Aap Tya Talli Ho?

Obviously, I dont have any kids.

My little niece is still talking totli and while its sooooooooo cute for khala to hear her baby voice saying “mujhe tit tat (kit kat) tana hai” or “mujhe dum (gum) tana hai”…I am still worried for my little baba and want her to talk normally too.

She is only 3 years old.

Ideas on how to help her?

Re: Aap Tya Talli Ho?

Her speech is still developing. I wouldnt worry as of yet.

When she mispronounces a word, you simply repeat the correct word back to her, do not say 'no, its ...' Just say exactly what she has said to you, but using the correct term.

talk to her slowly and emphasize each word

Generally, it's not a big deal, most kids grow out of it. But, I've heard from a speech therapist friend that you should sit in front of a mirror with the child and say words and have them repeat it after you. The child sees how your lips move and then tries to mimic the movement.

BTW, I looooved when my nieces talked totli because I would talk back to them in the same way I thought it was really cute. My sisters on the other hand, not so much. They grumbled that I was reinforcing the wrong pronunciation with the kids.

^ I so know what you mean! I just go FIDAAAA over her totlapan!

I find myself talking right back to her in the same manner thinking she gets it this way. But she needs to learn how to talk properly.

So, with her having just turned 3 years old...its not late or anything is it for her?

Best way of helping kids is never to talk back in baby language with them. Many parents do that and hence baby talks in totlee language cause that is what he/she is learning.

At 3 years it’s not too late. The only thing is the family around her needs to reinforce in gentle/casual way the correct pronunciation of the words. So no more totla-ing by the khaala :nono:

Wait wait … step back a little .. first translate the title of this thread for us. What is she trying to say there? Is she asking you if you are an african american? :konfused:

Aap Kya Karrahi Ho?

Shooooooo cute (she says toot)

aww......so sweet......

don't worry....she will be fine.

my nieces and nephews didn't speak like this.....nor did my daughter........so I find it so adorable when I see a little one that does.

there have been a few memorable mispronounciations though........

my nephew's daughter:

Askm = "aka-pum"
takya = "katya"
Sufiyaan = "soothiyaan"
rasool-Allah = "rasool-lalalala-Allah"

Reha my daughter is 6 years old…she is still totli a bit. But I know my younger son was like that till he turned 7…so hope inshaAllah she’ll be ok too. just imagine her singing 'who took the cookies from the cookies jar" it changes into ‘who tut the tuties from the tuties daaar’ :hehe:

my younger daughter whi is 2 years old is also totli n too talkative mashaAllah. She changes most ‘s or sh’ sounds to ‘f’ so tissue is ‘tufoo’…n Amsterdam is ‘Am-foo-dam’ :slight_smile:

Okay, I feel a little better now. I adore her talk...its just too cute Mashallah lekin of course...love her a lot and want to have her talking normal.

I have to make an effort to not answer back in totli now. Such precious khala-bhanji moments...I dont want them to go anywhere.

sigh

Aww thats too cute. I remember when my bhai was 5, he used to inverse the syllables-- so chipkali was pichkali and chapal was pachal

:D why did he have to grow up!?

^ I’m with Safoora … my little bro is mashAllah 10 now …and I still can’t believe it. They grow up wayyyy too fast!!

Khalaa jaan… I say that you enjoy your bhanji’s totli pan and not worry about it too much :smiley: As soon as she goes to school and gets a bit older… it will naturally go away.

My little brother spoke that way until he was 5 years old and it was soooooooooooooo cute. I miss it :hinna: His sentences were all mixed urdu/punjabi/english to begin with…and then toss in the totli language and uff… too cute. I luved it!

My favorite was when he referred to the word “Chapeeku” as “Pikachu” lol.

Exactly what TLK said,

Converse with them in proper speech and they will pick correct words up much faster. Never encourage baby language, it works! If They are saying something in a totla way, repeat it slowly back to them correctly.

I used to be toothli!! haha i even have embarassing vidoes has the evidence! And my lil nephew was the same and mashallah se hes 5 now and theres no sign of toothlapan at all..its a kid thing so dont worry :)

What's the hurry? She'll be talking without the totlapan all her life, inshallah! So enjoy these very few totlay years :)
My son is 3 too. He started talking before he was a year old and was talking in full sentences by 18 months Mashallah. He has still a bit of totlapan left and I adore it. I don't talk back that way to him but never bother to correct him either. He'll outgrow it before I am ready for it, I am sure. I especially love it when he sings "shing a shong of shiksh pensh". (sing a song of six pence)

My nephew is 4 1/2 and he talks little totla too. I find it really adorable when he goes " Mama I am tleepy" :)