Joe Harris, recalled to lead Canada in the recent ICC Six Nations Challenge, has again quit as captain, and this time he says it is for good.
Harris, who moved to Barbados last year, stepped into the breach at short notice, but all five matches in the tournament ended in defeat, and even allowing for the absence of John Davison - indisposed in Australia - it was disheartening stuff. Coupled with the performance last month of the side in the Under-19 World Cup – they were also winless – it’s been a wretched month for Canadian cricket.
Harris, 38, made the announcement after Canada’s defeat by Namibia in their final Six Nations match, adding that he had also played his final game for his country. He subsequently returned to Barbados.
“We are disappointed that we did not win a match,” said Mike Henry, Canada’s manager. “The effort was there and we played well enough to come out on top in at least two games, but we were not victorious and that was very disappointing for us. It’s evident that we have not progressed after the World Cup. Some of our older and experienced players are past their best and we cannot depend on them any longer to help us win games.”
Bryan Mauricette, who captained Canada in the 1979 World Cup and is now their coach, was equally scathing. “Our mental approach to batting at this level was absent,” he fumed. “It was one of the worst displays of batting I have ever seen at this level of cricket.”
I didn’t see him play and I don’t know whether he was a batsman or a bowler. But I’m convinced that he must have been a great player. 'cause I mean, after all he was captain of the Canadian team.
It will be tough but I think world cricket will eventually fill the gap created by this great cricketer’s retirement. O Canada.
For your info, here are the details on Joe Harris who was born in India.
CRICKET WORLD CUP CANADA
JOSEPH HARRIS
Born: 16.08.65
ICC Matches: 10
Batting: Right Hand (Avge: 41.12)
Bowling: Right Hand Off Break (Avge: 23.00)
Catches: 1
Joseph Harris may be 37, but Canada's captain remains a key player for his side.
Not short on experience having played six first-class matches for Barbados, the Indian-born Harris averages over 40 with the bat in ICC Trophy games at a fine strike rate.
Although his bowling isn't used much these days he is also a good off-spinner, and may bring himself into the attack if conditions suit.
Last world cup he had an outstanding maximum of 15 runs.
His bowling is not used very much because he has not taken very many wickets and he gives up too many runs but I believe the Canadian selectors are biased against Indians.
Cricket is not a mainstream sport here in Canada, and is currently being funded entirely by players themselves! So, here is how it works: you pay to play (it is quite expensive to register a team in Toronto league) and take time off from work for matches and practice. if you want to practice, 8 months a year the practice is indoors in tight congested nets due to whether (again, pay if you want to practice for an hour or so). Equipment is expensive and outdated most of the time. Almost no coaching available and some baboons running the National cricket!! As you can see, you have to be REALLY determined if you want to play cricket here! Inspite of all this, Canada has been able to put together a team that can at the very least take on Bangladesh! On the other hand, we have bowlers like Sami, with all these resources at disposal, spending all this time in the nets sending down thousands of balls under careful supervision of dozens of coaches and team fitness instructors and not a worry in the world other than cricket and still manages to throw wides and no balls when its show time!!!!! no sense of duty, I'd say!
Think about all this next time you blurt out something about Canadian Cricket!
Relax Trooper. This is just some good-natured ribbing. We Canadians can surely take that? Everyone of the contributors knows that our lady of snows just cannot produce cricket of even back-alley level in Pakistan or India.
*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Can we have same kinda post about retirment of soccer player in Pakistan or India?
Aaj subah subah mirchein chabayee hein kiya? You are saying as if you need permission to open a thread. Go right ahead. Infact I was thinking of digging up something on the chess potential of Pakistan. May be you can do the same for Ice Hockey in India. :-)
*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Aaj subah subah mirchein chabayee hein kiya? You are saying as if you need permission to open a thread. Go right ahead. Infact I was thinking of digging up something on the chess potential of Pakistan. May be you can do the same for Ice Hockey in India. :-)
Nahi bhaijan...
I know you all moderators make a good fraternity and back each other very well. But it is a sick thread. Making fun of a player who has retired.He has done a good job of promoting cricket in Canada and shoudl be appreciated for that.
*Originally posted by fair_&_balance: *
Nahi bhaijan...
I know you all moderators make a good fraternity and back each other very well. But it is a sick thread. Making fun of a player who has retired.He has done a good job of promoting cricket in Canada and shoudl be appreciated for that.
F&B read Arvind's reply above. It was meant to be a light hearted thread and thats how you should look at it. You have over reacted a bit. Haven't you or other poeple made fun of Indian players from time to time. Samb is Canadian and and as such I think he can make a joke or two about his country's national teams. Had he said something similar about a third country's team, I could understand your sentiments.
Come on man look at the times you have been critical of Bedi, a retired and highly accomplished cricketer.
There is nothing wrong with what Samb had said. However, if you have any serious complaints about his moderating than it would be highly appreciated if you were to make any comments in the feedback forum or directly to the admins. I hope this will be the end of this matter.
F&B read Arvind's reply above. It was meant to be a light hearted thread and thats how you should look at it. You have over reacted a bit. Haven't you or other poeple made fun of Indian players from time to time. Samb is Canadian and and as such I think he can make a joke or two about his country's national teams. Had he said something similar about a third country's team, I could understand your sentiments.
Come on man look at the times you have been critical of Bedi, a retired and highly accomplished cricketer.
There is nothing wrong with what Samb had said. However, if you have any serious complaints about his moderating than it would be highly appreciated if you were to make any comments in the feedback forum or directly to the admins. I hope this will be the end of this matter.
Ehsan bhai..
I am also Canadian...(ok..you know it... Atleast from heart I am ).I like everything canadian ( starting from ice hockey too ice).. This was totally uncalled for and we canada loving people feel offended about.
Ehsan bhai..
I am also Canadian...(ok..you know it... Atleast from heart I am ).I like everything canadian ( starting from ice hockey too ice).. This was totally uncalled for and we canada loving people feel offended about.
But then you guys are in power. ;)
Since when did you become Canadian?
Arey yaar take it easy, it is a light hearted thread.