adanan sami .....

Adanan sami is a Indian or a pakistani ..
when his album is released i am thinking that he is a Indian but a few days back i have read some where that he is a pakistani and today in TIMES OF INDIA they mentioned that he is a UK borned Canada Based singer …
can any one help me …

Dude is Paki..but his music is not restricted by any boundaries weather they be religious or cultural..

If YoU CaN't SaY AnYthInG NiCe ... ShuT uP ! !

His roots are pakistani ..however he lives in Canada ..

The guy has got talent and if its been recognized worldwide then thats nice

I was in Seventh or Eight Grade when i heard his first Song 'Kahan Bas gai ho' and since then i am soo hooked on to his mudhoosh kar denay wali awaaz

He just recorded a Song for an Indian Movie with this singer ..forgot her name i think its Kavita krishna something

The problem is kay even though pakistan has produced some famous singers like NFAK and Adnan Sami ..they arent recognized in Pakistan
koi bhi ghaas nahi dalta .....
on the other hand their talent is very well appreciated across the border

Or maybe thats my observation

well adnan sami khan is indeed a talented gu yand was given a very warm welcome when he was in india recently.
he was greatly appreaciated i like his song "bheegi bheegi raat me"
but adnan needs to cut on his weight he looks terrible and esp when he acts in his vidoes please save us from that.
never the less this guy is great
but i would like to add here that while adnan was well recieved here in india
some years ago there was a album realesed in pakistan in which there were songs by adnan and asha bhosle asha bhosles voice was changed in the pakistani video and instead there was some pakistani singer
it was in very bad taste

thanks friends .... Any way Adanan Sami is realy good singer composer ..... and His album KABHI TO NAJAR MILAO is a big hit this year and Indian youth is going mad for him ....

yeah that song with asha bhosle (i think) is really nice

adnan sami sure has talent...he was married to zeba bakhtiaar...i just saw his video and he has gained like 400 lbs ..he needs to just get rid of all of that or we know what happend to NFAK

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

when everyone is talking about A and B this one brings in Z

just because i said HE is overweight..muniya ji u dont have to get offended

..motapa sehat k liye muzzir hai and its good to work out and eat less

Ok just hypothetically I agree with you on the overwieght part…I can fix overwieght.. what are you going to do with your ugliness?

Start another thread this is not the place nor the time !

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/disgust.gif

If YoU CaN’t SaY AnYthInG NiCe … ShuT uP ! !

kabir did mention that the guy looks horrible in the videos..i added to that cuz i saw the video as well..

i think u need to get a life..dont even start with me cuz ur ammijaan is probably in pakistan and she wouldnt be here to wipe ur tears

what ugliness? Allah ka shuker hai i am very happy with my looks

and like i said motapa causes problems for the health..so u should start to fix it from today

Adnan Sami Khan is Pakistani.

Adnan Sami is based in Canada but of Indian origin.
http://www.dhadkan.com/cgi-bin/dhadkan/profiles.cgi?artistID=1137&jnd=I
Background

He is another example of the expatriate Indian who has achieved a fusion between his adopted culture and its symbols and his roots that accompany forever. A Canadian who studied at the famous Rugby School in England, Adnan nevertheless is an Indian at heart.

http://music.indiatimes.com/Interviews/interviewadnansami.htm

Music is the greatest form of expression"

Birth date: 15th August
Email: [email protected]
A child prodigy of his times, Adnan Sami has the talent that many aspire for. An accomplished pianist and composer with a special command on all Western and Indian classical and semi-classical notes, he is the world’s fastest keyboard player. His first album Kabhi to Nazar Milao with Asha Bhonsle was a super hit.

Q.How did you get interested in music?
A: I started playing the piano when I was 5 years old. I started composing when I was 9. I don’t come from a musical family as such but I got training in western classical music in school.

Q. Any formal training?
A: I had formal training in school called Rugby, where I studied. So the atmosphere was there. I got training in western classical music, in Jazz, arrangements, compositions. Then when I came to Bombay I started training under Pandit Shiv Kumar Sharma in Indian classical music. So I have been into music since the very beginning.

Q. What kind of music did you grow up listening to?
A: I can’t pin-point anyone of them but to name a few, I am a huge fan of Ustad bade Ghulam Ali Khan Sahib, Ustad Vilayat Khan Sahib, Ustad Amir Khan Sahib, RD Burman, SD Burman, and on the western side I loved Elvis, Beatles, Bee Gees, Miles Davis, BB King, Chuck Berry, Pink Floyd, Beethoven, Mozart, Chopin. The list can go on and on actually.

Q. You sing, compose and play the keyboard. Is there any other instrument you play or want to play?
A: Oh I play a lot of instruments. In fact I learnt the Violin and the Tabla and many other things.

Q. Tell us something about your first album?
A: My first album was The One and Only, which was an instrumental album with myself and Zakir Hussain on tabla, which was also released by Magnasound.

Q. How did this break come your way?
A: I was already playing the piano as a concert pianist. So people had heard me already. Then there was this buzz going on that he’s the first guy to play Indian classical music on the piano, which is primarily a western instrument, and then there were also remarks about my being the fastest pianist in the world. So some people thought that it would be really interesting if someone like him and Zakir can some make some music together. Which indeed it was as Zakir is an amazing person and musician.

Q. Your recent album with Asha Bhosle is doing quite well, how was it working with the evergreen Asha ji? How did the project come into picture?
A: She is a phenomenal singer. First let me say that I am a huge fan of hers. I met her along with Pancham Da, a long time back through some common friends in London when I was 10 years old. I got a chance to play some of my music to them which I had recorded at home, some of my piano playing. They were very encouraging and since then I was always in touch with her and whenever we used to meet Ashaji would ask me “What’s up Adnan, how’s the progress?”, and you know stuff like that.

Q. It must be great feeling to listen to other people’s opinions especially from those who have themselves done it all?
A: It is and especially from some one whom you admire. So like always I made Ashaji listen to some of my music and asked her that it would be an honor and a privilege for me if you can bless these compositions with your voice. And she didn’t think twice and said “Ya, lets do it”. So I was over the moon and it was like a dream come true to have your compositions to be elevated to another level by beautiful voice of someone like Ashaji. So we got together in London and recorded the album.

Q. How would you define the album Kabhi To Nazar Milao?
A: The mood of the album is very romantic, very lighthearted. An album where I have chosen to create melodies, which are simple and easily hummable by everyone. I think that’s the way to look at it.

Q. So it’s simple and straight from the heart?
A: Absolutely it’s just pouring out of the heart.

Q. Any future plans ? Are many live shows lined up or are you working on another album?
A: I am doing shows and working on a album. In fact working on two albums. I am also working towards giving music for films. So I am really excited about the future.

Q. So when can we expect another one of your albums?
A: I think my next album is due to be released by February 2001.

Q. One final question, what does music mean to you personally?
A: Music to me is the inner most form of expression of my heart. It’s the greatest form of expression for me. Things that I might not be able to say in words due to inhibition, I might be able to express through my music. So music is truly reflective of what’s there in my heart. You’ll find me saying much more to you through music than I’ll ever say to you in words.
http://music.nazara.com/interviews/indipop/a/adnan/index.asp

Akshat Kapil

Adnan is indeed a very talented atrist. Loved his album "kabhi to nazar milao" & his "Zara Dholki Bajao" song from his previous album.

However, he has gained a lot of weight recently, dangerous to his health. We have already lost Pakistani artists like Nazia Hassan, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, to name a few, at a very early age. We don't want to see that happening to Adnan Sami.

exactly my point!!!

thanks mohubbat

Adnan Sami Khan is definitely a Pakistani, his first big break was the pakistani movie and album "sargam". His father has held diplomatic assignments in Pakistani missions abroad, so adnan has lived in different countries growing up.
Also, to whoever mentioned that they changed asha's voice to a pakistani singer in pakistan, it's actually the other way around. Hadiqa Kiyani was the original playback singer for adnan's album "sargam". They re-recorded the songs with Asha because she was friends with adnan.
I was very surprised to find out that he is doing so well in India right now. I got his "Badaltey Mausam" (released in india as "kabhi to nazar milao") from Pakistan in 98, and had given up hope on any thing new from him since he ran away with his son when his marriage with zeba fell apart. Then yesterday I read an interview where he said he was coming out with two albums! I'm so excited. He is the onle desi artist that i can bear listening to, his songs are so complex, so many layers. A true musical genius. In Badaltey Mausam, the last track is an uncredited snippet of some instrumental by him, I can make out at least 5 dholaks, tablas, dafles etc etc playing at the same time, then two flutes kick in and he starts chanting ya allah, ya allah, it's one of the most amazing pices of music i have ever heard, anybody have a clue what the song is and where i can find the complete version? It just leaves Junoon and their Sufi-rock schtick in the dust.

adnan sami khan..a mystro indeed…

Alf Allah Chunmbay Di Booti
Mere Maan Vich Murshad Lai Huu..
Naffi Asbaat Da Paani Mallaya
Har Raggay HarJai Huu
[Sultan Bahuu]

The Day She Left…
FriDaY_JaN_26Th_10:30:00_A.M…

Originally posted by Anchal:
**His roots are pakistani ..however he lives in Canada ..

The guy has got talent and if its been recognized worldwide then thats nice
The problem is kay even though pakistan has produced some famous singers like NFAK and Adnan Sami ..they arent recognized in Pakistan
koi bhi ghaas nahi dalta .....
on the other hand their talent is very well appreciated across the border

Or maybe thats my observation **

I beg to differ. Adnan Sami Khan is very well recognized in Pakistab, in the early ninties he used to have a weekly show on PTV by the name of Adnan Sami Khan's Raag time. His movie with Zeba Bakhtiar "sargam" was a mega sucess and his marraige also ended in alot of contreversy. Where he ran away with his child to Dubai!