¬* Acha Poochna Tha*¬

I wanted to assk something and its troubling me.

Thanx in advance ..

So what it is that sometimes out of the blue, my laptop just restarts automatically and and says something about ‘‘dumping cache memory or something’’

what is this all about .. am like doing my important work and it just restarts ..laptop is opperating in Windows Vista Premium . if this helps ..

so why is this .. anyone help.. what i can do.?

:slight_smile:

Re: ¬* Acha Poochna Tha*¬

I think that’s often referred to as the “Bluescreen of death”. Could be for various reasons.

Here’s an answer someone provided on yahoo answers:

PS: Often, if you just restart a couple of times, it will go away. Or you might need to repair your windows using the CD/DVD.

^^ Thanx Alot bro ..

Yea am gonna check this out now ..and apply the settings as directe above. will let ya know if this is resolved . :)

You're welcome. Do update, and share if it worked or not, or if you had to find another solution.

Bro, I did all the above , lekin no luck cos the same thing happend just now…

i dunno mayb can be any thing to do with it being Vista operated cos i ve been hearing that vista has some problms :hmmm:

Do let us know if you come up with something ..Thanx

hmm interesting. Just wondering, is your vista updated to SP1/SP2?

Also, just try rebooting a few times. I would probably think of doing reinstall. I've had the blue screen come up a couple of times here and there too, but when it reboot, it usually goes through. I did have to repair the windows/restore once because reboot just wouldn't fix the problem.

I'll try and find out more, inshaAllah.

Its called a Blue screen. :hehe:

It happens when you have you have numbered amount of high risk cashe which could be a threat to your computer later on. Those cashes can pass a worm or set a trojan in to your windows root directory called System32. And then, well…a worm would be placed in your temp folder, multiplies as soon as it gets in your computer and allows other high risk cashes such as spyware to enter so your computer would run really slow. Trojan would just set a timer as soon as it gets in System32 file and will delete it at certain time and date (you cant see these files even in temp file)

To avoid this from happening? Do the following.

Clean your Computer’s hard drive.

I use CCleaner to do this.

CCleaner - Home

and run a virus scan. AVG is one of the freeware you can download from the net.

I also use defraggler so I would know that the memory which looks empty to you isnt really empty. :slight_smile:

Then I use Cleaner again and delete the unecessary files from my computer and run a virus scan again. Its kinda long process I usually do on the weekend ever since I got the warning from rogers. :frowning:

A blue screen would also show up if you are using too many programs at once. It will just stop working and dumps your physical memory (virtual memory) and restore your computer from the last upgrade you’ve made.

EDIT: It happens alot ever since vista home edition >.<

^^ Thanx bruv .. i ll look into this, and see what happens ..

but you said that clear my hard drive . what am i supposed to do with all the important stuff i have, and if i transfer it to another stor point like external hard drive.. and after the whole process i would restore all my stuff back on to the laptop hard drive..so what if something wrong in my hard drive files ..

isnt there another way withour getting rid of my files .. like some sorta program that just cleans my files on hard drive and if they are infected ..they be sorted ..

then i d do the whole above process which you said…

ps. i dunt know much about computers ..so tell me something easy to do ..

Teggy: What is SP1 or SP2? All i know is that its a Sony Vaio NS series - NS10L, and it has windows vista home premiuim factory installed and i bought this pre installed in the first week of january this year, i ve not updated or anything to anything else :hmmm:

SP1 = Service Pack 1
SP2 = Service Pack 2 which is greater then service pack 1. :@:

Aor meray bhai I didnt ask you to format your hard drive :hehe: I asked you to clean it.

In other words in my previous post there is a link which you can click on, go to the site, download the cleaner, install it on your computer and then run it!. Then after that? Run a virus scan :@:

Means the cashes will be gone low / higher risks and your files will be safe. Nothing will happen to them :@:

EDIT: Do not format your hard drive :aj:

^^ ok bruvva am gonna do that .. thanxxxoo yaar .. i got scared k if i had to format my drive ..shukar hai bach giaa .. issi liye to kaha tha .. i dunt know much about comps .:)

If you need futher help bro? I am one PM away :)

Sometimes it is caused by bad battery too. Try taking out the battery and run on electric power for a while and see if that helps.

oh wow relly ?? errm i think this just may be the problem ..cos when i hav my battery inserted and also plugged in mains so its recharging .. it reboots ..but if i just leave it on mains ..it doesnt happen ..well not so far ..

oh and when i rechrge my battery , for some reason it only recharges upto 80% .. so what should i do .. 90% of the time i run my laptopn on mains anyway .. so how could have the battery messed up, cos when the batterry used to get 100% i used to unplug from main power straight away so i cudnt have burnt the battery by over charging it .. aur even now when it stops charging at 80% i unlplug staright awy ..and run it on battery on rare occations like if i have no bijli or something .. even now am on mains ..

what can i do now .. do i need to bu a new battery or cud it still be the software or windows what ever ?

oh btw, this laptop i bought brand new .. on 10th jan 2009 ..so how cud have this happend to the battery so quick even with me taking all the precautions by not over charging :hmmm:
Thank you Mirch bhai :slight_smile:

my guess is

its ur RAM . . .
could be windows or hard drive ... . but money is on RAM

contact ur vendor as u still got warranty
its new laptop so cant be hardrive cleaning issue but could be windows erroe, try re installing if u can. Other wise contact the vendor.