CANBERRA, Australia – Pakistan’s disgraced top nuclear scientist could be murdered to prevent him from revealing that he acted under government orders when selling nuclear secrets, former Prime Minister Benazir Bhutto said in an interview.
Abdul Qadeer Khan, long regarded as a national hero for helping Pakistan obtain a nuclear deterrent against India, confessed in February to transferring sensitive technology to North Korea, Iran and Libya for money.
“There is a concern among many of us that Dr. Khan may be killed to silence him and that it will be shown as a heart attack or something else,” Bhutto told Australian Broadcasting Corp. television.
Details of the interview were released to the media before it was aired later Monday.
Bhutto claimed Khan would never act alone. “I just know that wherever he went, he went under orders,” she said.
“I know he didn’t do it on his own. They played to his ego, but he didn’t go on his own. He went because he was ordered,” Bhutto said.
In his confession broadcast live throughout Pakistan, Khan claimed to have acted with his colleagues without the authority of the government.
benazir will prolly plan it just to make a point. Can we just revoke her citizenship. yip yap yip yap...even BBC interviewers look at her with mocking smiles when she goes on her typical megalomaniac rants
I have an idea - let's ask hindi people to land her a role in a hindi movie! She'll gladly and willingly go to Hind and the hindi people will gladly accept her to try to show their fantasy-based views of India Pakestan being "Same-same".
This way the thrash goes out (although we'll miss the laughter provided by her!) and the land of the pure can move a step forwards to really being the land of the pure. This "junk out" program can then be expanded to include other losers as well.
Even if Pakestan chucks out 50% of its population (assuming those who are like Benazir are that many in number), then it will only add 6.5% to Hind's population!!!
This way even trade between the two can prosper: give Hindi people fantasies about a bigger India (as one Hindi talked about "renunification" in this forum) and let them frolick and get rid of junk from Pakestan!
Everyone wins!
Can't we just send out an ISI agent to infiltrate her inner circle and give her the big slap across the face that she deserves? This kind of desperate attention-seeking is just utterly disgusting
She makes all other Pakis politicians look like a piece a crap. She is tons smarter than all of the dicktatotrs and Molvis combined. If you have problem with her expressing concerns about the country that she loves, you need to get a life. No wonder you have a frigging dictator every few years over your head. Dumb people deserve to be ruled by dictators.
Fraudz,,, there’s nothing in the constitution of Pakistan that forces one PM to follow/unfollow the legislatives initiatives of his/her predecessors. She gave more hope to women (read oppressed: if you get out of bigger towns of Pakistan, you may even get an idea). There are at least 20 empowerment centers that she opened in Multan Division alone, where I am a regular contributor and have vested interest in.
What the freak have dictators contributed to Pakistan that you so dearly admire?
And by the way, the sign of a real leader is not to follow his or her father, but to leave her own legacy. Both Bhuttos were the best thing ever to have happened to Pakistan.
Madhanee is talking out of his usual spot.. u know... his posterior. "Both Bhuttos were the best thing ever to have happened to Pakistan." right. First one halved the country, and the second one bankrupted the rest. Insha Allah, if a third one comes along, raha saha bhi jayay ga.
20 women empowerment centers? Wonderful. We have a Prime Minister of Pakistan who created 20 women empowerment centers, and that is her greatest legacy. And she didn't even bother repealing the notorious hudood ordinance. Not that she failed to repeal it, but that she didn't even try. Some women empowerment champion, we have. Tuff hai. Balkay, as they say in General Forum.. dur fitay mouN.
Faisal, why does your phat jati when it’s issues regarding women empowerment? Are women not equal in your eyes and dont deserve any better? I am totally disappointed.
Lame measures like opening 20 empowerment centers and having a Minister for Women affairs is just an eye-wash, which probably only impress pseudo-expat-intellectuals. Real measures would be to repeal anti-women laws, help resolve issues facing women who are thrown into jails (sometimes with their infant children) under hudood laws, make sure women are not paid less (sometimes half) the pay for doing same work as men, making women an equal partner in our national progress.
If Benazir had been such a champion of women rights.. she would have done some work of substance in that area. She spent all her time covering for her dearest hubby who looted Pakistan with both hands and both feet, and the little one too.
BB should be taken out of her misery. Why doesn't sher come back to Pakistan? I mean no point in making statements when your in SELF exile. Shes the master of deception along with NS and A.Hussein..I say place them in the same room and relive Dante's Inferno :)
well, may i ask the BIBI, if she and her husband hadnt been murdered for all these years, what makes her think that Abdul Qadeer will be....btw, i think the sins of the couples are greater than that of the scientist....
Madhanee. 1st bhutto was atleast a leader though his mightyness was greater than the country.
2nd one is just like street hippy who is just out of placed put in to this situation and position just because her father was Bhutto. She lacks a basic intelectual personality let alone a leader.
i had respected her when i just knew she was daughter of bhutto. and couldnt hate her more when I have seen her own personality and baseless views.
atleast her hate against musharraf and hunger for power is so great that she dont consider how will her stupid statements effects Pakistan not just musharraf. Musharraf will go now or later, Pakistan will stay.
May not be related, she was invited in a BBC newsnight with other panelists about GLobalisation.
i was disgusted by her comments.
Q. what are your view about globalistaion and corporate giant taking over local businesses. like macdonalds, starbucks etc etc.?
watch this guys her answer
"one cant stop globalization and at end of the day macdonlands tastes good and people like it."
the presenter was amazed by her answer, and asked her again, so macdonalds tastes good???
she said "yes! it does taste good"
I leave assesment of these answers to you. thats was the whole lines she spoke I havent picked 1 or 2. that was it.
now I think a 7 year old can answer well with logic and reasoning behind this.
i blame seasonal politiions for bringing her as leader of the nations twice, for their own agendas.