A request for Ramadan

salam aalaikum

I had been away for a few days and have not read all posts so if someone has said it this will be a repeat otherwise just listen.

I hope and request that during this month we stop slander and fights here and instead learn from one another, ask questions, give answers and make this a great month for us while using this forum as a resource to ask questions that we may have, share information and experiences.

Thank you in advance, and a small question from me. I may have time for aitikaaf this year. This is something I have wanted to do for a few years but did not have the opportunity. I want to know more about the specifics and adaab of aitikaaf. Any help will be appreciated.

InshaAllah

I second this request.

Thanks Fraudia.

ditto

Yeah and I’ll also appreciate info on itekaf

Allah knows best…

Originally posted by Fraudz:
**salam aalaikum

I had been away for a few days and have not read all posts so if someone has said it this will be a repeat otherwise just listen.

I hope and request that during this month we stop slander and fights here and instead learn from one another, ask questions, give answers and make this a great month for us while using this forum as a resource to ask questions that we may have, share information and experiences.

Thank you in advance, and a small question from me. I may have time for aitikaaf this year. This is something I have wanted to do for a few years but did not have the opportunity. I want to know more about the specifics and adaab of aitikaaf. Any help will be appreciated.**

*** JAZAKALLAH KHAIR...
I strongly support it.Also request Guppos not to waist this precious time of Ramadan in worldly affairs. We must devote most of our time in doing some thing good. Concentrate on Faraid (compulsories),the award of which is many times greater in Ramadan and Nawafils are given the sawab of Faraid in the month of Ramadaan.AllahoAkbar.
Even in the forums of Gup Shup we should follow this.

I ask Allah Subhana ho wa ta'ala to shower upon us the Barakah of Ramadan and help us to take the full advantage of it. Amin** *

**~~~Performace of good DEEDS avoids the evil ending.~~~

He, who advises for the GOOD, is similar (in rewards)to the doer of it.**
(Sahih Al-Jami 3797 & 3399 resp.)

I looked at some of my familiar URL's for rulings on aitekaaf. Unfortunately, nothing yet. I will post as soon as I find anything.

In the mean time, here is something I know. Maybe its useful. The following information is based on my discussion with my several relatives, who Alhamdollilah, sit in aitekaaf almost every year. I know that men do aitekaaf in a mosque, while females can do it at home, however, I am unsure if this is mandatory (that men can ONLY do aitekaaf in a mosque). If you intend to sit in aitekaaf in a mosque, then there is no confusin. So here are the basics:

[list=1]
[li]"Aitekaaf" is generally understood to mean 10 days (Last 10 days of Ramadhan ul Mubarak) of total seclusion in a mosque (for men).[/li][li]However, anytime you are going to a mosque for prayers etc, when entering do a niyyat for aitekaaf. The time you spend in the mosque, you will Insha Allah be rewarded for aitekaaf.[/li][li]During aitekaaf, one must spend most of the time in prayers, nawaffil, rading quran and other religious texts. [/li][li]Contrary to a popular misconception, there is no prohibition to taking bath during aitekaaf. Indeed, if the mosque does not have a bathroom, you can visit the nearest bathroom to take a bath. Cleanliness is one of the prime components of imaan, and should not be ignored.[/li][li]While talking with other muatafaqeen / namazis is not prohibited, it is generally understood that the sahib-e-aitekaaf should not waste time in debates or discussions, whether religious or non-religious.[/li][li]Aitekaaf, starts on the night of 19th Ramadan after Maghrib. We all know that the Islamic day begins from Maghrib. So after Iftaar of 19th Ramadhan, the sahib-e-aitekaaf, move to an appropriate area in the mosque, and spend the next 10 days there.[/li][li]Aitekaaf, ends on the sighting of moon for Shawa'al or at the end of 30th Ramadhan, whichever comes first.[/li][/list=a]

Jazak Allah, and may you and all muslims be granted fortitude to garner the maximum benefits of this holy month.

Assalam-o-Alaikum, first of all Ramadan Mubbarak to all muslims. Regarding your question about Ihtikaf, I sat in Ihtikaf myself 10years back for about 3 times. I am not a scholar or anything but according to my understanding the most important thing in Ihtikaf is that one should spend as much as time to pray and read and learn about Islam. You can sit in Ihtikaf for 1 3 5 7 9 or 10 last days of Ramadan in one part of mosque. You should avoid any kind of conversation with anyone, unless it is very important religious thing you want to discuss. I think some part of Pakistan people are more strict some are less with view to discussions and other acitivities. I would say the best thing is to avoid any kind of discussion because then you will be wasting your important time in discussions rather then Praying or learning something. I took advantage and managed to read all quran and its translation in those 10 days and you feel so close to God. It is definately a hard work but its worth it if you only doing for Allah. I have to be honest here because when I sat in Ihtikaf it was not 100% feeling that I want to do it for Allah, it was mixture of like oh people will think I am sitting in Ihtikaf because I was young only 16-17. God forgive me. But it was benificial as well I was well organized when I came out of Ihtikaf. I tried my best to pray as much as I can. You can learn a lot through books. God bless you all and give us strength to respect this holy month.

I agree.

Gotta be from both sides.

No peace without justice and truth.

V~V~VHe came, He saw, He conqueredV~V~V**

----*Priest-OF- Painful Truth*----

Originally posted by Fraudz:
**salam aalaikum

Thank you in advance, and a small question from me. I may have time for aitikaaf this year. This is something I have wanted to do for a few years but did not have the opportunity. I want to know more about the specifics and adaab of aitikaaf. Any help will be appreciated.**

Barakallahu Feek. Insha'llah this will be a great blessing onto the bro/sis users of this site and may Allah reward us all.

Insha-Allah

considering it is going to be Christams Holidays.. there is ample opportunity for everyone..

Here’s some more info it’ll add on to what pristine and zafar mahmood wrote.

Alright, I asked someone about I’tikaaf, and this is what they told me. They said that i’tikaaf basically means to enter the masjid with the niyyat..the intention of residing therein, and that there are three types. The first type is ‘wajib’, and its when you vow to make itikaaf for the sake of Allah swt on the fulfillment of some wish or desire, this must be at least a day and a night long, and must be accompanied by a fast. The second type, which I think is what you were asking about, is ‘sunnat e muakkeda’, and it entails spending the last ten nights and days of ramadaan in the masjid, this is also considered: ‘sunnat-e-muakkadah alal kifayah’ which means that if one person from a community fulfills the obligation of itikaaf the entire community of will be absolved of this duty—otherwise all the residents of the community will be guilty of neglecting this sunnat of our Prophet, sallallaho alaihe wa sallam.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

SubhanAllah, thanks fraudia i wouldn’t have known about that if u hadn’t asked. The third type is ‘nafl’ and it can be for any amount of time—even a few minutes, and no fast is required for this type, ie.nafl itikaaf.

The conditions for person performing itikaaf…umm the mutakif(?) are that he/she be a muslim, that they be sane, clean(taharat), and that they have niyyat—intention. Hmm, what else? Well, eating, sleeping, discussing matters of deen or necessary talk, and leaving the masjid for a valid reason are permitted, but if the reason isn’t valid it will ‘cancel’ or nullify one’s itikaaf. I was also told that its makrooh to observe complete silence as a form of ibadat. During itikaaf one should engage oneself in ibadat, recital of the qu’ran, zikr(remembrance of Allah swt), nafl salaat, durood shareef, istighfaar, and also to study islam as well as teach/impart your own knowledge of deen.

For women, itikaaf should be performed in the home…where she usually offers daily salaat or any other suitable place.

Hmm, alright hope that helps somewhat. Fee AmaanAllah