As litrature is defined “litrature is an analysis of experience and synthesis of the findings into unity”
In my opionion ,as speaking incase of pakistan Anwar maqsood, bano qudsia and ashfaq ahmed have done a great job in writting …
some plays by…
Anwar maqsood >> Aangan tehra,…
Ashfaq ahmed >> EEk haqiqat sau afsanay.
They can portray characters in a very apt and close to reality way. The characters can be sometimes extreemly acerbic and sometimes extreemly jouvial. I think it is a very true reflection of our society.
In case of ashfaq ahmed I think he is a visionary … his writting is explanatory and at the same time quite candid. He doesent need allot of words to prove his point. (which is a great feat)
I would urge u all that either read there writtings or if u r the lazzy type watch the drams based on there writtings and be the judge …Let me know about ur comments.
I dont know if i have seen these specific works by the gentlemen. I may have but I dont recall the names of the shows. I have seen a number of works of bano qudsia, ashfaq ahmad and anwar maqsood.
In my humble vire Anwar maqsood and way better than these guys, he can be funny, thought provoking and serious. the other two do formula stuff, it is all serious issues and sadly way overdone, the level of dialogues, the whole approach is overdone and donr over and over again. They are too abstract at times and in the end th emessage may be lost in their whole abstract and overdone approach.
CH man play nice. let the guy discuss something..and podeenay just cuz someone dinn reply to your thread aint a good nuff reason to start calling ppl names. I frankly had not opened this thread because I thougth it would be the same ol same ol
first of all I am sorry for not reply quiet soon.....
well u r answer is quite rite, maqsood is quite good . well angan tehra is his writting and production . It is a must see program . This is the only way expatriates like u an me can fully precieve our culture and society . As aanwar maqsood can in a very comical way bring the autrosities of our society and and culture in front of our eyes.(hope u get the drift)
Ashfaq ahmed .....I really admire the guy . He is much more Generic. His writting applies to the common and the aristocrats of our society. Please do watch "eeak haqeqat sau afsanay" and u will know, what I am talking about .
btw : if u want video cassetes of aangan tehra I can send them to u but they are in PAl and u know in america the TV is in NTSC........so do u have a substitute .....
I may ave seen anghan terha, I just cant recall. I can get entire series of any pakistani show here so will get it and see if I have seen it again. I am certain I have since my parents are fans of teh guy and have all of his work. including studio dhai and studio ponay teen etc.
Ashfaq Ahmed is like a formula guy, same goes for bano. societal issues are presented, but the approach is always the same. always very serious, very sad and the bad guys are pretty much always the same. The feudal lord, or big seth sahab punishing an innocent kisaan or worker, and making life tough for the guy whose family already has problems because the corrupt police chief will nto do anything to prevent a zameendaars sons from hararssing his daughter etc etc. There is avery clear black and white and right and wrong approach. In society there are more shades of grey as well which dont get presented.
Additionally there is little in terms of solutions or empowement, the person keeps suffering. life is bleak, life sucks...there is no message of hope, there is no call to action, there is no sense of giving people empowerment.
Thats why I dont enjoy ashfaq ahmed and his entire family's work, they do the samr thign over and over. they are the quentin tarrantinos of Pakistan TV :D
Fraudiay/
I think u r confusing Ashfaq ahmed with Munno Bhai....
but ...
if u r not then please refer some names of his dramas / books that can back up ur claim.
No worries mon, as I said, I cant even recall the names of the series that I have watched, with the exception of alif noon, tanhaiyan, sunehray din, andhera ujala and ragon mein andhera.
the only one i recall seeing by ashfaq ahmed was the famous aik mohabbat so afsany and ai cant recall anything from it.
I have seen tons of other dramas, but dont recall the names. Maybe I will have to talk to my mum to refresh my memory.
i do recall a crappy drama "fehmida ki kahani, ustani rahat ki zubani" absolutely one of the most overdone things I have ever seen, overacting galore. But that was not by ashfaq ahmad.
Fraudz: How can you not recall Aanghan tehra? Its an excellent play, full of comedy and actually realities of life. You are right Asfaq's plays are gloomy but there is so much depth. Asfaq's radio play was very interesting too. He wrote in one of his books that the play is actually about his father. Ever listened to that?
Podaney ki Chatney: Asfaq, Bano & Anwar have certainly contributed a lot in urdu literature. Muno bhai always wrote roona dhoona wale dramas. I never watched him.
How can I not recall it, I can not connect the name with any drama. as I said i have seen many dramas, some of them were actually pretty good but I remember very little e.g. a PTV drama in which sindhi vaderas are shown, the dude's memorable phrase is " tum doh takay kay aadmi, tumhari auqaat kya hai" etc. Do I know what was the name of the series...No clue. if i see an episode or two of the drama, which I am certain I have seen, i will remmeber the rest of it.
Even while typing this message, I recalled another drama "choti si dunya" about the villager who returns from england :)
I grew up abroad, only got to see dramas, when i was visiting Pakistan, and to be very honest, I have not seen a drama in years, probably more than a decade and even then only some episodes of dramas before that. as you may have noticed in my list of dramas that i do recall fully, they are all from mid eighties :)
*Its an excellent play, full of comedy and actually realities of life. You are right Asfaq's plays are gloomy but there is so much depth. *
some may say, too much depth..I am one of those.
*Asfaq's radio play was very interesting too. He wrote in one of his books that the play is actually about his father. Ever listened to that? *
I think u r talking about "warris" ....wadera/auqat etc..
Thanks for the name ..."choti se duniya" will get it this weekend ...one other ashfaq ahmed's play is "kiran kahani" some one said its quite good.
mid eihties was the golden era of pak TV.
some very "deep" quotes from ashfaq ahmed ....:)
if some one can ....(without smudging/subdueing/paralyzing the orignal and crisp "deep" message in the quotes )...........translate it to english ...is most welcome .
Jo mai ne aapni marzi se guzaree woh mere umer hai ....aur...jo baqi reh gayee woh zindagee
2.Insaan ke zindagee mai pereshaniyan kabhi nahi khatum hottein sirf wajoohaat badaltee rehtee hain
3.zindagee bhi eek dunyawwe imtihan hai ...sirf yeh farq hai ke is imtihan ke date sheet nahi hote aur kissi waqat bhi aap ke samnay khara ho jaata hai.