A STUDY IN MOTHERHOOD

A STUDY IN MOTHERHOOD By Iqra Asad
Motherhood is much more than ten letters, that goes without saying. It is a three-syllable noun. Incidentally, there is this 24-hour bracket that comes around every 8736 hours dedicated to “celebrating” motherhood. Wow, a whole 24 hours, this motherhood thing must be something important. If it’s important enough as all that, it must be worth going into the depth of it. Turns out there is a lot more than can be said here, but we can have a look at some of the finer aspects of motherhood.
** VIP treatment**

**Case study #1**: Mother looks    out the window to see her preschooler toddling across the    lawn. His pursuit of a butterfly is interrupted as he falls flat on his face.    Instead of breaking into ear-splitting yells calculated to put the most    strong-throated of opera singers to shame, he quickly picks himself up and    resumes his study of wildlife. Mother is astonished. She goes out to ask her    little boy why he didn't cry. His answer, "Oh, I didn't know you were    nearby."

Case study #2: Somewhere in their teens, people enter a phase called GROWING UP. This GROWING UP is different from the growth they undergo when they shoot up from little children into big children. Some symptoms of this phase are
n going from silence to 500 decibels in 0.5 seconds
n reacting to a lack of a household commodity like clean towels or toothpaste with the wrath of a general being informed of the desertion of his troops
n using words like “touché” and “capiche” to show they can pronounce them even if they can’t spell them
n sprouting electrically charged hair and/or fly-sized beards
Though the symptoms are visible to the world at large, it is the mother who is on the receiving end of most of the GROWING UP (behaviour?). That is because people instinctively know that a mother will bear an amount of GROWING UP that will make other people throw you out of their homes. Therefore mothers worldwide are blasted regularly with GROWING UP and other mother-only strains of behaviour.

Management and know-how

Over the course of bringing    up her children, a mother is expected to know
n How to divide five slices    of pizza evenly among three children without provoking World War III.
n What to do when her child    starts bawling in the face of a doting relative.
n The names of friends and    their mothers, teachers and the best friend's canary.
n The answer when she is    quizzed on the identity of Ronaldinho or John Cena or the intricacies of    Pokemon cards or Beyblade.
n Why bubbles form and    stars twinkle.
and a wealth of other    things which would, in themselves, make an entire encyclopedia.

** Worrying**

Making the decision to have    a child--it's momentous. It is to decide forever to have your heart go    walking around outside your body.
-- Elizabeth Stone
That explains why mothers    worry so much; because they care. This can be best illustrated by the story    of the camp leader who, after a severe thunderstorm that was big enough to be    mentioned in the news, received calls upon calls from the mothers of the    campers wanting to find out if their children were OK. He thought,    "Mothers! They are just too protective. They don't know when to let    go." The next time the phone rang it was his own mother calling to make    sure he was OK.
Never underestimate the    worth of carrying a mobile phone unless you want to arrive    home two hours late to see security forces deployed around your house and a    helicopter with a searchlight chugging overhead. "Thank God, you're all    right!" is something you'd expect coming home from war instead of coming    home from college, but to a mother, there is no such thing as a rational    explanation. When her child cannot be contacted, a mother's worry meter goes    something like this:

15    minutes: The traffic must be bad.
30 minutes: Something must    have gone wrong.
32 minutes: Something HAS    gone wrong.
321/4 minutes: Call the    police! Something has happened to my child!

Looking at what goes on in the world, one gets an idea of the horrors contained in a mother’s “something could have happened”; one really can’t blame her. Compare the image of coming home to a concerned mother to one of a mother who opens half an eyelid as her child comes in three hours late with a cursory “wipe your shoes on the mat, dear”. Which is more disturbing? Children are the only creatures who get a truckload of prayers from their mothers simply because they exist. Cherish it!

Re: A STUDY IN MOTHERHOOD

** “Mother’s Day” all year round**

Just like motherhood does not last for a single day, appreciation and care cannot be confined either. The currency of love is action, and small everyday deposits make a big difference. Here are some deposits you can make; you will be familiar with it all as the language of humanity is universally acknowledged, if not implemented. Most of this works for dad as well.

** Communication:**

n Ask her about her day    and, more importantly, listen. 

n When she is talking to you, give her your undivided attention. That means muting the TV, turning off the computer monitor, pausing the game, or putting the mobile phone aside, even if you are just required to listen instead of converse.
n When something she has cooked is good, compliment her, but don’t skimp on the honesty and compliment the experimental recipe she took off Masala just to be tactful. She (and your stomach) will appreciate honest feedback.
n Thank her when she does something for you. The philosophy “there are no thank-yous or sorries in close relationships” is bunk. Relationships thrive or deteriorate on small things and sincere appreciation (or lack of it) tops the list.
n If there is one person on earth you should swallow your ego to apologise to, it’s your mother. A sincere apology, not the screwing-up-your-face-and-spitting-it-out type.

** Understanding:**

n Try to understand her (what an alien concept!) when she forbids something instead of grumbling and fussing that she doesn’t understand you. If you don’t understand now, you will some day, as Ray Romano said, “The more I go through parenting, the more I say I owe my mother an apology.”
n Dinner is late? She forgot to do something you asked her to do? Don’t blow your top. She is human too.
n When you go out, tell her when you’ll be home and call her to inform her if you’ll be late instead of using the “you’re always interrogating me about when I’ll come back” approach.

** Giving:**

n A massage is the best thing to give unasked after a hard day. One thing to do is position your fingers around the neck and, using your thumbs, work on the part of the upper back your thumbs can reach from that position. It’s a relief-giver for a stressful area.
n Dishes in the sink, dirty socks in the washing basket, shoes in the proper place…you know the drill. A clean room is a wonderful thing to give, but it is even better if you cut down on the frustration of everyday nagging and keep it clean.
n Hugging does wonders. Remember, you are never too old to kiss your parents goodnight. Even if doing it will make them wonder if you are ill, it is a good thing to try.
At the end of the day, the best thing to give your mother is a good you. After all, you are

the entire point of the thing, aren’t you?

** Millie’s Mother’s Red Dress

** Sacrifice is an inevitable part of motherhood but well-intentioned mothers tend to go further along the path of self-sacrifice than is actually necessary. This becomes nothing short of crime when her family, instead of realising that she can be a good–no, better–mother without sacrificing so much, considers it her duty to do so. The following case is an extreme one but it makes one realise and reflect upon this injustice.
It hung there in the closet
While she was dying, Mother’s red dress,
Like a gash in the row
Of dark, old clothes
She had worn away her life in.

They had called me home
And I knew when I saw her
She wasn't going to last.

When I saw the dress, I    said
"Why, Mother--how    beautiful!
 I've    never seen it on you."

"I've never worn    it," she slowly said.
"Sit down, Millie--I'd    like to undo
A lesson or two before I    go, if I can."

I sat by her bed
And she sighed a bigger    breath
Than I thought she could    hold.
"Now that I'll soon be    gone
I can see some things.
Oh, I taught you good--but    I taught you wrong."

"What do you mean,    Mother?"
"Well--I always    thought
That a good woman never    takes her turn,
That she's just for doing    for somebody else.
Do here, do there, always    keep
Everybody else's wants    tended and make sure
Yours are at the bottom of    the heap.

"Maybe someday you'll    get to them.
But of course you never do.
My life was like    that--doing for your dad

Doing for the boys, for    your sisters, for you."
"You did--everything a    mother could."
"Oh, Millie, Millie,    it was no good--
For you--for him. Don't you    see?
I did you the worst of    wrongs.
I asked for nothing--for    me!

"Your father in the    other room,
All stirred up and staring    at the walls--
When the doctor told him he    took
It bad--came to my bed and    all but shook
The life right out of me.    'You can't die,
Do you hear? What'll become    of me?'
" 'What'll become of    me?'
It'll be hard, all right,    when I go.
He can't even find the    frying pan, you know.

"And you children--
I was a free ride for    everybody, everywhere.
I was the first one up and    the last one down
Seven days out of the week.
I always took the toast    that got burned.
And the smallest piece of    pie.

"I look at how some of    your brothers
Treat their wives now
And it makes me sick,    'cause it was me
That taught it to them. And    they learned.
They learned that a woman    doesn't
Even exist except to give.
Why, every single penny    that I could save
Went for your clothes, or    your books,
Even when it wasn't    necessary.
Can't even remember when I    took
Myself downtown to buy    something beautiful--
For me.

"Except last year when    I got that red dress.
I found I had twenty    dollars
That wasn't especially    spoke for.
I was on my way to pay it    extra for the washer.
But somehow--I came home    with this big box.
Your father really gave it    to me then.
'Where are you going to    wear a thing like that to--
Some opera or something?'
And he was right, I guess.
I've never, except in the    store,
Put on that dress.

"Oh Millie--I always    thought if you take
Nothing for yourself in    this world
You'd have it all in the    next somehow
I don't believe that    anymore.
I think the Lord wants us    to have something--
Here--and now.

"And I'm telling you,    Millie, if some miracle
Could get me off this bed,    you could look

For a different mother,    'cause I would be one.
Oh, I passed up my turn so    long
I would hardly know how to    take it.
But I'd learn, Millie.
I would learn!"

It hung there in the closet
While she was dying,    Mother's red dress,
Like a gash in the row
Of dark, old clothes
She had worn away her life    in.

Her last words to me were    these:
"Do me the honour,    Millie,
Of not following in my    footsteps.
Promise me that."
I promised.
She caught her breath
Then Mother took her turn
In death.
-- Carol Lynn Pearson

source

On This Mother’s Day For GS MOMS and Olad-e-Adam o Hawa:bb:
Robert Munsch Ki kitab “Love You Forever” Ky images share krna chahti hon Illustrations Sheila McGraw ki hain.

1-:
A mother held her new baby and very slowly rocked him back and forth back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. And while she held him, she sang:
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always,
As long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.

**2-:The Baby grew. He grew and he grew and he grew. He grew until he was two years old, and he ran all around the house. He pulled all the books of the shelves. He pulled all the food out of the refrigerator and he took his mother’s watch and flushed it down the toilet. Sometimes his mother would say’ "This Kid is driving me CRAZY!"

**3-:But at night time, when that two-year-old was quiet, she opened the door to his room, crawled across the floor,
looked up over the side of his bed; and if he was really asleep she picked him up and rocked him back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. While she rocked him she sang:
I’ll Love forever,
As long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.

**4-:The little boy grew. He grew and he grew. He grew until he was nine years old. And he never wanted to come for dinner, he never wanted to take a bath, and when grandma criticized he always said bad words. Some times his mother wanted to sell him to the ZOO!

5-: But at the night time, when he was asleep, the mother quietly opened the door to his room, crawled across the floor and looked up over the side of the bed. If he was really asleep, she picked up that nine-year-old boy and rocked him back and forth back and forth, back and forth. And while she rocked him, she sang:
I’ll love you forever,
As long as I’m living
my baby you’ll be.

6-:The boy grew. He grew and he grew and he grew.He grew until he was a teenager He had stranger friends and he wore strange clothes and he listened to strange music. Some times the mother felt like she was in a ZOO!

***7-:But at night time, when that teenager was asleep, the mother opened the door to his room, crawled across the floor and looked up over the side of the bed. If he was really asleep she picked up that great big boy and rocked him back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.While she rocked him she sang: ***
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for alwayes,
As long as I’m living
***my baby you’ll be. ***

8-:That teenager grew.He grew and he grew and he grew. He grew until he was a grown-up man. He left home and a house across town.

9-:But sometimes on dark nights the mother got into her car and drove across town.

10-:If the light in her son’s house were out, she opened his bedroom window, crawled across the floor, and looked up over the side of his bed. If that great big man was really asleep she picked him up and rocked him back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. And while she rocked him she sang:
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for Always,
As long as I 'm living
my baby you’ll be.

11-:Well the mother, she got older. She got older and older and older.One day she called up her son and said “You’d better come see me because I’m very old and sick.”

So her son come to see her. When he came in the door she tried to sing the song. She sang:
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for always…
But she couldn’t finish because she was too old and sick.12-: Then son went to his mother. He picked her up and rocked her back and forth, back and forth, back and forth. And he sang this song:
I’ll love you forever,
As long as I’m living
my Mommy you’ll be.

13-:When the son came home that night, he stood for a long time at the top of the stairs.

14-:Then he went into the room where his very new baby daughter was sleeping. He picked her up in his arms and Very slowly rocked her back and forth, back and forth, back and forth.And while he rocked her he sang.
I’ll love you forever,
I’ll like you for Always,
As long as I 'm living
my baby you’ll be.

The End

***Is KO khty hain Mamta ka safar.Aik nasal sy dosri nasal tak. Or qabily ghor bat ky man ny sab khamoshi sy kiya koi ehsan nahi jtaya or byty ko bhi ehsas tha ky os ki man kitni muhabat krti hy os sy Is Kitab ko main bghyr roy nahi perh sakti Mother’s day pr hona chahy tha yeh thread magar baqol shair ***
Kon jita hy teri zulf ky sar hony tak

Lagta hy Adab (literature) Forum main tu koi codu ky ilawa qadamnahi dharta:(

goodwork both of u

Very touching story :slight_smile:

Goodnews jee - Aap agar saath dain tu forum kaa Mahol khush-gawaar hosakta hai - Koi our aye ya na aye , Aapka aana Chaand ki chaandni ki tarha hai … har simt noor bikhar gaya hai :bb:

:blush:Shukriya:bb:

hamaray desi kabhi nahi maanein gaye yeh cheez.

nice entries :teary2:

I liked Millie's Mother's Dress, although technically speaking, it was written somewhat poorly, but I liked the theme.

I somewhat agree with Sara, that desi people will not even realize that there is something wrong with the idea of a self-sacrificing mother/woman. In our literature, films, dramas, music, we have a tendency of glorifying women who are always sacrificing their own happiness and comfort for the sake of their family, especially for their husbands/fathers/sons/brothers. While, selflessness in love and relationship is a great virtue, I think it is wrong to associate it merely with womenhood or motherhood, as if it is okay for men to be selfish, and inconsiderate.

The other book, (by Robert Munsch?) was very cheesy, no matter which way you look at it.