A Shameful Heritage....

Re: A Shameful Heritage....

When I backed "land-snatching" it was not for "economic purposes", it was for "political" purposes. British raj used to grant lands to its boot-lickers at will without 'earning' it through hard-work. I agree that taking lands away from "all" landlords could result in injustice to those who really "earned" it, but not doing so has resulted in great injustice to villagers who are still struggling and working as "ghulam/jageer" of landlords.

And for crying out loud, go visit India, take trains through this beautiful but pathetically poor country. You may learn a thing or two.

During my visits I have met great Indian friends but I have seen a lot of misery too. That's why I admire certain aspect of India and avoid some not so good things (for example hairy legged Bombay women-- Oh Gaad what an awful sight).

Now YOU are mixing up how the society "looks" compared to how it behaves/economically and what not.

Look Inti bhai! There is no point in repeating the same "main naa maanu" head shake. King Faisal has given you a quick picture on GDP based follies.

However if you still insist on proving India is "far better" than Pakistan, then why don't you move there? I am sure you will be able to afford much bigger mansion (with podina-gardens), a bigger car, and hugely better life style. You know you read these wonderful stories of how well Urdu speaking Muslims (as opposed to Punjabis and Pathans) are being treated these days. So it is time to pack you bags and move. No one will stop you brother. Once you settle in your comfy mansion in India, do not forget to send us a post card. You know the one where you are sitting in a lounge drinking from a tall glass with little umbrella in it.

Ok. Shabash. Jaldi Jaldi utho, aur foran pohuncho. The land of milk and honey is waiting for you. Shabash.

OK. As I said earlier, Mega-farmers were never a political force in modern day India. Look at the elections of 1930 and 40s. Mega farmers didn't score much in the regions now comprising 28 states.

So what's the fuss?

p.s. boot-licking was done by everyone. Mega-farmers, Mega-industrialists, Gandhi-the-official-recruiter-for-Brits, all sarkari Baboos, and you name it. This is how that time was. Anyone creating anarchy was sent to Kaala Paani (Andaman Islands).

So why would you just home in one group while giving free pass to the rest?

^ I understand your point of how 'land-snatching' had nothing to do politically...

Regarding your comment on "boot-licking", yes everyone might have indulged in "bootlicking" but "landlords" are the 'winners' in them all who are now making others as 'losers'.

^^ Glad we agree.

BTW Every 'boot licker' was a winner. Gandhi / Nehru cabal got their choice of land from British-India. All the big Baboos in the two countries are the tukham (sons and daughters) of the baboos from Gora time. All the big name generals are the sons and daughters of the officers and Sipahis from Gora-army and the list goes on. Everyone who was smart enough to work with Brits (you call it boot licking) was amply rewarded and why not?

Arrey aap tu aisey bol rahey ho yaar like before 60 years Pakistan was barren land.

Err, I am not calling "working with Brits" as "boot-licking", I thought you knew what 'boot-licking' meant.

Re: A Shameful Heritage…

Great post.. one my abbu’s friends had oppurtunity to visit India as part of Indo-Pak cultural program or something. He was overjoyed when he got visa to visit India chiefly because his family migrated from Eastern Punjab and also he wanted to see Bombay, Delhi as there so much news related to India shining etc. He came back to Lahore and narrated his experience in India. When my father asked him how was India, he said in Punjabi, “You should thank allah for Pakistan”. He joked that he’s glad he came back to Pakistan and Indians didn’t offer him citizenship etc. given his gora skin and Indians’ fascination for the gora skin :smiley: He said there’s a lot of poverty in Bombay.. you see half of city’s population on the streets- literally! He speaks Urdu and talked to a lot of them and they told him that they go without food for months. Delhi’s even worst and Lahore can beat Delhi any day. He wanted to see Jama masjid in Delhi and met with Indian muslims there- he was of the view Indian muslims dont follow Islam properly- in Pakistan they might have been charged under blasphemy laws or gotten a fatwa from Islamic scholars. You dont find guys with beard often nor women with burqa plus women prefer to go to work :halo: Plus, roads in India are bad, narrow- you find animals on the street.. a lot of beggars and bhookey ppl. Sad to know we were under one administration sometime in history. We should be all happy for Pakistan- SIalkot is the football capital of the world..any football played in the world is made in Sialkot. Karachi is the IT corridor, Gwadar wud be the next Dubai and Faisalabad has the best infrastructure. Pakistan rocks all way :jhanda: Pakistan has better medical facilities and hospital than India too :slight_smile:

Well may be we should start another thread on "boot-licking" vs. "working with Brits".

And let's not turn this thread into discussion on semantics of one term or the other. I know what you meant, and I believe you also understand what I am trying to communicate.

Which by the way is a miracle of sorts, but I am happy with it.

And do you know how many of these families got these lands as "favors" of?