Accessing home computer remotely

i’m connected to a dsl line. stable ip. win xp
how can i access my home computer remotely.

jazakAllah

Re: Accessing home computer remotely

(RDP) Remote Desktop Protocol or (VNC) Virtual network Computing

i know this much
i need desi instructions
means if u have used something urself.
most probably i'll be accessing my pc from a secure network.

Use VNC over SSH. Very secure (a little slow though). What ports allowed?

well from home pc all ports are open
how can i check available ports
netstat ?
i'll check tomorow from work and let u know

Ports should be open on both ends

abadli meri jaan come on yar dont you ppl have brian on mars
i said i'll check
and i also said if you know how to check ports let me know.
what stupid comments you giving. wasting both of ours time

Be nice!

I dont need any of your good or bad comment but what I have to say is go for…

netstat -an

to check for open ports

also configure your firewall!

Check this it may be helpful to you :

SUPERSCANNER DOWNLOAD SUPERSCANER
http://www.brismee.com/download/download.htm

or try google.

For SSH - u must have to have port 22 Open on ur home firewall.
For VNC - u must have port 5900 openned (unless u are running VNC on different port)

For VNC over SSH - u only need port 22 openned & then u create a Tunnel for port 5900 which of course should be openned for internal network of ur home.

Unless u are using Real Enterprise VNC (Encrypted one - not free) I'd recommend VNC over SSH (In Tunnel), its a little bit slow as mentioned above but its much secure.

Good luck.

You can use NMAP for port scan but I wont recommend running any scanner in office environment because it can alert ur Network guys & they may come & hammer u for running port scanner.

5900?

RDP or VNC have their own limitations… you have to have someone logged into the computer so the services are started..

so I use www.logmein.com free account so even computer restarts, its service starts as long as you are on the login screen :slight_smile:

Both SSH and VNC can now run as services so nobody has to be logged in.
SSH can be run on any port you like (default is 22). On your home router/firewall you can just do a port-forward to your home computer and voila.

VNC is best

don’t worry abt vnc over ssh (it becomes very slow) … just use VNC on port 61343. good luck! choose a good password too.

to do that, check this screenshot

not totally related, but for those who don’t know how to bypass firewalls, check this out ; you can tunnel any traffic once you make a ssh tunnel to your box at home; configure ssh to listen on port 443 cuz its allowed outbound on firewalls.

VNC has no encryption, so if you use 61343 as the port, when you type in the password its hash is visible and then can be cracked without too much trouble. I'd much rather use RDP.

Mirza saab, VNC is the worst actually if you need proper security. Once in a while using it is ok but if you need a secure infrastructure don't use it.

use PCAnywhere

RDP is quick - much quicker that VNC. I dont know much about RDP security i.e. if its encrypted or not. If SSH cannot be used then best option can be to invest some money & buy Personal/Enterprise version of VNC (128 bit AES Encrypted Communication).

itni mehnat kaun karega high tech k ghar k pass. toronto mein thori koi sniffing karta hai..

also guys, check this for rdp security… i haven’t tried it yet
http://www.petri.co.il/securing_rdp_communications.htm
and

try this too :wink: info for the tool

Or you can just secure the whole thing via VPN, XP Pro let’s you setup a single incoming tunnel. Here are the instructions:
http://articles.techrepublic.com.com/5100-6346_11-5034594.html

Once connected to VPN you can use any darned thing you want.