Addicted to aspirin?

Is that possible?

Dont know if it is possible or not, But doctors do prescribe regular use of asprin to heart patients as it make your blood thinner. I may be wrong.:)

addiction to aspirin?? I've never come across that......i guess it quite unprobable

Re: Addicted to aspirin?

*Originally posted by Nadia_H: *
Is that possible?

Its possible, U know Y....
Bcoz it makes Ur blood thin, and if U take it regularly U will be used to the more fluent flow of blood, If u dont have it, u will feel thirsty as Ur blood will start thickening. And u will feel, U are addictied.

Thank you :flower1: No, Code Red, i believe you are accurate. As Golden Scorpion noted, it’s prescribed to make a patient’s blood thinner.

Thanks, guys :slight_smile: :flower1:

Re: Re: Addicted to aspirin?

*Originally posted by Golden_Scorpion: *

Its possible, U know Y....
Bcoz it makes Ur blood thin, and if U take it regularly U will be used to the more fluent flow of blood, If u dont have it, u will feel thirsty as Ur blood will start thickening. And u will feel, U are addictied.

^ i dont think thats true.

Nadia,those people who suffer from regular attcks of headache or migraine and are used to take regular dosage of aspirins,might feel they cant survive without one.At least thats how my khala puts it,she does have migraine and she used totake aspirin daily,due to which she develops gastric troubles and now she left using it.I dont think there is any such thing like aspirin addiction :)

Re: Re: Re: Addicted to aspirin?

Kashish, Thank you so much. Bahaut bahaut shukriya. Your answer is a bit more related to the reason i opened this thread. Thank you :flower1:

i also get attacks of migraines and headaches (it’s been happening since childhood so it’s not a big deal), but recently i’ve had pretty bad ear pain so i was taking up to three extra-strength aspirins a night. That was followed sometimes by two aspirins in mid-afternoon - five pills in 24 hours. And even then, it just barely controls the pain.

Now i am worried that i might be “addicted” to aspirin. i don’t know how to tell if i am or not. The pain is such that it’s impossible to sleep it off, or take anything else for it - and yet, i don’t want to continually take aspirin. The position that your Khala is in - i completely understand it. :flower1: :frowning:

Anyways thanks so much for your answer :flower1: i really appreciate your taking the time to respond to my concerns. :slight_smile: Thank you.

Nadia, is your earpain somehow related to your migraine?

if not, I think you ought to sort out what is causing this ear pain. It might be an infection or so, in which case other drugs (specific antibiotics or anti-inflammatory drugs) are recommended.

if the earpain is related to migraine, you perhaps want to step over to some other anti-migraine drugs instead of aspirin; a more powerful one. Ask your GP about the usage of sumatriptan; and when it is used.

Thank you so much :flower1: You are absolutely accurate, Nescio - that’s precisely what the doctor prescribed it was. We suspect i most likely got it because, this past winter when it was -30 outside i didn’t wear proper covering over my ears :~/ Actually i didn’t cover my ears (with toques, etc.) at all - which can even lead to frostbite IF done over a sustained period of time outside. Bahaut DanTT parti thi from my elders aur ab iss ka nateeja woh hi niqla which i was warned about.

The doctor had prescribed a strong antibiotic but i stated i did not want to take that. Mujhe tau kuch ziyada hi strong laga. For the moment, i’m taking medium-strength Auralgan for the infection. Allah ka shukar hai that it seems to be working. My ear tends to start hurting a lot around evening/night time.

oh well - Insha’Allah it will all work itself out. Thank you so much for your reply. :flower1: :flower1: Deeply appreciated, Nescio.

yes, that explains! becuz it was so cold…your ears ‘closed’ themselves…in other words it was not possible for any fluid/slime to travel from ur ear to ur nose…because of this, micro-organisms can easily expand in that fluid which is enclosed on all sides…this leads to inflammation and pain.

judging from the name of the drug i can say that most probably it is a pain killer. That’s a good sign! Because ur doc didn’t prescribe antibiotics he feels that the infection isn’t that bad that it should need vigorous treatment: ur body still can cope with it itself. Just the pain has to be taken care of :k:
but if the pain stays for tooo long, it’s better to take the antibiotic.

just looked it up for you:

*Auralgan is prescribed to reduce the inflammation and congestion and relieve the pain and discomfort of severe middle ear infections. This drug may be used in combination with an antibiotic for curing the infection.
Auralgan is also used to remove excessive or impacted earwax.

Side effects cannot be anticipated. If any develop or change in intensity, inform your doctor as soon as possible. For Auralgan, no specific side effects have been reported.

Consulting a physician is always the best thing.kabhi kabhi antibiotics se itna darna nahin chahiyey,infections ko remove kerne k liay zaroori bhi hota hai antibiotics lena warna they tend to intensify.Since Auralgan is releiving your sympotoms, i presume you had wax rather an ear infection :)

*Originally posted by NeSCio: *

just looked it up for you:

Auralgan is prescribed to reduce the inflammation and congestion and **relieve the pain and discomfort* of severe middle ear infections. This drug may be used in combination with an antibiotic for curing the infection.
Auralgan is also used to remove excessive or impacted earwax.

Side effects cannot be anticipated. If any develop or change in intensity, inform your doctor as soon as possible. For Auralgan, no specific side effects have been reported.

any idea about the generic name NeSCio ??

^this is what i found:

Generic ingredients: Antipyrine, Benzocaine, Glycerin

so probably it's against fever and against inflammation

im addicted to them…:crying:…i get a headache at least twice a week…and i have to 4 of them…:(…

i know lot of ladies in backhome and here too that are addicted to pain killers..be it asprin..tylenol..paracetamol..panadol etc etc. Everytime, they get a headache..they just take it..instead of finding out the cause of it :(

I know of people that have been addicted to painkillers. Its probably hard for them to realise that they have an addiction, its so easy to just reach for a bottle of painkillers when you have a bit of pain rather than spend time getting to the root of the problem.

Well Aspirin is non addictive because of how it works to ease pain and inflammation. It eases pain by blocking the production of Prostaglandins or lipid messengers that are involved in pain and inflammatory responses of the body. It does this by ihibiting a protein called Cox-1. Cox-1 causes the production of thromboxanes in the Blood Plateletes which cause the clotting of blood. The idea of thickening or thinning the blood with Aspirin is therefore not accurate. Hope that helped.

i cant live without tylenol :~S

*Originally posted by mufakkar: *
Well Aspirin is non addictive because of how it works to ease pain and inflammation. It eases pain by blocking the production of Prostaglandins or lipid messengers that are involved in pain and inflammatory responses of the body. It does this by ihibiting a protein called Cox-1. Cox-1 causes the production of thromboxanes in the Blood Plateletes and thus prevents the clotting of blood. The idea of thickening or thinning the blood with Aspirin is therefore not accurate. Hope that helped.

Lets say it acts like an anti-coagulant, rather like warfarin.

I'm not sure what age you are, or how many aspirin you take a day......but for people who overuse aspirin, the long term side effects in addition to liver damage, is also bleeding stomach ulcers.

As far as I know, aspirin is not a type of medication that causes true withdrawal symptoms. It's not a physiologically addictive medication (meaning: your body actually craves more and more).....but with any medication (or food or whatever), a person can become "psychologically" dependant on it.......where they THINK they can't live without it.
I've never heard of aspirin being effective for anyone who suffers from Migraine headaches.

If you are waking up with headaches each day, you'd be better off going back to your doctor and working together to find out the cause of these constant headaches......because if you could get at the root cause and handle it from that point, then you obviously wouldn't NEED to take aspirin for them, right?

But really, you would be better off to discuss this all with your doctor....and get him to explain to you, the risks of long term use of aspirin, especially at a young age (I'm assuming you're under 25 yrs old?) (meaning....if you're taking them daily now, and keep on doing it for years to come).