Re: Addressing parents in law
I'd never call my FIL and MIL ammi abbu. They're not my ammi abbu.
I call them Ammi and Abbou and I don't think I am replacing my parents. They love me dearly and I feel comfortable and more close to them by addressing them that way and that's what's important I think.
I started off as uncle/aunty but then I thought, I do address all hubby's mamus chachas khalas etc as Mamoon, chachoo, Khala etc why not the parents then?
One can argue that we have multiple chachas, mammas but just one mom and dad, but the same argument can be given that if your PILs are not like real parents their bros/sis can't be real mamons/phupos etc too right?
^It's nice masi. I was actually told by a desi auntie to call my PIL ammi abbu and I just don't like being told what to do so I decided not to call them ammi abbu ever and they are fine with it, they don't expect me to call them by these titles but it doesn't mean that I don't respect them, of course I do. :)
I didn't mean those who call uncle/aunty are being disrespectful, sorry if it sounded like that.
It's a personal choice, preferring one over the other doesn't make anyone any better :)
I call my PILs ammi/abu and my husband calls my parents as ammi/abu too...
I guess it wasn't a choice for me because when I got married ,the elder DILs were already calling the PILs as ammi/abu so I did the same too...
LOL! Great!
We just keep it simple with Uncle/Aunty on both sides! I'm the only daughter and he's the only son so no trends to set and so on....
Simple and sweet!
U know i can kind of understand this showing respect wiht actions. Although some may call their MILs Ammi, they hardly treat them as they treat their own mothers.....
He calls my parents what I call them....mama/abbu and I call his parents what he calls them....ammi/papa.
am still suck on aunty uncle for my future in laws :P and i am in a dilemma as to when to switch over to calling them 'ammi abbu'. abhi zabaan par aata nai ;)
I call them uncle/aunty which I know is not fair as my wife calls my parents ammi/abbu but its hard to change now after 10 years but rest assured I treat them as my parents.
Would you mind if your husband shows you respect by calling you behen ji? what is in the name? ![]()
how about munnay ki nani and Guddu k nana ?
c'mon make me life simple :)
calling someone ammi and abbu does not make them your real ammi and abbu, Hareem aapa (just like me calling you aapa does not make you my real aapa, but it just shows respect)
how about munnay ki nani and Guddu k nana ?
c'mon make me life simple :)
You can only do that after you have munna and guddu. What will you call them for the first nine months?
I tried very hard to start calling mine mom and dad … really i did … but just couldnt bring myself to say it :no: … and i have ended up calling them aunty and uncle :hinna:
I just found it so odd
… perhaps with time …
calling someone ammi and abbu does not make them your real ammi and abbu, Hareem aapa (just like me calling you aapa does not make you my real aapa, but it just shows respect)
I have other ways to show them respect.
Maybe an off topic but I noticed that in rural areas, very often guys even address their friend's mom as ammi ji also. I find it very sweet. I've seen that in Punjab very often. I had friends from Lahore, Rawalpindi, Raheem Yaar Khan .. who used to call my mom, ammi ji or worst Khala jaan. MY karachi friends were like ... Aunty
true..my dad used to do that. call his friend's mom 'khala ji'. i call my friends parents 'aunty uncle' but call their daadi daada 'daadi and daada'
they way my friends do.
and grandparents usually love that and shower with affection :)