Abdul Razzaq verdict

There were eyebrows raised when he was chosen ahead of Rana (who was reported unfit later on). Most of the critics were concerned about the defensive vibes his inclusion generated.

But in second test he bowled really well on an unrespnsive pitch. In on goign third, his batting bailed us out of trouble with Kamran and today his bowling spell before lunch was just brilliant. He reminded me of the bowling all rounder Razzaq before elbow injury affected his pace and bowling. He troubled all Ganguly, Yuvraj and Dhoni on an increasingly dry pitch. Great sight was it.

So far he has repaid the confidence Bob and Inzi showed in him. Hope his form keeps on improving.

What do you think?

Re: Abdul Razzaq verdict

More importantly, with Asif bowling so well, and Razzaq increasingly coming back to his old rhythm, what is Rana Naveed thinking now?

Put another way, Pakistan is again spoiled for choices.

I think the only reason beside his batting ability he was picked up was simplicity in his bowling, he keeps it simple off stump, just out side more often than not, Rana on the other hand is more regular bowler so he thinbks and acts like more regular bowlers, so he is more likely of experimenting with his bowling and may be give an Odd boundry ball an over trying for some magic delievery each over and releasing the pressure. Consistency is the only reason i think Razaaq's bowling was preferred over Rana's.

Nikema if youre talking about getting hit for runs, Razzak is just as guilty as Rana. They both get tonked around the ground for plenty.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Nik is pretty much on the money. Plus Razzaq strengthens the batting a lot, by providing a buffer between the middle order and Akmal. A valve...

"... buffer between the middle order and Akmal" ??
You must be kiddin'

LoL! :hehe:

Actually, I dont think Razzaq does not or cannot think like a bowler. He has been quite a habitual wicket taker in the past.

I partially agree with other argument that he is there because he keeps ball in one corridor and doesnt spray. I tell you what,. With his pace ball can just sit up nicely to be spanked anywhere. On the other hand Rana can be quicker in the air and can utilize new ball better.

I agree with Faisal. We are spoiled for choices. Lets hope Razzaq’s old bowling skills are revived. He was really good with the ball last year (apart from England one dayers) and his test form can only improve from here.

Abdul Razzaq, ho giya paak, bari dare baad
aah ghi usey bowling karwani ik mudat baad

Rana ko drop kia kion ke ho giya wo bekaar
sami ko banaya pavillion main us ka dost yaar

Abdul Razzaq ki ho jai ghi ballay ballay agar karey swing moti moti
Phir Sehwag kya, Ganguly Kya, Dhoni Kya sub ki utar jai ghi jhanghiya dhoti

Sorry folks, that time of the day… :hehe:

Razzaq's wickets look clsel in each and every case batsman played stupid shot be it sachin ganguly or dhoni..... reading too much into his wicket columns will be foolish

^^ brother, if you know cricket, do rewind and watch the whole over of each dismissal and you will know what mind game Razzaq played with the batsman that made him play the wrong shot. It was very calculated trap for each of them. Same goes for Asif.

If Razzaq bowled like this in next two series than I will favour him once again. Let see, I, for last one year or so, have been against playing Razzaq in test cricket.

He does make batsmen play stupid shots, desn’t he. :stuck_out_tongue:

I must say, the moment Razzaq was chosen as a prime candidate to take part in the team, I was going heaven-bent on this selection, criticizing the selectors’ decision to the fullest (as evident from my posts from a couple of days ago). However, I am proud to experience a vast amount of change in his bowling, especially the dedication and commitment he has shown by peacefully bowling during crunch situations, and always being able of finding a niche or two in his bowling stamina and maintaining it to the extreme. He did produce several wicket-taking deliveries that must be praised (at least from my point of view), as he fully composed his strengths and selectively choose to exploit the weaknesses of the batters, one by one. The deck of cards that he was dealt with were commanding and imperative, and Razzaq satisfied his hunger by dealing with sophisticated measures under extreme circumstances. Even though there were more than a handful of deliveries that should have been bowled with more controlled line and length (no-balls are included in this instance), the will power and the passion that I saw in his eyes were striking familiar. Hopefully, we will continue to see this much-improved personality over the course of next few months, as we head out into the battlefield dangerzone, on course of :insha: winning next year’s World Cup.

One post sums it all up -

:slight_smile: