Accents

Re: Accents

haha, yeah, that annoys me too. What can you do! =)

Throw a naan at them.

That's probably got more to do with us learning British pronunciation at school over here and those words not being used very often.

I hear accent reduction/neutralization training is quite big in India. Not sure if it has taken off in Pakistan too. Not a fan. It's all a bit superficial in my opinion. It's like skin lightening - some say brown skin isn't as appealing as gori chitti skin and you should appear lighter to look beautiful. In the same way, desi accent isn't the most alluring I know but it is what it is. People shouldn't be expected to lose their accents. It shouldn't be a deal breaker unless you couldn't even comprehend each other or if there were fluency issues. I work with Europeans, Asians and South Indians with really strong accents of their own, sometimes during conferences I even have difficulty understanding them, but this is something that you just get so used to when you live in a diverse society, it's not a big deal.

:cb:
But that would be a waste of the naan.

LOL, funny because my siblings and i were all born in the US and speak urdu, english and punjabi fluently with all the right accents for each language.

my hubby and his elder sister both migrated to the US right after finishing high school in Pakistan and both dont have the desi accent. (theyve been here over 10 years). they speak english very fluently and well, in fact i didnt know my husband was a FOB when i first met him because his english was so good and there was no accent :).

my younger SIL migrated to the US right after finishing high school in Pakistan as well. she went to all english and beaconhouse schools, grew up wearing jeans and tshirts in Lahore (shes always been so anti shalwar kameez), only listens to english music, has really great grammar (better than her siblings), lived in the midwest for college with ALL goray for 6 years and still has such a STRONG, STRONG accent! LOL.

Actually knew a desi guy with a southern accent. Not a horrendous Paula Deen southern accent but a sweet Tennessee one. It was hot :halo:

forget accents, deep voices :jano:

^same here!:wub:

and there are some in Pakistan who have never been abroad but speak with their friends in English with an American accent :biggthumb:

Italians have the funniest accent, they sound like talking in Punjabi when they speak English.

Lol true.

For the last time, Peyton Manning went to Tennessee but he is not Desi!

puberty squeak How *you *(both) doin’?

Would you say it was superficial if the situation was reversed and UK or US-born kids thought it no big deal to speak their parents' languages in blatantly western accents? People often have a problem with those who neutralise their accents when they move to the west but when it comes to the opposite situation it's obviously usually preferred to neutralise their accents to sound more desi..

fobby accent museebat hai.. and then when they make an effort to reduce it, they are called fake. Jeeyein tou kaisay jeeyein :konfused:

My friend's dad is one of the most intelligent, well spoken and articulate people I have ever met.

He has a very thick arab accent.

Having a clean accent doesn't make you a better or worse person. Try focus on what they speak rather than how they speak.

Each to their own though, if its important to you, its important to you.

i had no idea paheli00 was a fob. oh jeez. :\

:snooty:

My dad came here when he was 20 or so...he's now retired. Still has the accent. I actually don't mind accents.

In my opinion, Pakistani accent is not too bad. But Indian accent sounds really badly. Especially how they (mostly Bombay folks) say "yea" at the end of every sentence. The same way some people use "yaar" in every sentence.

I actually don't mind accents so much. I do mind people who use too much slang and think it makes them cool.

This is the point. IMO, we need not work hard at changing our accent. Over time, in a diffusive and NATURAL process, we will start pronouncing certain words differently and naturally. As long as what we say is clear, accent can be natural. It is beautiful to hear various accents.