Actions Against the News Of the World

Libel actions brought against the News of the World

In 2005, England footballer David Beckham and his wife Victoria brought a legal action against the paper seeking libel damages over an article that carried the headline: “Posh and Becks on the Rocks.” The legal action was withdrawn in 2006 and “resolved on a confidential basis,” according to the couple’s spokeswoman Jo Milloy.

In April 2006, England footballer Wayne Rooney received £100,000 in damages from the publishers of The News of the World and its sister paper The Sun over articles falsely reporting he had slapped his then-fiancée and now wife, Coleen. Both had always denied the reports.

In June 2006, England footballer Ashley Cole received damages from the publishers of The News of the World over articles incorrectly alleging the footballer had used a mobile phone as a gay sex toy. Together with its sister paper The Sun, The News of the World paid Cole £100,000 to settle the case
In July 2006, a libel action brought by the Scottish politician Tommy Sheridan came to court in Edinburgh. Sheridan denied allegations, made by the newspaper in November 2004 and January 2005, that he had an affair, engaged in group sex and attended a swinger’s club in Manchester. Sheridan won the case and was awarded £200,000 in damages. The newspaper intends to appeal against the jury’s decision,[12] and has refused to pay out the money; Sheridan and several associates have been charged with perjury, but the case has not yet reached the courts.

In January 2010 Norwich City Football Club Started legal proceedings against the News of the World after they published an article, “Canaries on Brink” on 24 January 2010 claiming that the club had begun the processes of going into administration [13]
In February 2010, the Hollywood couple Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie made plans to sue the News of the World after it published allegations about their relationship.[14]

Check this out guys even the video leaked by the NOTW …doesnt mean its true …

already this news paper has faced so many lebel actions …what makes us think this match fixing allegations is also true

Re: Actions Against the News Of the World

off course that is one of the key thing. Legitimacy of the video. If its legitimate AND it was made in advance of all these events only then it will be evidence and even then it will be circumstantial evidence. But I really like players to get clean by non-guilty verdict instead of weakness of circumstantial evidence or other technicalities.

^^ because we Pakistanies do not think from our brains... a 3rd grade news-site make allegations and we as a nation issue a verdict.. no and i say no investigation what so ever.. no one was willing to hear the other side... thats why we are easy target... and our channel GEO.. who have already made its mind that all these allegations are true...

Well ya still no one knows whether the video was made after the match or before the match

no one knows and one more thing a pro bookie will not keep that huge amount of money at his home

@hanibal

so true hanibal here all the bashing the players still the allegations havent proved it

ajeeb kaum hai

I was also thinking that PCB should sue the abovementioned newspaper plus the man in the video receiving the money...in which the paper is bribing (about 330k US dollars) a man to make some allegations or unproved fake statement...you don't buy facts by paying money...due you?

Before we go down that route we have to be absolutely sure that the players are innocent (which sadly does not seem to be the case, their silence says it all)

yeh na ho k nehle pe dehla ho jaye

It has happened 1st time to the players may be woh pressure mein agye to aur smjh nhe arha ho ke handle kesi krni hai situation

mairey bachey, mairey nau-ne-haaal

hahah kya kro yaar decent bhai bus kisi tarah amir bach jaye :@:

hanibal, the whole world is ready to listen to them, the whole Pakistan is ready to listen to them, but they need to speak up. Its their silence that has become the confirmation of their guilt. Why are they not coming out and say loudly and clearly we are NOT involved. We have not taken any money.

That has been the modus ope***** of many newspapers now and is being accepted. The players should know they are not supposed to be enticed by offers no matter how ridiculous.

The same newspaper and journalist Mazhar ahmood tried to give some money to George Gallaway and tried to agree him to some antisemitic comments.

Check this guys

One somewhat valid point I can see from that link is why didn't the go to the authorities earlier? I am sure it would have made their case solid and scotland-yard would have held the information till after the cheating had taken place in front of them

To me they are not guilty until proven with evidence even though they look/act guilty. But I'll hold my verdict until it's proven by the Police/ICC/PCB investigative reports though I don't expect anything from PCB.

Me too i wont say anything against the players untile its proved

Me too will not say anything until proven in the court of law.

clutching to straws... its sad..

aaj char ko police nay pakar liya aur un kay mobile phones bhi lay liyay

Please don't just post vague news, post details with links otherwise its nothing but just rumour.