acne..

so all my acne is gone…but there are scars…red and some brown…how long do they take to fade..
any home remedies..??
i have a wedding coming up in september last week..i want my skin to clear up by then…is there any hope i will get a clear skin in forty days or so??

Re: acne..

drink plenty of water, take fruits n veges n cut down on too much oily food! cleanse, tone, moisturise. n use the mixture of glycerin, rose water and lemon juice on your face every night!

goodluck :)

^The above advice will help in giving you clearer/healthier skin.

But if you wanna smooth out those scars, you need more agressive treatment. Not home remedies. Not commercial products. You need to go to a dermatologist. Treatments such as laser resurfacing or microdermabrasion and chemical peel sessions are more likely to yield results in a shorter amount of time. Talk to a professional and discuss options, costs, effectiveness, precautions, etc. Even something like a retinol serum, which increases exfoliation and can help in dimininshing the appearance of scars....you have to go through a doctor to get it a high enough concentration where it will actually make some difference.

You can try the natural remedy route (and I'm not saying that you shouldn't, cuz it important) and you can try buying commerical products...but if 40 days is your time limit...you're really not gonna get too far. You'll end up feeling more frustrated. Just see a dermatologist.

i tried this recently. scars won't go quickly but skin looks so clear. i had netrogeuna's grapefruit acne wash. mix it with sandalwood powder and leave it for 5-10 mins b4 washing morning n evening. sandalwood works as an exfoliator and lightens skin too. it really gave me nice skin and kept new pimples at bay too. i won't recommend harsh retinol treatments or peels. they make u worse before u get better and are not a quick fix either but this sandalwood acne wash mixture i loved the results.

also i found this "No mark" cream from pak (made in india one only , not the pak made) and it seems effective with scarring. but was really hard to find.

Not necessarily, Mabrook. I use a retinol serum that I combine with a vitamin C serum and it's gentle on my skin, while also providing exfoliation. I've had a series of microdermabrasion and peel sessions. In fact, I went for a microderm and glycolic peel about 3 days ago and my skin is fine, AH. The blemishes, the scars (holes) left by acne have diminished greatly, the pore size is smaller, etc. There are factors that you need to consider....such as the strength/concentration of the peel, the knowledge of the person doing it, whether or not you're caring for your skin properly after getting the treatment done.

If you get a peel (at a higher concentration done) such as a TCA...it will deffo make your skin red and flake...and you may not feel comfortable leaving the home. But it's a discomfort that lasts about a week...and then the skin calms down...and there are procedures you need to follow for post-treatment care. For a less intense peel...the flaking is much milder. If she has 40 some days till the wedding....she still has time to get a more agressive treatment...and allow her skin some time to recover.

You mentioned "clear" skin and there's a difference between clear skin...and scars. You could have a clear complexion and still have holes/pits in your skin. Clear and scarless are not the same thing.

And many of the commercial products don't penetrate deep enough or enough layers of the skin to make such a dramatic difference and especially in a short amount of time. Scars are DEEEEP....i know because I've had several caused by acne and a couple caused by an accident that I'm getting treatment for. Therefore, they require procedures that are more agressive...doesn't have to be something that'll burn your face off....but aggressive enough to where it penetrates the layers of the skin.

The OP can play a guessing game with commerical products...or she can actually see a professional and find out what the options are. If I let my esthetician know that I have an important event coming up...she won't do something that requries a longer recovery time. THe professionals can work with your time-frame/needs/goals/concerns. I've gone through the whole try this natural remedy and this desi and non-desi product...and it wasn't going anywhere. And I'm not saying that one shouldn't use them....but at least talk to a professional who specializes in this area. A wedding ...especially if it's your own...is a BIG deal..and you want something that is more likely to give you results and more woth the time and money.

yaar i respect ur experience but i have used retin A, retinol serums, lactic, glycol and tca peels and honestly itni cheezon k baad bhi my scars r there. also skin looks fresh for a while but doesn't really improve unless its very deep peels done in several sessions. also u hav to continously deal with the dry skin caused by these.
i wasn't talking abt pits though. just dark spots caused by pimples. by clear skin i meant scars n uneveness seem neglible and u feel much confident without makeup.

Spots and scars aren't the same thing. It's still not so black and white. It can depend on soo many factors...the quality of the product, the frequency, the concentration, the type of skin you have, how well you take care of it after the treatment, etc.

thanks everyone for the replies..
just to add i dont have scars as pits or holes but just blemishes on the surface of the skin that are red and brown...
i got an acne facial yesterday..do they help?? for now my skin looks more red and irritated.

Which ever treatment you decide to go with make sure to wear SPF. For me, Estee Lauder Nighttime Repair serum works wonders.

Well, the reason why advice for "scars" was given is because you had mentioned "scars" in your original post. There's a difference between scars and blemishes (spots). The former is much harder to treat.

As for spots...red ones are harder to treat....there's greater amount of inflammation...and they take the longest time to fade away. Don't pick at them. A bleaching agent such as hydroquinone (prescription) strength will fade the spots. Retinol worked for me..in helping fade out several of my stubborn spots. Microderm and peels can help as well..laser helped with my red spots too. You can buy some of these things...but the problem is that the concentration is at a lower level in commerical products...and also the main ingredient (be it retinol, glycolic acid, lactic acid, etc) is like towards the middle or end of the ingredient list..so it's not that strong. If this is your own wedding...I still suggest seeing a derm.