~~A Thought~~

I went to pakistan last year after long time since then i am thinking about it. some people in pakistan think that pakistani girls who lives in united states or any other country like that live their life just like that culture. i mean they think, us girls go out with guys, have relationship with them and do other stuff. which i think is not true for a lot girls here since we are muslims and know our limits. so my question is why do they think like that? i mean not everyone is same yeah there are some bad ones but that doesn’t mean you blame everyone? and guys i am not talking about all its just some people who think this way. so i need your opinions on this…

“When all else fails, read the manual”.

It’s called stereotype ... and it’s not only against the girls but boys too!

Originally posted by ahmadjee:
It’s called stereotype ... and it’s not only against the girls but boys too!

yeah, but they say "larkay to hotay hi aisay hain" and after that its no problem . & with girls its all about character.

"When all else fails, read the manual".

if it’s any consolation sk, people make the same stereotypes of girls living in Pakistan.. that they are well behaved, and know how to cook and clean and are ‘shareef’ and don’t know what bf’s are etc..

.. now that ain’t all true either is it?

There is No Spoon

AJ: You are right generalization it is.

PA: Yar, of course girls from the metropolitan cities here do know almost everything under the sun, but its not necessary that whatever you know, should be put at public displays. Hena?

But steroetyping is a big

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/nook.gif

Being exposed to a relatively open society doesn’t necessarily make you a part of the group. Much the same thing as being part of a smoker/drinking group doesn’t necessarily make you one. The right to choice is ours.

Kambakht Ishq!

You know what!....
I think 'Logon ke moun bohat bolte hein'
You cant tell them to mind their own business....they will talk like that and behind your back!....you cant tell them to be quite!
I dont mean to be rude or anything....but only you, yourself and Allah knows about the good or the bad things you have been doing...so other people have no right to interfear and make their own decisions and conclusions...right?
It is always the girls kasoor...they never think of the boy....as he is just a man...they always think of the girl as being bad....so this is the culture...and we are nobody to change it...thats the way thing are!
Living i UK is no biggie.....and i presume thet i am more islamic and 'parahise' then the girls in Pakistan! My pearnts have taught me well....and i obey them....i never reach the extend line and im aware of that..I know my Islamic knowledge and i follow it with all my heart...i read namazein 5 times aday...and nobody is going to stick a finger at me and saying that im one of them as i can show from the purity of my heart that im a good muslim, a good sister and a daughter....
Aab ijazat chahtie houn...
Allah ha fiz
Take care

Originally posted by Aashi:
You know what!....
I think 'Logon ke moun bohat bolte hein'
You cant tell them to mind their own business....they will talk like that and behind your back!....you cant tell them to be quite!
I dont mean to be rude or anything....but only you, yourself and Allah knows about the good or the bad things you have been doing...so other people have no right to interfear and make their own decisions and conclusions...right?
It is always the girls kasoor...they never think of the boy....as he is just a man...they always think of the girl as being bad....so this is the culture...and we are nobody to change it...thats the way thing are!
Living i UK is no biggie.....and i presume thet i am more islamic and 'parahise' then the girls in Pakistan! My pearnts have taught me well....and i obey them....i never reach the extend line and im aware of that..I know my Islamic knowledge and i follow it with all my heart...i read namazein 5 times aday...and nobody is going to stick a finger at me and saying that im one of them as i can show from the purity of my heart that im a good muslim, a good sister and a daughter....
Aab ijazat chahtie houn...
Allah ha fiz
Take care

yeah Aashi i totally agree with you on this. my parents have taugh me the same way urs did and yeah i think its true that some of girls here are far more better then girls living in pakistan. we follow islam and say our prayers 5 times reglarly. we can't stop what people say but its true that Allah knows whats right and whats wrong.

<::~Is thaT all You got? ::~I'll Take youR best Shot~::>

sure its not true.. well can we they that we learned those things from them?

I have heard some similar stuff aswell, I haven't had a similar experience myself but heard from friends. Its just that they have this image of us girls living abroad and the first thing which comes to their mind is "kitnay boyfriends heiN?" I was so surprised when one of my friends told me about her experience. I think its because of the culture we live in or are brought up in, which leads for them to think in a certain way. Its just like they say "jitnay mouN utni hi bateiN". I wouldn't really worry about it, they can think what they like, we know our religion and what it teaches us. As for them they should learn to stop generalising.

S.K & Ashi & rest ..spl.girls

Stereotyping is on BOTH sides but it is worse in PAkistan ABOUT ppls.in the west

Stereotype again is result of less education or inadequate education…not knowing the FULL story only partial…At least ppl. abroad have a global knowledge & birds eye view rather than TUNNEL view that people in lesser informed population of Pakistan

If you take the remark in the light of this BACKGROUND …you can ‘take it with a pinch of salt’ so to say .So be strong & not too fragile & sensitive about IGNORENT remarks!

Its better to have thick skin inmatters of these as survival skill the better it is for your mental health.

yea i have a similar problem
whenever i go to pak n the whole khaandaan goes to visit sum long 4gotten realtive they think my cuzin is the one from dubai just cuz she's fashionable and wears make up n all dat...n when i tell them its me...they just say sumthing like..."oh..u dont look like ur'e from dubai" just cuz i dont wear make up and am dressed simply...
really ticks me off..!!!

....Tu Haseen Hai Magar...Ye To Kuch Bhi Nahi...