A Tribute to the Little Master

On April 24, 2003 Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar turns 30 years old.
When I look back at his career, I am astonished to see his achivements and the record he has broken.

‘TEN’DULKAR LEAPs INTO THIRTIES WITH SUPREME GRACE](http://www.cricketnext.com/news1/next/ramaswamy/swamy601.htm)
By S S Ramaswamy

Sachin Tendulkar

It’s amazing how time flies, isn’t it! It seems just the other day a child prodigy had stormed the Indian cricket scene to steal the hearts of millions of fans with his precocious talent. The then boy wonder has since grown into a mature individual with feet planted firmly on terra firma and has now left the twenties behind and moved into the thirties in life’s innings.

Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar has experienced the vicissitudes of life as everyone else does and, at the same time, captured the imagination of the cricket fans worldwide like no else after Sir Donald Bradman. And he has done wonders to the game’s popularity in the country of his birth like no else had achieved before or after him.

Tendulkar’s international career has been a truly glittering one, having already accumulated a phenomenal tally of over 21,000 runs combined in the two forms of the international game that also includes 65 centuries – 31 of them in Test cricket which has made him the second-best behind his Indian compatriot Sunil Gavaskar in the all-time list.

In the Cricket World Cup 2003 the ace batsman emerged as the best batsman of the tournament and was instrumental in guiding a shaky India through troubled waters into the Super Six stage and then onwards to the title-clash. Still some uncharitable remarks were passed against him following India’s defeat to Australia in the final at the Wanderers, Johannesburg. This shows even a Tendulkar can’t please everyone all the time!

More than the amount of runs Tendulkar has aggregated, his true stature and value should be judged by the manner in which he had got them – by scintillating the crowds with his exhilarating stroke-play and making them go home with their palates totally satisfied and bellies filled thoroughly with the tasty meal he had dished out. He’s been a role model from day one to all aspiring cricketers, humility personified and always eager to give the other teammates their due even when his had been the single-most important contribution to the team’s cause.

Tendulkar has earned the encomiums of past and present cricketers across the length and breadth of the cricket-playing world. All of them have nothing but praise for the impeccable manner in which he’s conducted himself on the field of play as well as off it despite his superstar status.

He was not carried away when the late Bradman, considered widely to be the best-ever batsman to have graced the game, likened his style of batting to his own and invited the Indian megastar to his Adelaide home on the occasion of his 90th birthday.

The talisman of the Indian team has never been carried away by the phenomenal amount of money he’s been earning over the years from the game and has remained ever so modest in spite of his stupendous achievements as a batsman in both versions of the international game and the amount of praise showered on him by all and sundry. He’s not been carried away by the superstardom he enjoys whenever and wherever he goes to play and the iconoclastic status that has been bestowed on him in India and elsewhere too.

Tendulkar made his international debut as an innocent 16-year-old boy, went through the trials and tribulations like every other human being, achieved in one life time what most cannot dream of fulfilling in several and, most significantly, has remained the same level-headed person.

That humility has been the Indian champion batsman’s endearing quality right through his career, which has spanned nearly 14 years and is likely to continue for several more if he can maintain his physical fitness.

Tendulkar has always been a very private individual and guards his personal life with the same amount of intensity and fervour with which he guards his wicket. And he likes nothing better than celebrating his birthday in the presence of his near and dear ones.

We, at Cricketnext.com, join millions of other fans around the globe in extending our warm birthday wishes to the master batsman.

People keep saying that india has a great batting lineup, even though that line up is ok, its tendulkar who makes the difference between an ok lineup and a great line up. When this guy is going, there is absolutely NOTHING a bowler can do to stop him. It is amazing to see this guy in full flow, every shot classy.. perfectly timed and placed.. i really dont think any batsman currently can bully the bowlers the way he does.. :k:

hmm just one thing, could you unbold the article, a little hard to read paragraphs after paragraphs of bold text :-\

**Sachin’s tenacity **

By Subrata Roy

Sachin Tendulkar

I still remember watching the tenacity of this young man — how he had put aside his physical discomfort to win a match for his country. It was against Pakistan, I think it was three to four years ago, when Sachin Tendulkar valiantly fought against severe back pain and the aggressive onslaught of the Pakistani pace bowlers on the field.

India was nearing the target of victory but on the field it was Sachin fighting a lonesome battle with the tailenders. Sachin eventually scored a century but unfortunately India lost by 12 runs. It was a courageous effort of enormous magnitude and my heart bowed in admiration and respect before the grit and determination of this young man who had already become a legend by then, and who by now is one of the most respected and admired personality amongst his peers, his seniors and cricket lovers all over the world.

Sachin is one who has achieved greatness through his effort, determination, poise, shrewd judgement and modesty. On the field he combines all these qualities with technical brilliance, desire for runs, positive approach, superb shot selection and execution backed by the emotion to succeed and outdo his rivals.

Personally whenever I have met him I have sensed an aura that defines his greatness. His emotional commitment to the game has brought many laurels to our nation.

This young master is on a record-making spree. From being the highest one-day scorer in the World Cup since 1992 to winning the Golden Bat in the recently concluded World Cup final, besides his other achievements, have turned a golden leaf in the history of Indian and world cricket.

And as we all know cricket is the only game that inspires our deepest emotion — the emotion of Indianness. We all stand united when India plays against another cricket playing nation.

May God bless our Little Master Sachin to play the most significant role in all India’s victories

30 THINGS YOU DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT TENDULKAR

Sachin Tendulkar

As Sachin Tendulkar’s millions of fans celebrate the batting maestro’s 30th birthday, CricketNext.com thought of compiling 30 things that a layman wouldn’t know about the man. An extremely private person, Tendulkar the man remains hidden from the public eye. This is an attempt to bring the man a little closer to his many admirers.

Favourite Food: Thai, Bombay Duck and lobsters, anything cooked by his mother.

Favourite Film And Actor: Sholay and Amitabh Bachchan. He enjoyed watching Aamir Khan’s Lagaan as well.

Favourite Song: Main Zindagi Ka Saath Nibhata Chaala Gaaya from film Hum Dono.

Favourite Singer: Kishore Kumar and Pink Floyd. Has a huge collection of Kishore Kumar songs.

Favourite Cricketer: Sir Vivian Richards.

He Was Named After: Famous Bollywood music composure Sachin Dev Burman.

Was Nicknamed: ‘Australia’ in school because he is fair skinned. Vinod Kambli was nicknamed West Indies.

Favourite Colour: Blue and black.

Favourite Car: Mercedes.

Favourite Hobby: Playing with his kids, daughter Sara and son Arjun.

Freaks Out On: Accessories like sunglasses, watches and clothes.

First Sporting Idol: Tennis legend John McEnroe.

Was Rejected From: MRF Pace Academy. He wanted to become a fast bowler as a kid.

Best ODI Innings According To Him: 44 he scored against the West Indies in Port-of-Spain in 1996. Also, the 98 he scored against Pakistan in 2003 World Cup.

Worst Moment On Cricket Field: Loss to Pakistan in the Chennai Test in 1999.

Bowlers He Admires: Wasim Akram, Shane Warne, Glenn McGrath, Allan Donald.

Contemporary Batsman He Admires A Lot: Brian Lara.

Offered To Fly: All his Yorkshire County teammates from England for his wedding.

On His First Trip With Indian Team: Cried out things like “run” and “wait” in his sleep.

Is Obsessed With: His bats, which he guards with real zeal.

His First Car: Was a Maruti 800.

His First TV Commercial: Was for Pepsi along with Vinod Kambli and Mohammed Azharuddin.

Loves Playing: Table tennis with his teammates and friends.

Sportspersons He Admires: Michael Shumacher, Leander Paes, Vishwanathan Anand.

Started Cricket: After falling off a tree. His brother Ajit took him to Ramakant Achrekar as young Sachin was getting increasingly mischievious.

Greatest Fear: After his Test debut, when he didn’t score many runs, he thought he would never play for India again.

Always Carries With Him: His portable CD-player and headphones.

Contributes Financially: To a wide number of charity organizations across India but under the condition of anonymity.

Has Refused Huge Money: And declined to endorse tobacco and alcohol.

Mumbai Team: Remains very close to his heart. Cherishes his double hundred against Tamil Nadu at the Wankhede Stadium in the season 1999-2000 as one of his most satisfying efforts.

he’s a clasy player, i’m jealous we aint got him :stuck_out_tongue:

welldone to him :k:

**MY CRICKET CAREER STARTED AFTER I FELL OFF A TREE: SACHIN
Mumbai, April 22, 2003 **

Sachin Tendulkar, in a most candid interview ever, speaks about his life, his cricket, and his contemporaries. Tendulkar’s close confidante Ravi Shastri and well-known broadcaster Harsha Bhogle are joined by the likes of Bollywood superstar Amitabh Bachchan, singing legend Lata Mangeshkar and others in wishing Tendulkar a great 30th birthday. This interview will be telecast on April 24 (Tendulkar’s birthday) on Star Sports at 9:00 p.m.

Harsha: Things change, don’t they? People grow up and we all do. Sachin Tendulkar turns 30 and here we are putting a special programme wishing him a happy birthday!

**Sachin: When I was 15, I started playing first class cricket and always dreamt of being a Test cricketer, wanted to do something for the country, married in 1995, have 2 kids it’s been great.

Ravi:** Do you allow your kids to win the game, cause I remember once you chased me around the park because you lost the table tennis game.

**Sachin: That is the only place where I don’t mind losing.

Harsha:** But the World Cup was different wasn’t it?

Ravi: World Cup was an outstanding event for you what was the preparations like. Because your form was ordinary during that time. Did you make any changes like going for lighter bats?

**Sachin: Things did not work out in New Zealand, cause we were playing on difficult tracks. I twisted my ankle before the first match, but my first practice match was in South Africa and I scored 50 -55 runs. Things changed in the evening when it was decided that I’ll be opening and that was the new chapter for me, a challenge, so I wanted to prove myself and the World Cup was a great occasion.

Ravi:** You batted freely and played lot of shots, was the lighter bat a reason?

**Sachin: It wasn’t the weight of the bat, it was the weight distribution of the bat, in India/Sri Lanka and Pakistan, where the pitch doesn’t offer much bounce, bats are made heaver at the bottom, so I went for a different weight distribution, cause in South Africa the ball bounces a lot. Batsman in Asia prefer weights at the bottom, but I asked the manufactures for weight distribution because South African wickets are bouncy and I get power even at the top of the bat and the pick up was light too.

Ravi:** Sachin what goes on between you and Glenn McGrath?

**Sachin: Well I was teaching him some Hindi songs (laughs!). Actually he attacked a little outside and placed more fielders on off side, so I said are you scared? Why don’t you attack inside in the wicket, but it was a friendly conversation and I wanted to pass the message.

Harsha:** Well we asked the coach what was the turning point in World Cup?

John Wright (Quote): Zimbabwe game was the key and Sachin led the batting attack from the front

Ravi: It was the game against England from when Sachin started batting like a bomb.

Harsha: You wanted to prove a point against Andrew Caddick …

**Sachin: I didn’t want to prove a point, cause bowlers always want to make a statement and my job is to go out and score runs for India. We defeated England in Natwest and also in Sri Lanka, but it’s was psychological game and I wanted to settle a score because of memories of losing at Wankhede Stadium were there. **

Harsha: That Six to Caddick was indicative of your top form

Sachin: Durban pitch gives you a lot of bounce and I picked up the line early

Harsha: You could have played that shot anywhere else…

**Sachin: I don’t think so…

Harsha:** That was a candid confession …lets take break but on the way there are people who want to say exactly what we want to say..HAPPY B’day sachin!

Shaun Pollock (Quote): I hope when you play against us you get only score 30 and not anything more than that.

Amitabh Bachchan (Quote): Happy Birthday Sachin, let the remaining 70 years be more eventful.

Lata (Quote): Humare main kehtay hain ke bhagwan dharti par chamatkaar bhejtaay hain, Sachin Bhi Ek Ajooba hai, ek chamatkaar hai aur main usko namakar kartee hoon (We believe that God, from time to time sends wonders. Sachin is one such wonder. I greet him.)

**Sachin: I am speechless I don’t know how to react.

Harsha:** Sometimes when you don’t react (it) is a reaction itself, here is a special one or the big game India Pakistan

Ravi: Very rarely it happens that Akram doesn’t know where to bowl

Sachin: But he is a great bowler. I rembember, in Sharjah when he was suffering from groin strain, but still he bowled all his 10 overs with great control off the shorter run-up.

Ravi: Lets come to that Pakistan game 272 was the big target, what was on you mind?

**Sachin: My first strategy was not to give any wickets in first five to six overs because first 10 overs were important. But the sound of first contact in that innings boosted my confidence

Ravi:** We thought you should have opted for a runner when you were around 75

**Sachin: I never played with a runner in my entire life, even in schools, because only I know where the ball is going and how hard, when I hit the ball, something my runner will never know about. Moment there is contact your sub conscious mind knows whether it’s a single or more. It’s that fraction of contact that matters.

Harsha:** Nothing personnel with Shoaib?

**Sachin: I never made any statements and I don’t want to do it.

Harsha:** Maybe the memories of Kolkata, 1999?

**Sachin: I cannot let my mind be disturbed by these things, In fact I don’t want to be dragged into these things. It is my job to make runs for the country and win. That is the job I have to do.

Harsha:** It’s interesting when you say India must win. Something about that famous huddle in World Cup…

Sachin: We had a tough time in New Zealand. We met up with Sandy Gordon, and then there was a thought that the team has to get together.

Harsha: Pumping hearts.. my heart is pumping because we are going to meet someone very special.. Very few have actually seen this clip.

Sir Donald Bradman (Quote): There is a similarity between both of us the way we play

Ravi: That was from the legend who is the ultimate…

Harsha: How do you feel about it?

**Sachin: It’s the big name and it cannot get any better than this

Ravi:** You have achieved everything, but what makes Sachin Tendulkar really tick?

**Sachin: I hate losing and cricket being my first love, once I enter the ground it’s a different zone altogether and that hunger for winning is always there.

Harsha:** Where do you see this hunger taking you?

**Sachin: Haven’t really thought of it all I wanted to do was, to go on and on, its hard to imagine life without cricket.

Ravi:** He was a naughty boy, remember, you use to steal mangoes…

**Sachin: That’s how my cricket career started, we were plucking mangoes and we realized that all the senior citizens are busy watching ‘guide’ movie, we thought it was a golden opportunity to finish off all the mangoes on the tree. But we came down with the tree. My brother watched me, and said enough is enough, let’s get to serious cricket. And my cricket career started… So if you want to play for your country start climbing mango tree and plucking mangoes!

Umair paying tribute after tribute to Sachin. :eek:

Umair bhai what’s up with this late conversion. :hehe:

or has Asif_k hacked into his account?

I think we all have to agree that he is one of the finest batsman in the world cricket…:k:…

A real great player!

" Beneath the helmet, under that unruly curly hair, inside the cranium, there is something we don’t know, something beyond scientific measure. Something that allows him to soar, to roam a territory of sport that, forget us, even those who are gifted enough to play alongside him cannot even fathom. When he goes out to bat, people switch on their TV sets and switch off their lives " BBC on Sachin

1998, Mumbai, February 23-25 :- Tendulkar, 14 and Kambli, 16, compile a 664-run unbroken partnership for Shardashram Vidyamandir against St Xavier’s at Azad Maidan. It remains the highest partnership recorded in any form of cricket. Kambli made 349 not out , Tendulkar made 326 not out. “Achrekar sir’s assistant ran all around trying to attract our attention so that he could tell us to declare. Sachin kept telling me not to look at him” Vinod Kambli :hehe:

1989, Sialkot, 14 December :- On that last day of the last Test of his first Test series, in Pakistan ; Sachin gets hit on the nose by a Waqar delivery. Sachin falls down, gets up and wipes away the gushing blood. Medical assistance is denied. Eventually he scores 57. “It didn’t feel nice, with blood flowing from my nose, but I couldn’t leave for the side was not very well… I told myself, I want to thrash this bowler” Tendulkar :k:

1990, Old Trafford, 14th August :- At 17 yrs and 112 days Sachin becomes the second-youngest centurion in Test history. His 119 not out against England helps India draw the game against the Poms. It still remains among his most valuable Test innings. “How could anyone so young be good at the highest level” David Frith, cricket writer

1992, Perth, 2-3 February (Sachin ka favourite…) India is struggling at 135 for 6 at the WACA the bounciest cricket pitch in the world. Tendulkar sculpts a counter-attacking gem of 114. It is his favourite innings. "It’s a great pity that an innings which deserved a hundred thousand is being watched by such small crowd " Richie Benaud

1993, Kolkata, 24 November :- With South Africa needing six runs to win the last over of their Hero Cup semi-final against India, Tendulkar bowls a sensational six balls giving them just 3 and India victory. " I had on apprehension, that in trying to restrict the batsmen I would end up bowling a wide or a no-ball especially before I come in to bowl the last ball, I was ultra cautious " Sachin Tendulkar

1994, Auckland, 27th March :- Opens in an ODI for the first time against New Zealand. Goes on to make 82 off 49 balls. " Tendulkar was editing the highlights too fast " Jeremy Coney, on the match :hehe:

1995, Mumbai, October :- Signs a 5-year contract worth Rs 31.5 crore with World Tel which makes him the richest cricketer of the world. " I’m betting on the power of Sachin and the power of the Indian economy " Late Mark Mascrenhas, World Tel Chief

1996 :- Named skipper at the age of 23. " My gut feeling is that responsibility will see greating consistency from him and less throwing away of wicket to casual shots " Sunil Gavaskar

1998 :- Tendulkar is sacked from the captaincy after 15-month tenure during which India won 3 out of 17 Tests. " We removed Sachin because he could not take the pressure of batting and captaincy " Ramakant Desai :frowning:

1998, Sharjah April 22-24 :- Scores two back-to-back tons against Australia to help India reach the final and win it." I’ll be going to bed having nightmares of Sachin just running down the wicket and belting me back over the head for a six " Shane Warne

1999, 30-31 January :- With an injured back, Tendulkar makes 136 chasing 271 against Pakistan. When Sachin gets out, India need 17 more runs. Eventually, India fall short by 12. " It was one of the finest innings played under pressure. He is the best batsman of the world " Wasim Akram

2001, Port Elizabeth, 19 November :- Tendulkar is cautioned and fined by match referee Mike Denness for ball tampering in the 2nd Test against South Africa. The resulting outcry in India and the impasse between BCCI and ICC leads the latter to review the decision. " You have to think 5 times before you make such a decision" Chetan Chauhan :nook:

2002 :- Tendulkar’s batting genius pulled India out out of trouble in the third and final Test against the West Indies in Kolkata. The little master’s unbeaten 114, his 31st Test ton, helped India avoid an innings defeat. Tendulkar delighted nearly 60,000 spectators with his rich stroke-play as the Windies pace-attack looked clueless. " Sachin denied us a win " Carl Hooper

2003 -World Cup :- After a public backlash following a disastrous performance against Australia, Tendulkar played the interlocutor, pleading to the fans to maintain calm in a rare public statement. " We will fight till the last ball is bowled, please support us " Tendulkar :k: Indian Public :nook:

2003- World Cup :- It was a merciless Sachin that took on Shoaib Akhtar head on. The result: Faster Shoaib bowled, the quicker his deliveries reached the boundary. "Tujh ko pata hai tune kiska catch chora hai! " Akram to Razzak, after the latter dropped Tendulkar

2003- World Cup :- Run odyssey :- An effortless clip to midwicket off Dutch bowler Edgar Schiferli, and Sachin Tendulkar eases past Javed Miandad as the highest run-getter in World Cup cricket.

great batsman indeed....
but only two things i dont like about him....

1) why do ppl use hanif's mohammad title of "little master" for him....
2) why does he always sit out when he has to play on tough pitches....

but when sachin retires, he can be very sure that no one will ever break his records....
and even if someone does, i dont think we will live to see him do it....

blasphemy

I am absolutely incensed. How dare Joshi or that doctor person suggest that Tendulkar is not the greatest and most generous person that ever lived given that he's a great, great batsman? Great sportsman automatically translates into an even greater human being.

How hard is it to understand? Sheesh, some people... I hereby issue a Fatwa for Tapan Joshi's and Dr. Mehta's heads. We ought to make an example of such godless heathens.

DID WE GO OVER THE TOP?

(By Tapan Joshi)

Sachin Tendulkar’s 30th birthday became the most talked-about event in the media recently. Every news channel and newspaper did its bit. CricketNext.com put out an entire section devoted to the batting maestro, digging out articles, interviews and pictures on the life and times of the modern-day cricket God.

Days of discussions in the Editorial room and fieldwork went into putting together the section. The news channels, newspapers, on-line media… all wanted to outdo the rivals. A former India captain who has played with distinction for the country laughed, “The way everyone seems to be going about, it looks like only one player represents India.” No, he was not jealous, just plain amused.

Yes, Tendulkar is a great player, and a national icon. In him an ordinary Indian man sees a middle-class boy with humble background capable of rising to dizzy heights, in him an ordinary Indian woman sees an ideal son or a brother or a husband, a man in spite of achieving so much has remained humble and down-to-earth.

Tendulkar is an icon and Indians are iconolatry. An average Indian feels a sense of achievement when he looks at Tendulkar. He feels it’s him, and not the batting genius, who is zooming the streets of Mumbai in a brand new Ferrari.

The most galling part of the whole thing is the lack of rational thinking while hero-worshipping someone. CricketNext.com carried out a poll that day, where the readers had to vote between Tendulkar, Sir Donald Bradman, Sir Garfield Sobers and Sir Vivian Richards. Tendulkar outscored those luminaries by a mile as most of the voters said he is a better cricketer than the other three mentioned.

CricketNext.com spoke to Dr. Arun Mehta, a noted psychologist, who had this to say, “The media and the marketing guys create an icon. Of course, not anybody can become an icon, he has to be an achiever, but his achievements are generally magnified and presented to the people. A middle-class man is basically an escapist and that is precisely the reason why hero worship exists. Why do you admire someone? Because you are not capable of doing or achieving like him!”

**Noted columnist Shobhaa De just couldn’t understand the hype and hoopla surrounding Tendulkar and his 30th birthday. She told The Times Of India, “People like Tendulkar have taken a lot out of the society and given very little. I just wonder at the hype created by the media about him.”

Whether Tendulkar has given back something to the society is highly debatable and we would not like to start one, but let’s face the truth here: Tendulkar’s 30th birthday became a battle of one-upmanship for the various media networks. **

Again, let me reiterate Tendulkar is perhaps the greatest batsman in contemporary cricket. I am only against blind worshipping, and we all are guilty of it. Sunil Gavaskar’s contribution to Indian cricket is as great, if not greater, that Tendulkar’s. Kapil Dev is an achiever in his own right, having played many glorious innings and bowled many a great spell for the country.

Why make one man bigger than the game? Why make a great player God? People will believe, more often that not, what they read and see. It’s the media’s responsibility to put things in proper perspective, but competition has forced the media to lose its objectivity. We all forgot that point on April 24, 2003.

dude shut up.

Infact I also dont like all this media hype surrounding him and other Indian players. But comments like these are very unpleasent esp when it comes from people like Shobha Dey

Shobha Dey Says :- ** “People like Tendulkar have taken a lot out of the society and given very little.” **

I was just wondering what has Shobha De Given to the Society.

Dr. Arun Mehta, a noted psychologist, , “The media and the marketing guys create an icon. Of course, not anybody can become an icon, he has to be an achiever, but his achievements are generally magnified and presented to the people."

I am just wondering what would Tendulkar's achievment look Like when they are Magnified ?

*Originally posted by Asif_k: *
1998, Mumbai, February 23-25 :- Tendulkar, 14 and Kambli, 16, compile a 664-run unbroken partnership for Shardashram Vidyamandir against St Xavier's at Azad Maidan. ....

I think the year must be 1988, not 1998.

Ofcourse it's Sachin when it comes to pulloff the BLIRZKRIEG against bowling attacks around the globe ......

..... but do not forget who has saved India at numbers of times and finished the job Mr. "Dependable" Dravid

true..Rahuld Dravid is also a responsible team member who was always there for india when they needed him:k:…
but a bad record against pakistan:p…

Rahul Dravid is a better player as far match winning performance is concerned, and against Pakistan, he has been very consistent. You can't say the same about Sachin, he avgs 35 against Pakistan, which is OK.

Yeah, Rahul Dravid is more consistent against Pakistan because his average is 27 in tests and 28 in ODIs. Sachin is very incosistent because his average is 35. What a logic. Another gem from you. :rotfl: