ABCD

JON MATSUMOTO

MOVIES
Immigrant Characters Rare, but Themes Are Universal

‘ABCD,’ about an East Indian American family, is one of several ethnic films hoping for a wider appeal.

By JON MATSUMOTO, SPECIAL TO THE TIMES

When Krutin Patel co-wrote the script to his film “ABCD” in 1993, the most prominent East Indian in American pop culture was probably Apu from the television series “The Simpsons.” Eight years later, that animated convenience store clerk is still the most recognizably East Indian character in American television and film.

The paucity of East Indian American representation in the popular arts in this country is a primary reason why Patel feels so passionately about his independently made drama, which captures the intriguing dynamics of an East Indian American family.

“ABCD,” which opens Friday at selected theaters, is one of a handful of new films involving rarely seen immigrant American characters and scenarios. “The Debut,” which is currently in theaters, and “American Adobo,” which is slated to open in Los Angeles on Jan. 23, are both small movies reflecting Philippine American life. A coming-of-age film about a Philippine American teenager, “The Debut” opened in Los Angeles in early October and has grossed more than $1 million. Home to large Philippine American populations, the Los Angeles and San Francisco areas have accounted for 90% of the film’s box-office success, according to its distributor, 5 Card Productions.

All three of these films deal in some way with ethnic minority immigrants and their children trying to reconcile traditional cultural values with very different American attitudes.

In “ABCD,” two grown children react differently to the expectations of their loving but very traditional Indian-born mother (Madhur Jaffrey). Older brother Raj (Faran Tahir) tries to conform to her wishes. He has a very respectable job as a Manhattan accountant and is engaged to a traditional Indian woman he does not entirely love. His younger sister Nina (Sheetal Sheth) rebels against conservative Indian mores by dating non-Indian men and by embracing a sexually promiscuous lifestyle.

Having emigrated from India to the U.S. at age 8, Patel is familiar with the difficulty of trying to straddle the line between two cultures. Like many men with Indian immigrant parents, he felt the pressure to land a white-collar job. To appease his parents’ concerns about his desire to enter the uncertain field of filmmaking, he majored in both film and finance at New York University. While he hopes to transition into filmmaking full time, Patel currently works in the marketing department at the Food Network in New York.

Ironically, previous screenings of the film have indicated that “ABCD” is unlikely to be fully embraced by the Indian American community, particularly by that segment which espouses conservative cultural values.

“The strongest reaction to the film has come, believe it or not, from non-Indian Americans,” remarks Patel, who also directed and co-produced “ABCD.” “There are those in the Indian American community who don’t want to see its dirty laundry hung in public. The portrayal of characters like Nina [makes them uncomfortable]. They want to keep their heads in the sand. In the Indian community the film will raise a few eyebrows. That’s a good thing because there will be debate about it. We tend to be a community that doesn’t communicate in regard to some of these harder issues.”

Nina is the film’s most complex character. She rebels against the sexual conservatism of her ethnic culture. Yet her contrary ways also keep her from finding the emotional intimacy in her romantic relationships that will lead to happiness. When she finds herself falling in love with an Indian man she reluctantly meets on a date arranged by her mother, she is disinclined to commit to the relationship.

Patel says the Nina character has sparked much debate during question-and-answer sessions following screenings of the film. Some Indian Americans have found her to be an inaccurate representation of their people. Others have found her to be very real.

Patel recalls, “One of my memories of showing this at a film festival was a British Indian girl telling me, ‘That’s my life up there on screen.’ I was like, ‘Wow, thank you.’ Nina really translated to her experience.”

“ABCD,” whose relatively polished look belies its modest $200,000 budget, couldn’t have been made without the financial help of Patel’s friends and relatives.

“After my parents came to America, they helped other Indian immigrants who subsequently came to this country,” explains Patel, who spent about five years raising money to make his film. “Some 30 years later I needed financial backing and they turned around and gave me that help.” Only a few of the Indian American investors asked to read the script.

Moviegoing is hugely popular in India. But Patel believes there would be little interest there in a serious-minded film about an Indian American family. Bollywood, as the Indian film industry is known, generally produces escapist melodramas.

Conversely, “American Adobo” was made partly with the Filipino audience in mind. It was funded largely by a major production company in the Philippines. Plus, the director and a number of the actors are stars in that country. The film will play in both the U.S. and the Philippines.

“American Adobo” was written and produced by Vincent R. Nebrida, who moved from the Philippines to America in 1980 as a young adult. “The Big Chill”-type ensemble comedy-drama is about a group of thirty- and fortysomething Philippine Americans living in New York.

Nebrida admits that his film’s overseas investors fear it may be too “sophisticated” to be a mass-market film in the Philippines. He describes “American Adobo” as a sometimes painfully authentic look into his culture’s psyche.

“Some Filipinos who have seen the film have told me that what some of the characters says is pretty bold,” says Nebrida. “They are things we say amongst ourselves, but you don’t hear them in a movie. For example, there is a line where a character says, ‘We Filipinos are so complacent and fatalistic.’ That’s a little painful, but I camouflage it in comedy.”

The hope is that films like “ABCD” and “American Adobo” will find audiences among independent film lovers and in specific minority communities in the increasingly multiethnic U.S. Patel says there are sizable Indian populations in most major American cities. “ABCD” is slated to open in 15 to 20 markets in North America.

Non-Indian audiences may not fully understand a few of the cultural subtleties of the film and some viewers may not empathize with Raj’s possible encounter with workplace discrimination. But Patel feels he has fashioned a movie that has mainstream allure.

“I always wanted to make sure that the movie appealed beyond Indian people,” Patel insists. “As we started showing it at festivals so many people would say to me, ‘I’m not Indian, but so much of this film I can relate to my own family.’ That’s when I realized that the film really has a universal appeal. My writing and directing style is going for a certain realism. If you make characters that are human and real they will transcend ethnic lines.”
http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/printedition/calendar/la-000094888nov29.story

Friday, November 30, 2001
Los Angles Times
MOVIE REVIEW
Immigrants, Their Children Raised in America, in 'ABCD'

By KEVIN THOMAS, Times Staff Writer

Theaters, showtimes
Times story
Write a review
More Times reviews

"ABCD" is an acronym for American-Born Confused Dashi (Indian), but there's nothing confused about this assured and fully realized first film by Krutin Patel, who was born in India in 1966 and emigrated to the U.S. with his parents at age 8. 
 The generation gap that opens between immigrant parents and their children, quickly caught up in American culture and values, has been explored many times, including by Indian American filmmakers, but "ABCD" possesses exceptional depth and perception. What's most refreshing is that it's not just another cultural-clash comedy, but a serious, even painfully probing work, though not without humor. Many people will identify with the personal and professional challenges facing Patel's people, obstacles intensified by the difficulty in forging a cross-cultural sense of identity. 
 Patel focuses on the widowed Anju Mehta (the peerless Madhur Jaffrey) and her two adult children, Raj (Faran Tahir) and Nina (Sheetal Sheth). Raj is a handsome, hard-working Manhattan accountant; Nina is a beautiful executive at a New York advertising agency. Anju lives in a spacious suburban New Jersey home. Her children visit frequently, but she's lonely and tends to live in the past. 
 A woman of elegance and charm, Anju has a strong, dominating personality, and Raj is a dutiful son, allowing himself to enter an engagement for a traditional arranged marriage to a lovely, traditional woman (Adriane Foriana Erdos) he respects and likes but does not love. 
 Anju pressures Raj by her assumption that he is certain to receive an expected promotion and Nina by fixing her up with suitable prospective bridegrooms, ticking off their academic backgrounds, professional status and annual income. Nina has reacted to her mother with rebellion, masking her fear of intimacy with promiscuity and rejecting her heritage as much as possible. For all her formidable, old-country ways Anju is nevertheless loved by her children, and the siblings have a close, mutually sustaining bond despite differences in temperament. 
 Nina is in denial over how much she's hurt by her ex-fiance's lack of courage in refusing to introduce her to his wealthy parents. The mother and father's expectations for him seem as high as Anju's are for her children--expectations that the former fiance Sam (Rex Young) assumes would preclude a wife of Indian descent. 
 But now Nina has by chance crossed paths with Sam 11/2 years after their breakup, just as she is being pursued by a childhood friend, Ashok (Aasif Mandvi), freshly arrived from India. Even if he's rushing things, Ashok, who is witty and has an idiosyncratic sense of humor, has made an impression on Nina, whose often rude veneer is actually pretty thin. 
 Meanwhile, just as things get tense at the office, Raj and Julie (Jennifer Dorr White), an attractive, direct and intelligent new co-worker, become taken with each other. Amid considerable, acute cultural observations, Patel deftly maneuvers both brother and sister into choices in their romantic lives--choices that will cause pain for themselves and others, regardless of the path they take. In short, Patel suggests that following one's heart may not be so simple after all--that there may not be a correct choice. 
 "ABCD" was made on a modest budget, but there's no sense of cost-cutting. It's polished without being slick; well-paced and graceful and brought alive by stellar performances led by Jaffrey, the unforgettable presence in numerous Merchant Ivory films, most notably "The Autobiography of a Princess" and the recent "Cotton Mary." Jaffrey, who is also the film's executive producer, has the knack of making Anju at once exasperating and lovable, amusing (intentionally and otherwise) and obtuse yet gallant. 
 Patel sees his people in the round, and Tahir reveals the reflective Raj as thoroughly as Sheth illuminates the tempestuous Nina. The splendid supporting cast includes David Ari as Brian, who finds himself in the uncomfortable position of being Raj's longtime best friend but also his competitor in the workplace. 

Unrated. Times guidelines: mature adult themes and situations, blunt language, some discreetly presented sexual situations

'ABCD' 
 Madhur Jaffrey: Anju 
 Faran Tahir: Raj 
 Sheetal Sheth: Nina 
 Aasif Mandvi: Ashok 

An Eros Entertainment and Laxmi Pictures presentation. Director Krutin Patel. Producers Naju Patel, Krutin Patel. Executive producer Madhur Jaffrey. Cinematographer Milton Kam. Editor Ravi Subramanian. Music Deirdre Broderick. Costumes Naju Patel. Production designer Deborah Schreier. Art directors Rodrigo Guerrero, Robert Serrini, Jennifer Galvelis. Running time: 1 hour, 42 minutes.

http://www.calendarlive.com/top/1,1419,L-LATimes-Calendar-X!ArticleDetail-47648,00.html
http://www.nytimes.com/2001/11/30/movies/30ABCD.html?ex=1007874000&en=8d28c5d5053b0c65&ei=5040&partner=MOREOVER
New York Times

MOVIE REVIEW | ‘ABCD’

Young, Professional and Conflicted

By STEPHEN HOLDEN

rutin Patel’s film “ABCD” (the initials stand for American-born confused desi), is the second movie released this year to explore the internal tug of war affecting upwardly mobile young Indian-Americans brought up in this country. Desi is a word for someone of Indian extraction living outside India, and “ABCD” a slang term of amused disparagement applied to those who deny (and sometimes attempt to cover up) their backgrounds.

The movie, which opens today at the Quad, is a better and more serious film than its forerunner, “American Desi,” a comedy that opened here last March. The earlier film lightly explored the internal conflicts besetting an obnoxiously arrogant student, contemptuous of his Indian background, who is brought up short when he goes away to college and finds himself assigned to share living space with other, more traditionally inclined Indian-Americans.

The central characters of “ABCD,” Nina (Sheetal Sheth) and her older brother Raj (Faran Tahir), are both successful young professionals (she works in advertising, he in accounting) and both struggling with similarly conflicting impulses. Nina, who is beautiful, volatile and sexually promiscuous, is by far the bigger rebel. In full revolt against the strait-laced Hindu culture of her widowed, devoutly religious mother, Anju (Madhur Jaffrey), Nina is a willful, hot-tempered piece of work who treats her boyfriends like dirt.

When Anju pressures Nina into accepting a blind date with Ashok (Aasif Mandvi), a handsome young Indian with whom she used to play as a child and who has recently arrived in the United States, Nina violates convention by instantly sleeping with him. Once he falls in love with her, she puts him through the wringer. Nina finds herself deeply torn when her former fiancé, a wealthy WASP yuppie who broke off their engagement because his parents disapproved, stages an aggressive campaign to win her back.

Meanwhile Raj, who is more respectful of tradition, has been engaged for two years to the patiently devoted Tejal (Adriane Forlana Erdos), a Hindu traditionalist. But underneath his apparent serenity, Raj seethes with discontent. And when Brian (David Ari), his best friend and office mate, receives a promotion Raj feels he deserved, his composure cracks, and he frets that racism might have been the cause. Raj’s self-doubt is made worse by his attraction to Brian’s replacement, Julia (Jennifer Dorr White), a crisply matter-of-fact American woman.

Unlike “American Desi,” “ABCD” doesn’t make light of its characters’ conflicts, nor does it try to resolve them with feel-good formulaic solutions. The screenplay plods a bit, especially in the scenes of Anju moping about her suburban New Jersey home and talking to her dead husband. But the movie is sensitively acted. In her flamboyantly emotional performance, Ms. Sheth dares to make her character insufferable much of the time. Mr. Tahir’s Raj conveys a dignified suffering that deepens throughout the film and becomes quite touching once the character decides to follow his heart.

Directed by Krutin Patel. Not rated, 105 minutes.

http://www.aintitcool.com/display.cgi?id=10903

ABCD review
Sometimes movies that you love come back a second time. When I first experienced ABCD it was in the middle of a film festival well over a year ago. It was in my top two films of that festival, and immediately I was forced into travel, the fall film reviews, a gal I was seeing… Life became too busy and I never seemed ready to write about it. It felt like a helpless battle.
You see, for most people, Krutin Patel’s ABCD is a Hindi film. A movie about the difficulties within the Hindi communities and outside it that those of a Hindu background that have adjusted and become ‘American’ are faced with. The prejudice, the hardships, the joys, the repressions and the joy and horror of liberty.
Frankly though, this isn’t a tale about just people from India now living in America… Sure a narrow minded log-line assistant could claim that, because they had no eyes and no soul to go with it. For me ABCD is a story about siblings and their mother. It is about being traditional or being who you are. It is about doing the expected versus what is right for you. It is about the chains of expectations and the what events one must live through before breaking them.
I haven’t seen this film in over a year now. It has been… seemingly forever. I remember clearly the themes, if not the dialogue. The sister… my god, Nina I believe her name was and the actress… Lovely beyond words. She had a wild streak in her eyes and in her character. She would do and be anything to not be Hindi. She was the ABCD of the story… the American Born Confused Deshi - my understanding of the word Deshi is that it means you come from an area or type of place within India originally. She argues with her traditional mother, who likes to think that she is still intact, that she is still pure… that she will marry a nice Indian man and have a good family. That this man will have a good providing job and that her securtiy is taken care of. Though he is the better man in her life… She reacts violently to that which her mother expects of her.
Now while Nina is the beauty, it is her brother Raj, who I adore beyond words in this film. Raj is a deeply textured and involving portrait of a man, who knows what his path is and sees it as a very flat and unchanging world. He is not happy. He works hard, does his job, finds friends being promoted above him… contemplates that racism is at work at all times. Believes he is being treated badly because of the color of his skin or the number of vowels in his last name. And when he finds out the flip side to it all his world crashes, and continues to crash and it is simply wonderful to watch this actor… Faran Tahir grab me in and hold me throughout. This man should be in ALOT of films. A LOT!
Did you see TWO FAMILY HOUSE or GOAT ON FIRE AND SMILING FISH because of me? For me this is like those films in terms of just being fantastically real and human and vital.
This is playing extremely limited across the country. Check your listings, see if your reviewers have reviewed it. But know that this film is witty, smart, intelligent, superbly acted and passionately told. Krutin Patel is hopefully going to make quite a few more films for us all to see. He is quite talented, and ABCD is sure enough evidence that he can tell a captivating story, that though I haven’t seen it in a year… It has not faded from my memory, it is here… in my noggin… How many last that long after a single viewing? Eh?

http://www.villagevoice.com/issues/0148/park.php

Border-Cross’d
by Ed Park

The didactic ABCD is less effective in dramatizing the choices facing second-generation Indian Americans than as a showcase for Sheetal Sheth’s terrific hair. Nina (Sheth) and Raj (Faran Tahir) are the chalk and cheese children of Anju (Madhur Jaffrey), a widow who longs for her native India. Superstitious and status-obsessed, Anju pesters her promiscuous daughter to marry an Indian man, and her accountant son to snag that big promotion. Yet Jaffrey’s Anju is sympathetic in her senescence, her musical delivery making her onscreen offspring sound constipated by contrast.

As the dogsbody number cruncher yoked to a traditional Indian fiancée, Tahir is shaky to start, but manages Raj’s eventual meltdown without resorting to hysterics (to blow off steam, he stands in a restroom stall and grimaces). More problematic is Sheth’s underwritten, flatly acted Nina. Driven to deracination, bed-hopping Nina lives in perpetual reaction to her mother; she delivers her mantra, “I don’t know,” with childish venom. Set up by mom with a fresh-off-the-plane, marriage-minded Ashok (Aasif Mandvi), she finds herself falling, as much for him as for his memories of her as a happy child in India.

ABCD
Directed by Krutin Patel
Written by Patel & James McManus
Eros
Opens November 30
ABCD
Date:
Mon 12/03Tue 12/04Wed 12/05Thu 12/06
ManhattanBrooklynQueensBronxStaten IslandNew JerseyNassauSuffolk

But the matrimonial pressure cooker rings false, based more on narrative convenience than cross-cultural reality; there’s no accounting for the shotgun speed with which she must decide between patient Ashok and her old flame, who channels all the whiteboy savoir faire of my man Rick Astley. (Then again, who could resist a getaway to WASP-signifying Nantucket, here embodied by a single dock?) The title acronym unfolds as “American-born confused desi”; ABCD’s abecedarian treatment of melting-pot anxieties proves as jumbled and bland as alphabet soup.

A nimbler approach to border crossing, German-born director Fatih Akin’s In July resembles a shaggier Serendipity, with a similar moony conflation of coincidence and destiny. Footloose Juli (Christiane Paul) hawks jewelry in Hamburg; as her namesake month begins, she offers a Mayan sun ring to her secret crush, a timid teacher-in-training named Daniel (Run Lola Run’s Moritz Bleibtreu), who buys not just the ring but her only-in-the-movies directive that his true love shall be known by the similar symbol she sports. That night Juli contrives to pass through his orbit, but he’s already found a Turkish lass with the proper astronomy, who then pips off to Istanbul for the summer. Pursuing by car, he picks up a hitchhiker—guess who.

Akin animates Juli’s rigged solar system by shuttling the predestined couple (both together and apart) through a back-roads Europe at the clip of roughly a country a day, with judicious visual punctuation: After a hot-wiring coup, Romania is abbreviated as a series of snapshots, the car undergoing a Platonic interrogation of form as parts are sold for scrap. A scene in which Juli introduces Daniel to pot seems bound for disaster, especially when they start singing “Blue Moon” in stoned and broken English. But just shy of the cringe threshold, their voices drop out, a little night music filters in, and the two levitate above the boat as it glides down the Danube: love as entirely bearable lightness of being.

Hey durango, you really like the movie, don’t you?

Absolutely bakwaas movie. No comparison with "American Desi", which was lots of fun and easy to follow through.

The characters in ABCD are complex, but the over all story is utterly predictable. The movie offers few light moments and practically no laughs. Its designed to be pessimistic. Acting is so-so, the heroine is ....

Well, one word of caution. Unlike "American Desi", which the whole family can sit and watch and enjoy, this movie is definitely rated. The heroine wastes no opportunity to jump in the bed with the first available guy, and the director had no desire to edit out even irrelevant gross scenes.

At the end of the movie, the only good news for me was that I didn't waste 9 bucks to watch it in the theatre, so my loss was 2 bucks (for DVD) and 1 hour 36 minutes of my precious time. What a drag! :-/

EFGH
IJKL
MNOP
QRST
UVWX
YZ…

God bless u all…

DerVaisH

muhabatein theen kabhi apne dermian kitni…
bicha gaye hai anna hum mein doorian kitni…
abhi to toota hai dil hi teri judai mein…
girein gi hum pe abhi aur bijlian kitni…

DerVaisH- thats what i was gonna say!!!!!!