Aamir’s brutal frankness

Well.. Aamir’s brutal frankness is what lands him into trouble. He says that Oscar winning Indian film Slumdog Millionaire has failed to touch him.

Re: Aamir’s brutal frankness

he jst hav given his point of view ....that can b rgt or rong :)

to be honest.. thats what i thought first off.. how on earth do these kids speak such brilliant english. where did jamal learn to speak non indian accented english from? thought it was a flaw in the movie. .but on the whole.. loved the movie

^ Yeah I also thought that.. Kids from the streets.. speaking fluent english.. Didnt bother me though..

And as for Aamir.. That's his opinion.. Its not necessary that everbody should like the movie.. I know many people who said the movie didnt touch em.. So what..

btw sheeN, what is the source of this story of yours?

looks like some bollywood stars are eating sour grapes now since Slumdog became succesful unlike the cheappo movies they star in

okay why was my post deleted?

Hmmm, I've seen foreign films in which the characters speak English. It's not uncommon. And if Slumdog won the Oscars, that means that the judging panel/jury was able to overlook the characters speaking English. To them, it was probably a very small issue compared to the many positive aspects of the movie which led it to win such a prestigious award.

Aamir is entitled to his opinion. But I feel it's a case of sour grapes. It's very well-known that Aamir does not attend any of the Bollywood award ceremonies because he doesn't believe in the Indian awards. Rather he only believes in the western awards. His absence is often joked about by the anchors and comperes hosting the Bollywood award ceremonies. He wanted his own films to recieve such recognition and that's why I feel it's a case of sour grapes.

I personally think Amir would still have voiced this opinion even if the movie wasn't popular and didn't end up getting all the buzz.

I for one, think the movie was entertaining and had a feel good aspect to it, but that's about it. Otherwise, it was grossly over-rated.

The reason it's popular with the desis is because it has a desi connection, and the reason it's popular with the westerners is because it builds upon white liberal guilt. I mean... I can almost picture Brangelina watching it and telling each other that they need to adopt an Indian kid next, and Oprah promoting the movie in the name of hope to her white middle-class housewives audience.

All the attention this movie has received is really mind-boggling... I mean c'mon! - if anything, we desis should know better - Danny Boyle did not invent India, or Bollywood, or Indian slums or poor children. It's been done before, and it's been done much better... has anyone seen City of God? If not, go watch it and then tell me what's so original about Slumdog?

I'm willing to overlook all the technicalities like language issues, and the lack of structure to the movie, and the fact that Dev Patel is being heralded as a breakthrough actor for doing nothing more than sitting and talking and acting uncomfortable.

I'll give it credit for being an entertaining movie - a good time-pass... a feel-good movie... but that's where it stops for me. It didn't "move" me either... so I'm with Amir on this one.

if he really said that then i guess it his opinion...otherwise i loved the movie and it was better than amir's ghajini..

he was just expressing his views....Big deal?

i agree with lucid chaotic.

i mean wth? it was a typical bollywood movie. only difference was that characters spoke english in it and mr. danny boyle directed it :rolleyes: if this movie was made in hindi by sum indian guy im sure kisi ne ghaas bhi nai daalni thi.

oh and i would also just like to say is.. it won 8 oscars.. apart from the best screenplay or movie.. the rest of the 7 awards were ALL technical... erm.. is that really such a big deal?! techincal awards.. i do not think so.

i think amir is correct movie has many flaws its not an extra ordinary movie i m surprise that how this movie won Oscars bengimen button is much much better than this movie

Man non of the children spoke english! only the teenagers spoke english. In india sub english bolte hai. look at their cricket team - all speak very good english compared to our jahils. "Thanks to allah we lost! boys played well! Thanks to the bob!" lol

Isnt that exactly what Amitabh Bachchan said, and everyone and their grand parents jumped on him ;)

Thats because the Indian team uses "Rapidex English Speaking Course" :p

I am sure guys like Veeru could teach English to the goras...

The movie was ok, but the point Aamir is making, and many other points, make the movie nothing but cliched cinema without a doubt. I have seen much better Bollywood movies about the harsh realities of the poor man in India; movies that can punch you in the face and leave you in shock. Slumdog was nowhere near their caliber and no way in hell Oscar worthy.

that was halarious

even kamal hassan said its not an indian movie