf for allowing this to happen and be a part of it. I am a big critic of Musharraf but never I accused/alleged this to be a 'staged' event. How much coal he might have swallowed before allowing this to happen is a different story :D .... When I said 'outdone', I meant from Q & A perspective.
but see I dont agree that he was outdone. I think in a very simple way he made his points very well and those who like reason over posture think he was the one who came out as the winner.
I watched the whole of the President-General’s reply, and I think his first line was absolutely the best, which the student and the whole audience applauded.
“Yeh wardi waloon nai yeh allow ki, warna aaj se pehle kabhi nahin hua”
b) this regime has been open enough to allow this sort of direct questioning which I have not seen before
Why do u continue to try to make us believe this govt does things previous govts have not?
I have been to many of these in my time, with various leaders, and they all take direct and harsh questions, especially when campaigning.
exactly :k:
A quick note. Adnan had 7:23 minutes and Mushy had 22 minutes I think. There was no rebuttal opportunity for Adnan. I myself had quite a few responses to Musharaf's "explanations".
Again, I still appreciate the way Musharaf handled the situation. There were no winners since it was not a debate. Just two people giveing their opinions. Some of us agree with Adnan where some of us agree with Musharaf.
Political campaign is one thing, and questioning a sitting PM/President in an open pubic forum like the one that was held is another.
But show me instances where leaders allowed themselves to be questioned to the level tat tis guy did, in an open forum, while in power.
you show me and I will stand corrected. I may just not know about such events taking place in past.
I do look at the news and see that press is more able to critique the govt then I recall under previous regimes . This may or may not be similar. I would be interested in finding out more.