ABC of wedding tayyariyan

:salam:
So lets say someone just got engaged.
Now how should she start her wedding tayyariyan?
Can someone state the ABC till Z of wedding tayyariyan?

I see a lot of threads in this section dealing with a number of wedding related issues but none that would tell me how a girl would start it all:bummer:

Re: ABC of wedding tayyariyan

Little Princess kis ki shadi ho rahi hai :faizy:

A bride should hire someone to plan her wedding and visit spas for some R&R! :D

kahin lp ki to nhi :blush:

ok....so the first thing you need to do is figure out your wedding dates. When that is set, then you should start research on:

Halls (for mehndi and shadi)
Makeup Artist - you might go for a few trials
Photographer - depending on where you live, you can look online to see photographers portfolios - meet 3 or 4, and go with the one you like the best that is in your price range
Videographer - check their websites for samples of their work, and meet 2 or 3 to discuss pricing - choose the one you like the best who is in your budget
Decorator - I have found that most decorators dont have good websites - go with word of mouth, or ask friends and family who have gotten married - if you see a wedding where you like the decor, ask the family who the decorator is - a good decorator will always design something new and unique just for you (your style and colours)
Mehndi lady - get trials, and ask around from former brides
Research Designers/Boutiques/Shops for your mehndi and shaadi outfits
DJ - ask around - ask for referrals

After this, the big stuff is taken care of, so now you should concentrate on the details of the events:
mehndi dances
mehndi plates
getting a dholki
scheduling the event (the itinerary - ex. at 7 the groom will make his entrance, right after the bride will at 7:30 we will do the rasms at 8:00 we will do dholki, etc.)
assigning an MC (someone who will talk and tell people what is happening)
planning the entrances, and songs

Shadi:
decide on entrance song
itinerary
MC

I cant think of anything else right now....but if anything else comes to mind, I will add to this list.

^great job!

I am in the middle of doing all this right now! I think first and most important thing is setting the date-- or month, bc the actual date really depends on what your venue has available that month. Setting the date took my family soooooooooo long!

Congratulations! Im getting married early next year, so Im also in the middle of planning. It took my parents and my fiances parents 4 months to actually settle a date! But we are on our way now! Every time I book another vendor, I get so excited, cause we are getting closer and closer!

Just make sure you hire the best photog within the budget. The 4-5 lakh dress or 60K make up wont look good if the photog. doesnt do a good job. All the decor, food and cake disappear right after the wedding and all you are left with are pictures. This is something that we desis give the least importance to...unfortunately, to regret later.

^^ Well said, I completely agree. I know that a lot of desi parents gawk at some of the prices of photographers these days, but I really believe that it's the most important thing worth splurging on for your wedding.