Abu Ala Syed al-Maududi

bad example ....
nothing in maududi's kilafat aur malookiat was an original argument infact whatever maududi wrote he referenced earlier from the well respected books of history, rijal and hadith written by scholars the "dust in the nostrils of whose horses is superior to" people like taqi usmani who made a pitiful attempt to counter his book.

so if i put togather a article from collecting the references from NEJM , JAMA , Harrison's etc that article is still as valid as that put togather by a physician, ( thats analagous to essentially what maududi did)
however I cannot do an indepenedent medicial research unless i am qualified to do so as a physician ( thats what maududi didnt do)

Re: Abu Ala Syed al-Maududi

not a traditional scholar....

whatever the case his works are very much in line with traditional and orthodox islam
same argument was used against qutub shaheed by his enemies....when he criticized the actions of some sahaba he was also called khariji etc

ibn taymiyyah who is considered such a "traditional " scholar today by many of the pseudo-salafis was in his times also considered a very radical scholar ( btw i dont criticize everything about him only hate him for his opposition to the iraqi jurists )

that being said his criticism is a far cry from the general criticism of the vast majority of sahaba as done by 12ers
nor does he criticize the first 2 caliphs for whom the 12ers reserve most of their venom

good start nontheless.

^ thats the part u dont understand or dont want to understand
just because someone is criticizing the ummayyad kin of uthman , his policies or denouncing the revolts in the caliphate of Ali that DOES NOT make them ANY closer to ithna ashari ideology ....these things have been written by sunni orthodox scholars ( who did not even have the slightest shia inclination)....nor does admitting these things ( which are widely accepted facts) puts people on a slippery path to accepting mainstream ithna ashari beliefs like vast majority of sahaba becoming apostates or fake stories that umar kicked a preganat fatima to death.

^i never said he became closer to the Shias. It was his critics who called him that.
And its a better idea to leave Umar b Khattab out of this.

I was searching online about peoples comment on his book since I just got done reading it today. Pagluu and Das Reich...guys you have been slugging it out for decade...kudos to both of you for the awesome stamina

Das meray bhai...tumhari 12ers say kya dushmani hai...if you agree with Maududi then he had called Aisha, Talha, Zubair and Muwaiya - Baghi as per Islamic law, making them all wajib-ul-qatl though he didn't spell out the punishment.

What he had to say about Muwaiya and Yazid makes an interesting read. I love the part where he calls Muwaiya "Taliqa", then quotes Hasan Basri that Muwayia did 4 things which if any Muslim does 1 of it is dangerous, this too after listing a zillion wrong things with Muwayia and then concludes by saying that we cannot call him a bad boy cause he was a sahabi.

[note]

making such statements about sunni religion being created by innovator is violation of rule 3

[/note]

^ yes brother, been here since my school days when i was 13 or 14 year old! :aliyish:

Icon bhai this is not what I am saying, this is what Maududi saheb has essentially said and let me clarify one more thing.

The term Ahl-e-Sunnat wal Jamaat, it wasn't coined during Khilafat-e-rashida, it was coined during Mawiya's time when he was fighting against Imam Ali (AS), so he may not be the founder of the religion (which can be debated) but the founder of the b*****ng at least, which is more or less a historical fact.

My comment on Maududi saheb is that he had the courage to say things as they were,

but either not enough courage to draw the correct conclusions or he left it like that so people can see the obvious contrast in the argument and conclusion and draw their own.

Either ways, now I know why Deobandis have such a love/hate relationship with him.

I inquired about the origins of the term Ahl al-Sunnah al Jamaat here for research purpose but got no response here http://www.paklinks.com/gs/religion-scripture/307335-origins-term-ahl-al-sunnah-al-jamaah.html

1- I know that the term Ahle-Sunnah was not coined during Khilafat-e-Rashida, nor was it coined during time of Amir Muawiya, during his time, the terms used were Shian-e-Ali and Shian-e-Uthman and there was a third group of people who choose to stay away from all the fights.

2- You are putting up a false claim that is insulting to sunnis, thats a violation.

3- I have read Khilafat-o-mulookiyyat, couple of years back and it does not have a single new thing that is not contained in any other comtemporary book on history of ISlam. Pick up any book on Islamic hostory from peopel like Ghulam Rasool and it essentially has same content. Since we understand teh love/hate relationship you have with certain personalities, we understand the conclusions you draw from it.

I dont think it should be insulting to sunnis and let me answer why,

I have been reading up on history, religion and i look at both sides of the argument.

There are many sunnats that are being followed

[LIST=1]
1. Sunnat-e-Mohammadi
1. Sunnat-e-Shaikhan
1. Sunnat-e-muwayia/yazid etc

[/LIST]
Any one following 1, will not be insulted because he will be a true sunni.

Anyone following 2 and 3 should be since they have a lot of feel bad about being exposed.

The shaikhan were never know to be specialist in Fiqh. that They may have been worldly wise but they needed counsel, which Ali provided many a times.

I have seen a number of traditions in bukari about the fact Umer where

• He was publicly challenged by people on making mistakes,(like setting the limit on Mehr) some he corrected.
  • He is said to ban a number of things which were allowed during the time of Prophet like Muta (of Hajj and Women)
  • He went against the injuctions of Quran (in case of divorce)
  • Please read history and the point where the khilafat was decided between Usman and Ali was with the question will you follow the sunnat of Mohammad (SAW) and Shaikhan, Ali said I will only follow the sunnat of Mohammad (SAW) and Usman gladly accepted that he will follow both and won the caliphate.

It just reaffirms that there was a difference between the way of the Prophet (SAW) and the way of sheikhan or Ali would have no objection to following them.

Subsequently Umayads broke all barriers in innovation and I dont need to repeat any of them since you have read it all.

I have received infraction but I only quoted the great man himself when I wrote what I wrote. Please ban me for life, if I have stated anything factually incorrect based on Ahl-e-sunnat resources.

Sahih Bukhari: Volume 3, Book 32, Number 227: * Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah's Apostle said, "Whoever prayed at night the whole month of Ramadan out of sincere Faith and hoping for a reward from Allah, then all his previous sins will be forgiven." Ibn Shihab (a sub-narrator) said, "Allah's Apostle died and the people continued observing that (i.e. Nawafil offered individually, not in congregation), and it remained as it was during the Caliphate of Abu Bakr and in the early days of 'Umar's Caliphate." 'Abdur Rahman bin 'Abdul Qari said, "I went out in the company of 'Umar bin Al-Khattab one night in Ramadan to the mosque and found the people praying in different groups. A man praying alone or a man praying with a little group behind him. So, 'Umar said, 'In my opinion I would better collect these (people) under the leadership of one Qari (Reciter) (i.e. let them pray in congregation!)'. So, he made up his mind to congregate them behind Ubai bin Ka'b. Then on another night I went again in his company and the people were praying behind their reciter.
* On that, 'Umar remarked, 'What an excellent Bid'a (i.e. innovation in religion) this is**; but the prayer which they do not perform, but sleep at its time is better than the one they are offering.' He meant the prayer in the last part of the night. (In those days) people used to pray in the early part of the night."

^ Peace righteous

What has this post of yours to do with the topic of the thread? If you have a problem with Sayyiduna Umar (RA) the Second Khaliph of Islam then firstly may Allah (SWT) help you and secondly keep it away from this forum because we do not welcome Sahabah bashing.

There are plenty of narrations of the grandeur of this pious and noble companion and even debating this issue with you is an insult to him and to the vast knowledge available about his greatness that will passify your whimsical claims.

Psyah; If the narrations listing his positive attributes are allowed then why aren't the ones that prove otherwise given they are from the same sources? Why are you making it sound like he is above criticizm?

Peace brother Psyah

My intentions are not malicious, but I have questions that my feeble mind fails to comprehend.

As per Ahle-sunnats books and traditions, Prophet (SAW) was questioned, criticized and corrected by certain sahabas like in the incidents of palm tree pollination, the revelation of the verse referring to the issue of hijab, the case of accepting fidya from the captives seized after the Battle of Badr, etc

If the prophet (saw) could be questioned and corrected then why are the Sahaba above the questioning.

Secondly the belief that all sahaba were just is also beyond my comprehension even when Sahih Bukhari states

Volume 8, Book 76, Number 578:
Narrated 'Abdullah:

The Prophet said, "I am your predecessor at the Lake-Fount." 'Abdullah added: The Prophet said, "I am your predecessor at the Lake-Fount, and some of you will be brought in front of me till I will see them and then they will be taken away from me and I will say, 'O Lord, my companions!' It will be said, 'You do not know what they did after you had left.'