How do you identify ADHD in a kid?
please explain bit more what ADHD is?
take the kid to someoen who can diagnose it, start with a pediatrician and follow their advice.
Re: ADHD
My cousin in India has an 8 year old son. It seems a pychologist diagnosed him as having ADHD.
Desi Ostrich, it is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
My sis who is visiting from India these days was telling me that he used to be a well behaved kid doing well in school. All of a sudden his grades dropped and he would have severe mood swings. She took him to the school counselor who in turn referred them to a psychologist. My cousin herself is a trained psychologist for corporation so she felt something was out of the normal.
The question is that does a medical doctor diagnose such conditions or can a psychologist identify the symptoms?
Also, can the kid be treated without drugs?
My cousin in India has an 8 year old son. It seems a pychologist diagnosed him as having ADHD.
Desi Ostrich, it is Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder.
My sis who is visiting from India these days was telling me that he used to be a well behaved kid doing well in school. All of a sudden his grades dropped and he would have severe mood swings. She took him to the school counselor who in turn referred them to a psychologist. My cousin herself is a trained psychologist for corporation so she felt something was out of the normal.
The question is that does a medical doctor diagnose such conditions or can a psychologist identify the symptoms?
Also, can the kid be treated without drugs?
Both, Medical doctor will give them survey for parents and class teacher and in the light of their answers will decide it's major or mild disorder.
Meri zati raae main maherin-e-nafsiyat ko ilaj ki ziada zarorat hai:D
Over here they pay close attention to every child, So If he is not talking in class,“Your child is not participating in class activities.” “Oh, well he is doing home work on time completing some of the assignment but he is not talking at all.” ammi abba ghar a ker shuru ho jaty hain byta/baiti bola ker class main. Next year teacher will say,“Your son/daughter is hyper active.” For every question he raise his hand and want to be center of every one’s attention." ![]()
Usually the school's SEN (Special Educational Needs) teacher would need to make formal observations, the family GP would also need to be involved and then Ed Psych.
I used to support 2 boys with ADHD, both very quite high frequency so it was more the behavioural/social aspects I used to work with. One of them was on ritalin and to be honest, I preferred him without. The drugs completely repressed his personality and he became a complete robot. Ritalin worked to an extent in terms of attention span during school based tasks, but it drained him.
I would advice trying simple behaviour strategies (short structured realistic, time related tasks (use an egg timer), rules should be consistant and simple, visual reminders, stuff like that) before ritalin. Im not a great fan of it.
usually, the official diagnosis is made by a psychiatrist and not a psychologist.
The psychiatrist often gives advise to the parents and sibs how to treat the patient; and how to structure his/her daily life. However, also keep in mind that amphetamins are considered the most effective therapeutic drugs for ADHD. Sometimes they even give a test-dose of amphetamins to see if the child becomes calmer: this then actually helps to confirm the diagnosis.
psychiatrist and a pediatrics nuerologist
psychiatrist and a pediatrics neurologist
right
Usually the school's SEN (Special Educational Needs) teacher would need to make formal observations, the family GP would also need to be involved and then Ed Psych.
I used to support 2 boys with ADHD, both very quite high frequency so it was more the behavioural/social aspects I used to work with. One of them was on ritalin and to be honest, I preferred him without. The drugs completely repressed his personality and he became a complete robot. Ritalin worked to an extent in terms of attention span during school based tasks, but it drained him.
I would advice trying simple behaviour strategies (short structured realistic, time related tasks (use an egg timer), rules should be consistant and simple, visual reminders, stuff like that) before ritalin. Im not a great fan of it.
i agree with milly, try to give the child alot of one2one attention. and listen to the child's need's by observing him closely(im SEN trained:)) and talking to him, find out why he is feeling like this....
the parents should observe the child closely. keep a diary of what the child eats, what his likes dislike are, who he chooses to play with. try to look for a pattern in his behaviour e.g. maybe when he drinks alot of juices he might get hyper.
maybe something else is bothering him e.g. bullying at school,home problems...
I am a part-time teacher and psychology was my major. I have to say nowadays every student who is having a hard time focusing is labelled with ADHD. It shouldn't work like that. Once a teacher can't get the attention of student, it's all too easy for her to send the child to Special Ed and say, "I think this child has ADHD, s/he should go for testing."
When a child is sitting in a car and he can't focus on what you're saying because he has trouble taking focus away from things like how the tires are rubbing against the road, the heater is humming, etc. then he has ADHD. This addresses the first problem: attention deficite in the child. The second part of this is hyperactivity: which kid isn't hyperactive? The only time when they are to be diagnosed at having a hyperactivity disorder is when they absolutely cannot get their eyes to focus on looking at a piece of paper for more than 20 seconds at one time. Below is the criteria used by psychiatrists to identify a child with ADHD. If I were to go by this, my entire class should be suffering from this disorder! Once a child is labelled ADHD, it's a lifetime thing - so please get a diverse set of opinions from several health care practitioners before coming to the conclusion that a child has ADHD.
DSM-IV Criteria for ADHD
I. Either A or B:
- Six or more of the following symptoms of inattention have been present for at least 6 months to a point that is disruptive and inappropriate for developmental level:
Inattention
- Often does not give close attention to details or makes careless mistakes in schoolwork, work, or other activities.
- Often has trouble keeping attention on tasks or play activities.
- Often does not seem to listen when spoken to directly.
- Often does not follow instructions and fails to finish schoolwork, chores, or duties in the workplace (not due to oppositional behavior or failure to understand instructions).
- Often has trouble organizing activities.
- Often avoids, dislikes, or doesn't want to do things that take a lot of mental effort for a long period of time (such as schoolwork or homework).
- Often loses things needed for tasks and activities (e.g. toys, school assignments, pencils, books, or tools).
- Is often easily distracted.
Is often forgetful in daily activities.
Six or more of the following symptoms of hyperactivity-impulsivity have been present for at least 6 months to an extent that is disruptive and inappropriate for developmental level:
Hyperactivity
- Often fidgets with hands or feet or squirms in seat.
- Often gets up from seat when remaining in seat is expected.
- Often runs about or climbs when and where it is not appropriate (adolescents or adults may feel very restless).
- Often has trouble playing or enjoying leisure activities quietly.
- Is often "on the go" or often acts as if "driven by a motor".
- Often talks excessively.
Impulsivity
- Often blurts out answers before questions have been finished.
- Often has trouble waiting one's turn.
Often interrupts or intrudes on others (e.g., butts into conversations or games).
Some symptoms that cause impairment were present before age 7 years.
Some impairment from the symptoms is present in two or more settings (e.g. at school/work and at home).
There must be clear evidence of significant impairment in social, school, or work functioning.
The symptoms do not happen only during the course of a Pervasive Developmental Disorder, Schizophrenia, or other Psychotic Disorder. The symptoms are not better accounted for by another mental disorder (e.g. Mood Disorder, Anxiety Disorder, Dissociative Disorder, or a Personality Disorder).
Based on these criteria, three types of ADHD are identified:
- ADHD, Combined Type: if both criteria 1A and 1B are met for the past 6 months
- ADHD, Predominantly Inattentive Type: if criterion 1A is met but criterion 1B is not met for the past six months
- ADHD, Predominantly Hyperactive-Impulsive Type: if Criterion 1B is met but Criterion 1A is not met for the past six months.
^ Great answer Straight-up! The right docs have very detailed questionaires that are to be filled out prior to their evaluation. One set is to be filled out by the parents and one set is to be filled out by the child's teacher. Then the doc does his own evaluation, compiles all the scores and then determines a diagnosis if any.
Something to note is that ADD/ADHD cannot be definitively diagnosed until around age 7 and the meds for it (like Ritalin) should not be given to a child younger than that.
My cousin had ADHD but my maami would not accept it and refused to give him meds when he clearly needed it... he was so irritating and none of us cousins wanted to deal with him but now alhumdulilah she has realized and started giving it to him and he is much better.. MashAllah he is mature and fun and controllable
Don't let him anything with 'yeast' in it. His condition will improve.
Ritalin is one of the most over-prescribed drugs on the planet…so I cannot disagree with a mother who holds off for a while - it is a HUGE decision to put your child on such a serious medication.
Something to try in the meantime which is so much safer…Zinc supplements. Read about safe dosage and check with your pediatrician about it because its one of those supplements that you should not overdo - you need to find out the proper dosage. But it can and does surely help. I started my son on it about 2 weeks ago and we have seen some lovely improvements.
Heres an article which explains more about it…
Zinc appears to improve ADHD treatment
I have heard that often people misdiagnose children with ADHD. So be sure that there isnt any other underlying issue before starting a treatment.