okay a bit of background. i always wanted to be a doctor. always always. like snce i was six. was motivated as all hell. consequently my whole life i got nothing but As.
then we moved. i lost a year. so thats a problem i have.
we came back to pakistan. i did my O levels in sciences. as in..physics chem math bio english ..and baqi urdu pakstudies and islamiyat which arent important. secured all As in cambridge board examinations
then did my A levels in four subjects. just got results this august. gave them in math bio physics and chemistry. got three As and a B.
so wheres the problem? gave the agha khan exam. didnt make it. gave the MCAT, didnt make it. got like a 79.145 in the overall..list thing. and people with 79.79 or something were on the list..the successful list. there i basically died cos it was fsc based. and i had three months to prepare out of which i barely used two but even so.
the problem right now is. no offers from med colleges. i hold offers from kings college, aberdeen, greenwich, imperial and…one other im forgetting. i dont know if i shud take them up. ive given SAT 1in may 2003 and gotten 1410. havent given SAT2. will if anyone tells me what to do.SAT 1 will last till may 2005. phir invalid.
thinking of applying to america. wondering in what. i need scholarships if i go there..dont want to burden my dad tho we can afford it.
I need advice and fast. Im good at physics and math. so ..i can go into finance. U all tell me. I have no idea. i need ideas. And fast. deadlines applications admissions. tell me what to do and when to do it.
times running out. if u are in a Uk/US uni..tell me how to get in. my chances. when to try. i want to try for spring semester..tell me what to do. and when to do it.
I’m not sure about the US system but if you’re gonna be taking MCAT or SAT’s in April/August 2005, what year would your possible admission be, Jan 2006?
In the UK, the deadline for medical/dentistry courses is 15th October, I think but I’m not sure if the date’s the same for International Students. So although the courses starting Sept 2004 have already begun, you still have the chance of applying for entry into next year, i.e. September 2005. If medicine is really what you want to do, a ‘year out’ shouldn’t be such a big problem. I know of some people who couldn’t get into medicine in the first instance so applied for and got into med courses after completing a 3 year BSc. I guess it’s about how much you really want something and what you would do to achieve it. Don’t be put off by a year (or just a couple of months in reality). In the meantime, get loads of voluntary experience.
The other thing is, you said you already hold offers from King’s, Imperial etc. I’m assuming they’re for courses starting in 2004. You have great grades with offers from great Uni’s so don’t settle for second best, talk directly to the Medical Admission tutors in those Uni’s, tell them you already hold offers for a course at the Uni but that you really want to do Medicine and if they could consider you for entry into the course for next year, Sept 2005. The benefit of speaking directly to a medical admission tutor is invaluable. Ring up and ask for a name and e-mail if you have to. Obviously apart from the year, the other main factor you’d have to consider would be costs. For the purpose of fees you’d be an International Student and have to pay accordingly.
If you want to stay in Pakistan, I’m sure you can apply next year too. Just make sure you take time to make what you feel the right decision for you. I know it’s probably of no help to you right now, but keep the perspective and look at the bigger picture, it’s not the end of the world pet.
Demesne,
Since you are in Pakistan, there are alot of private medical schools in Pakistan. I know that there are a couple in Abbottabad where i am originally from. And as far as i know some of them are pretty good. Other than that, if you plan to come to US and do it here, i dont know what A level counts as. But you will have to do 4 years of BS(in any subject) then take MCAT here and then go into med school. Another option can be other medschools in Europe. I know there are a few in Eastern European countries like in Poland and stuff, that are not that expensive and get you an MD degree.
I am a 4th year medstudent in NY right now. If you want to know about US medschools i can help u in that.
Well I am very very old. I am 27. I dont know about the MCAT scores you are posting, i guess they are from Pakistan. But i wasted a year too after doing my high school in Pakistan and comming to US.
Why dont you think about applying to some private medical schools in Pakistan. I dont think that they have too many requirements. Just a side note, your grades seem to be very good; its sad that they base everything on one MCAT exam. Its the same thing in US as well.
sigh yes its sad abt mcat. stupid thing. and im sooooooooooo disheartened by medicine abh that its insane.
and is it worth it? kya faida itna pagal honay ka..for just an mbbs? i didnt just want that..i wanted a residency also..is tarheh lag jaon to ill be at the study table with my kids at 31
When i was doing the first two years of basic sciences, it didnt seem worth it. But as soon as you start your 3rd year and get some patient contact, trust me its worth it. It seems hard, but its not. You have only one life, make sure you get what you want out of it. Dont ever give up or feel disheareted.Allama Iqbal says:
Baad-e-Mukhalif say na ghabra ai shaheen
Yeh to chalti hai tujhey uncha uranay kay liye
Inshallah you will be a doctor. Just keep alll your options open. Look at all the options you have and then try everywhere.Even if that means you waste one year. its not a big deal. But if yu need any information(regarding US med schools or even a little about going to europe/carrinean islands; sorry i dont know anything about British system), i will me more than happy to help you out.