‘The Morning Call’…a well rehearsed ritual.

Oh why, oh why, oh why so many desis have to go through the ritual of that infamous ‘morning call’, where men (I have seen very few women do this) must clear their throat with the loudest of noise for at least ten minutes. The ritual also includes many intakes of sharp breaths from the nose, with the throat providing resistance so that one hears this screeching sound that makes the bystander, or a guest, in the next room cringe with nausea.

What is wrong with a simple gargle with warm water, a tongue scarper, tooth brush and tooth paste (avoiding the coal or the extra minted home made manjan)?

Hey 2B: I am a bit confused. How come you didn't link this to muslim burning in Gujrat? Don't all your posts have that? You should put that in your signature that way it will always be there.

2bornot2b jee...aap ki tabiyat to durust hai? CH flamed and u did not take it?

Actually this is one desi trait I have taken on myself. It's very effective way of clearing the throat as witnessed by the big gob of phlegm that you can spit out as a result of said action.

It doesn't take 10 mins though, and i've never involved the nose in any form. Basically the trick is just to roll the excess gunge in the back of the throat making a loud kkkhhrr noise and then whistle the spit into the sink with a satisfying splat.

Don't tell me you've never tried that?

Xtreme, your description and technique have aroused (Chaltahai don’t even go there) my sense of curiosity, and I intend to try it, someday. However, I am debating whether it would be best done in the sink, or against the proverbial wall.

Against the wall is fine, just make sure it's somebody else's.

I think i am going to puke!

Not very gentlemanly, now is that Xtreme? And that too on someone else's wall? Tch tch...

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
i've never involved the nose in any form.

I refer the Honourable Member for Southall to the description given by 2BORNOT2B some moments earlier. Basically, a violent intake from both the back of the nose and throat simultaneously creates the necessary force required to dislodge that over-night phlegm and clear the airwaves for that all important Marlboro moment.

I would suggest if 2BORNOT2B balks at the prospect of carrying out this practise, time honoured by most if not all Pakistani males I might add, then he/she should squeaze the nostrils and blow instead.

Does the gentleman speak from experience? If so, I would like to inform the gentleman to choose his words carefully. There are many Indian members on this board, who will no doubt, be excited by talks of squeezing and blowing.

yaar accha yeh batao. aap log naak kaysa saaf kartay ho???

*Originally posted by dewana tera: *
yaar accha yeh batao. aap log naak kaysa saaf kartay ho???

sleeve istimal karkay.

alooparatha, what happened to yer jameecna icon?

i cant stand people spitting on the streets... personally i have never spat .. ever