What kind of personalities are acknowledged in different cultures?
In Pakistan, the most common action to acknowledge someone is to name a street, road or building after that person’s name. As the discussion will continue in this thread, we will see who are the most acknowledged people in Pakistan by this standard.
What are other ways in which a personality is acknowledged in other cultures?
Re: Acknowleding Personalities and their contribution
So far so, how many people got statutes in India for their contribution to society? famous statues?
many, mostly politicians through their political contribution:
Politicians:
Gandhii Jii
Nehru Jii
Indira Gandhi
Rajiv Gandhi
Lala Lajpat Rai
Shivaji
Neta Subhash Chandra Bose
Lal Bahadur Shastri
Abulk Kalam Azad
etc
Humanitarians:
Mother Teresa
Poets:
Rabindra Nath Tagore
Writers:**
Prem Chand
many more in almost all walks of life
who from film industry?
Its interesting that a Muslim like Molana Azad got a statue in India. Though, in Iran there are statues of Saadi, etc and in Afghanistan, they probably have statues of Ghaznavi, we don't see statues in Pakistan.
there are other Muslims who got their statues as well.
from film industry, i think it's Baba Saheb Phalke's statue. there is an annual filmfare award in his name. he was one of the pioneers of Indian Cinema.
Good thread!
In Europe its making monuments, be it statues buildings as well. More common is charities after the deceased or in their name
You mean trusts?
Another way in respect of poets is to establish a Chair / department for research on their works. I think we got Iqbal chair, Shah Latif chair and Ghalib chair in our universities, but don't know whether there are chairs in the name of sufi poets of Punjab.
Oh I remember train servces were also named behind some sufi poets like Khatak mail (named after Khushaal Khan Khatak of KPK) and Bahoo express (named after Sultan Bahoo).
In India, there are more statues of Ambedkar than Gandhi :D
and every other policy is named after Nehru-Gandhi dynasty :)
specially in Lucknow and across UP when Mayawati was the CM...look at the Ambedkar Park in Lucknow which has more Ambedkar and elephant statues than the visitors. lol
i had heard two years ago that Akhilesh would remove those statues of elephants...what happened to the rumor?
specially in Lucknow and across UP when Mayawati was the CM...look at the Ambedkar Park in Lucknow which has more Ambedkar and elephant statues than the visitors. lol
i had heard two years ago that Akhilesh would remove those statues of elephants...what happened to the rumor?
why elephants? Ganesh?
oh I remember I got a travelogue written by a Sindhi writer about India. The name of the book is 'Mandaran, Mujassaman aen Muhabbatun jo Mulk - Mandiron, Mujassimon aur Muhabbaton ka Mulk'. I would have shared the title of book, but it contains an explicit statue from Ajanta probably. :)
That is why I am in love with UP it is unique state with special type of people. Where mandir Masjid is much bigger issue than clean water :D, it is law less state where police decides cases on the basis of caste affiliation of the state government
why elephants? Ganesh?
oh I remember I got a travelogue written by a Sindhi writer about India. The name of the book is 'Mandaran, Mujassaman aen Muhabbatun jo Mulk - Mandiron, Mujassimon aur Muhabbaton ka Mulk'. I would have shared the title of book, but it contains an explicit statue from Ajanta probably. :)
Elephant is simply of Buddha's birth. After ambedkar, many dalit changed their religion to Buddhism, ambedkar never liked Islam so he chose Buddhism and therefore every other dalit is buddhist though it doesn't change their status even marginally
i dunno about the elephants as to why they have so many of them in the park. it has nothing to do with GaNResha. Kaur may be able to through more light.
there are 62 white sandstone elephant statues, costing Rs.38 Crores, in Ambedkar Park, Lucknow…it’s a huge park. The park cost taxpayers a huge sum…Rs. 7 Billion.
the planes landing at Lucknow Airport fly very low just next to the park which gives the passengers a good aerial view of the park.
That is why I am in love with UP it is unique state with special type of people. Where mandir Masjid is much bigger issue than clean water :D, it is law less state where police decides cases on the basis of caste affiliation of the state government
Elephant is simply of Buddha's birth. After ambedkar, many dalit changed their religion to Buddhism, ambedkar never liked Islam so he chose Buddhism and therefore every other dalit is buddhist though it doesn't change their status even marginally
good info. i didn't know that some of the Dalits follow Budhism. may be in and around Mirzapur and Budh Gaya area?
UP mahaan hai lol...UP, the land of Prime Ministers, where life exists as it existed a hundred years ago...
A leading philanthropist of Lahore who symbolised its cosmopolitan past was Sir Ganga Ram](Daily Jang: Urdu News - Latest Breaking News update Pakistan - jang.com.pk). Sir Ram’s statue was also on the Mall road – a befitting tribute to a man whose landmarks still survive in Lahore. What happened to this statue has been narrated by Saadat Hassan Manto](Amazon.com: Mottled Dawn; Fifty Sketches and Stories of Partition (English and Urdu Edition): 9780140272123: Saadat Hasan Manto, Khalid Hassan: Books), the celebrated Urdu short story writer, in one of his short stories on the frenzy of communal riots of 1947. Manto writes that an inflamed mob in Lahore, after attacking a Hindu mohalla, ‘turned to attacking the statue of Sir Ganga Ram, the Hindu philanthropist. They first pelted the statue with stones; then smothered its face with coal tar. Then a man made a garland of old shoes climbed up to put it round the neck of the statue. The police arrived and opened fire. Among the injured were the fellow with the garland of old shoes. As he fell, the mob shouted: “Let us rush him to Sir Ganga Ram Hospital.” How very ironic!
good info. i didn't know that some of the Dalits follow Budhism. may be in and around Mirzapur and Budh Gaya area?
UP mahaan hai lol...UP, the land of Prime Ministers, where life exists as it existed a hundred years ago...
..well, i LOVE my UP just like you love! :)
To me UP represent chaos that we have withing, the lawlessness of UP represents lawlessness that I have with in myself. I feel one with me, kanpur still is home to me, like hyderabad is my childhood. UP is what India is, only thing is, in UP, you cannot hide because everyone is looking at it. And all paradoxes, rich and poor, intellectual and idiot. Humour and Sadness coexisting side by side and in harmony. It is state of most zabardast people to most phissadi types :)
Even Tajmahal is in the city which is possibly dirtiest in the region :)
After him, we had british and then democracy, no despot to spend public fund arbitrarily :)
In case of Pakistan, funds can easily be utilised to buy a necklace and a palace in Surrey. I don't know why you Indians didn't get this idea from Pakistani politicians. :)