A reality, but so painful.....

Re: A reality, but so painful.....

See brother , how they "took" Basra :

Basra was the capital of one of the provinces. Abu Musa Ashari was its governor. One day Abu Musa gave an address. In it he told the people how, in the early years of Islam, Muslims walked on foot all the way to the field of battle. He went on to explain what great reward such people had found from Allah.

After some days, Abu Musa had to goto a battle-front. He rode on a horse. This produced an uproar against him.

"Look at the Governor!" went round the story, "he says one thing and does another. Why does he go to the battlefield riding on a horse? Why does he not earn a greater reward from Allah by walking on foot?"

The agents of Ibn Saba played with the feelings of people. So much so, that the people get really angry with Abu Musa. A deputation marched to Medina. The Caliph foundh his hands forced to dismiss Abu Musa.

Abdullah bin Amir became the new governor of Basra. The Sabaites started a campaign against him too.

"He is a raw yougn man," they said, "moreover, he is a relative of the Caliph. Othman is filling all key-posts with his kinsmen."

And in "kufa" they also did the same:
Kufa was the capital of another province. Saad bin Waqqas was its governor. He was the conquerer of Iran. He took a loan out of public funds and could not return it in time. The complaint reached the Caliph and Othman dismissed him.

Saad was replaced by Wali bin Uqba. Walid was a strong man. He took quick action against mischief-mongers. Some of them one night broke into the house of a man. They took away all his money and killed him also. They were all arrested and put to death.

The death of this gang made Sabaites angry. A strong man like Walid bin Uqba was a real danger to them. So they brought a false complaint against him. They said that he was given to drinking. A deputation set off to Medina. Two men bore witness before the Caliph and his advisory council that they had seen their Governor drinking wine. Ali gave the ruling that the man was guilty. So Othman dismissed the Governor.

Walid was replaced by Saad bin As. The new governor received people at his house each night. He sat among them and discussed things with them. Everyone was free to drop in. The Sabaites came to these meetings in large numbers. Gradually, the started creating trouble. One night they came down upon a man and beat him in the presence of the Governor.

The Governor felt humbled. But he also felt helpless. The mischief-mongers were all-powerful. He could not lay hands on them. Things became so unbearable that the people wrote to the Caliph. They begged him to rid the city of the hooligans.

Othman wrote to the governor to send this gang to Muawia, in Syria. He hoped that Muawia would set them right. The Caliph's order was carried out. Muawia treated these people well. He tried to win them over with kindness. They began to be rude to Muawia. So Muawia wrote to the Caliph, telling him that he could do nothing to reform such bad men.

Othman next sent them to Abdur Rehman bin Khalid, the governor of Hims. Abdur Rehman was a stern man. He was really hard on these fellows. This brought them to senses. They repented for what they had done and promised to behave well in the future. Abdur Rehman informed the Caliph about it. Othman wrote back to him, telling him to send the men back to Kufa, if they really meant what they said. But once in Kufa they were as active in mischief-making as ever
***************************************************************'

Brother , believe me , when i read the last two paargraphs regarding muavia(ra) and son of khalid(ra) , i remember that exactly what i also read in daily
"Nawa_i_Waqt" , in columns page , there come everyday with name"Noor_e_Baseerat" by "qazi abdur rashid" (late), today , it is about "parda" but it keeps on rotaitng and once its turn was similar that when rebillions went to muavia(ra) and abdur rahman(ra) , what they said , it was in urdu and the taste in urdu cannot be produced in english , so i give it in urdu :

" Baghi Damishq mai muavia(ra) kai paas pohchay to muavia(ra) nai kha kai aa logo! gab chundsaal pehlay tum aqliat mai thai aab allah nai tumhai sarfraz kar diya hai to tum fitna chathay ho , ssaqah bola ameer peehlay bhi quraish akhseeriat mai thai kai aqleeiat mai!!!!!!! muavia?(ra) nai ghusay sai kha a saaqa , tum to qaum kai khateeb ho laikintum to mughai ahmaqo kai numaindai lagtai ho , tum apni baat ko harfe aakhir samaghtai ho aur phir is ko logo ki rai khaitai ho , saaqa bola , a ameer , aap sai khuda samghay , muavia(ra) nai kha kai mughai tumharai samagh aanai sai rahi "
then same people went to abdur rehman and dhe said to rebillion :
jo tum logo nai bakwas muavia kai samnai kee hai , wo mairai samnay karnai ki zaroorat nahi , mai us ka baita hoon jis kai samany saray Ujam nai ghutnai taik diyay thai , mai fasadion ki jar katnai wla ka baita hoon , aa saaqa , agar mai apnay sathion ko ishara karoon to wo tumharay aik aik uzv alaihda kar dain or mai janta hoon kai tum log is tara hi baaz aao gai"""

Aur mai janta hoon kai burai ko bhalai sai roka ahi ja sakta ""''
This were the words of abdurah man , son of khalid bin waleed (ra) which was from bani makhzoom , a tribe which was agaisnt both banu hashim and ummayyad in begiining. of islam !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And usman(ra) also replied to rebillions of thier some complaits as:

The Caliph then called together the leading men of Medina as well as the ring-leaders who had come from the provinces. He addressed that gathering thus:

"It is said I have reserved some pastures for public use. By Allah, I have not reserved any pasture which was not so reserved before me. In these pastures graze the animals that are public property. Moreover, the pastures are open to everybody. Only those were disallowed their use who offered bribes to get more than what was their due. As for my use of these pastures, I have no more than two camels. These camels serve me at the time of Hajj. You all know that before I became Caliph, no one in Arabia had more animals than I.

I have sent authorized copies of the Qur'an in all parts of the empire. There are people who object to this. You all know that the Qur'an is only one book sent down by Allah. The Companions who wrote down this book, under the eyes of the Holy Prophet, are still alive. It is they who compiled the copy which I have sent everywhere.

It is said I have appointed young men as officers. The fact is that it is not age but ability and character that guides my choice. Here are men from the provinces. They cannot deny the ability and honesty of my officers. Young age is no disqualification. The Holy Prophet gave Usama the command of an army, although he was younger than all the men I have appointed.

It is said I gave to the Governor of Egypt the whole booty of North Africa as a reward. The fact is that he was given only one-fifth of the fifth part due to the State. There are examples of such rewards before my time. Anyhow, when I came to know that people objected to it, I took back the money from the Governor.

It is said I love my kinsmen and bestow rewards on them. It is no sin to love one's kinsmen. But this love has never made me unjust to other people. As for rewards, I have never given a kinsmen any thing out of public funds except what was his due. But I do make gifts to my kinsmen out of my own pocket. I spent on them before I became Caliph. Now that I am old and do not hope to live long, I do not wish to keep anything with me. I do not think it right to spend anything on my kinsmen out of public funds. In fact, I do not get anything out of these funds for my own expenses either. The revenue of each province is spent on the people of that province. The public treasury at Medina receives nothing but the fifth part of booty. This money is spent by the people themselves in times of need.

It is said I have given lands to my friends. This is not true. Many people from Medina went with the conquering armies. Some of them settled in the conquered lands. There they acquired pieces of land. Afterward, some of them came back to sell their lands in distant parts of the empire and give them the price therof."

The Caliph asked his hearers if these facts were true. All said they were!

It became clear to all present that the charges heaped on the Caliph were false. However, no one suggested a way to clear him in the eyes of the common man of these false charges

Brother , the real thing happened is only that :

At bottom, Othman's murder was the result of political differences. A party of men wanted to remove him from the Caliphate. They wanted to see another man as the Caliph. But the method they used to bring this about was unfortunate. HItherto Caliphs had been chosen by the general vote of the people. The Companions were the leaders of public opinion. It were they who by a majority vote decided who should be the Caliph. The rioters of Egypt, Kufa and Basra did away with this tradition. They made the sword the deciding factor.

Their method of violence produced another unfortunate result. Political parties soon hardened into religious groups. These groups were further subdivided. This dealt a sever blow to the unity of Muslims. The sects came to stay. That which the Prophet had foretold did come to pass! The sword was out among his followers and it had come to stay!

And brother , the real thing which dividedmuslims and all nations of history is only " wealth" :

Omar's period was a period of conquests. In the wake of conquests came a flood of riches. Omar himself once wept when he saw a heap of riches lying in the Prophet's Mosque. Asked why he wept, he had said that riches always brought with them jealosy and malice and these were the real seeds of disunity. Omar was perfectly right. His fears came true in the years that followed his death.

The holy Prophet, too, had foretold a period of great unrest. This period was to accompany the prosperity of his people. He awoke one night greatly disturbed. He looked agitated and said, "Glory be to Allah! What great treasures He has given my people! And what an unrest has come down upon the people in the wake of the treasures!"

Now , the question arises why usman(ra) not fighted them with iro hands:

From the beginning of the unrest, Othman felt sure that the terrible unrest foretold by the Prophet was at hand. The calamity he thought, was inevitable and must come down. He could delay it, but could not stop it. Firm and strong action, he believed, would bring it nearer. So he tried to delay the onset of unrest with kindness and forgiveness. These were the weapons on which he relied. If they did not work, the fault was not Othman's. It was the fault of men who could not see right from wrong.

Othman also had another prophecy of the Prophet constantly in mind. It said, "When the sword is once out among my followers, it will be three till the Last Day."

There had been two Caliphs before Othman. Their swords fought the enemies of Islam. They never led an army against the Muslims. Here were Muslims up in arms against Othman. Should he draw his sword against them? He could easily do this. The rioters were no more than three thousand in number. Medina had beaten back much larger armies. If only Othman had drawn his sword, there must have been hundreds of swords to fight for him. In fact, he could have obtained troops from Syria well in time to crush any number of rioters. But nothing could induce Othman to make use of the sword. That would have made him the first Caliph of Islam to shed the blood of Muslims. The sword once out would always be there. And Othman was the last person to let loose a curse that would hanve over the Muslims for ever. It was far easier for him to lay down his life. So he chose the easier course. He gave his life so that his people might be saved the terrible curse of the sword.

"Othman is the most modest of my Companions," once said the Holy Prophet. His modesty did not leave Othman even after he was the ruler of a big empire. He was generous and soft-hearted. He was always inclined to overlook people's faults. High virtues indeed! But as the head of a big State, Othman needed to be something more. He needed to be strong, firm and prompt. However, Othman's heart would not allow him to follow the course of firmness. He knew full well where the path of love was going to lead and gladly paid the price with his life.

Since Othman, was kind to all people, he was all the more kind to his kinsmen. Some of them took undue advantage of this thing. They made a bid to gather all power into their hands. Many of the key-posts in the empire came to be filled by them of by their friends. Marwan got such a hold on the old Caliph that he sometimes acted in his name without telling him what he was doing. The Caliph came in for criticism for the doings of Marwan.

The courage and faith showed by Othman have few parallels in history. He prized the neighborhood of the Prophet over all things - even his life. Nothing could drive him away from Medina, where the Prophet lay in eternal rest. Death started him in the face but he welcomed the death that would send him to a grave in Medina. This death was far more precious to Othman than life elsewhere. That explains the courage with which he met his death.

Despite internal troubles, Othman's Caliphate did see expansion of the empire. North Africa was added to it. Risings in different parts were quickly put down. Byzantium was not allowed to take advantage of the internal troubles of Islam.
The most remarkable thing about Othman is his faith. He had heard the Prophet say that civil war, when once touched off, would know no end. Othman did not want to be the man to touch it off. He would allow no one to draw sword for his sake. On the last day of his life, there was a fighting between the rioters and the guards at the gate. The rioters wanted to force an entry into the house. The sons of Ali, Zubaid and Talha put up a stiff fight. Othman came to know of it.

"No," he exclaimed, "I do not want to spill the blood of Muslims, to save my own neck."

Saying this, he sent them all home. If civil war could be stopped at the cost of his life, Othman was most happy to pay that price. He believed that by laying down his life he could delay the advent of the cursed sword foretold by the Prophet (peace be upon him). So he would neither use sword to hit back, nor flee from the city of the Prophet. He willingly died that Islam might live. For a great cause and a great conviction, he made the greatest sacrifice a man can possibly make. Thus he joined the ranks of the great martyrs of all time.

and brother ,believe me , ali(ra) disagreed with usman(ra) on some policies but not to an extent that he had(naaozobillah) changed quran or sunnah .......:

A word here may be said about relations between Othman and Ali. It is true that Ali disagreed with the aged Caliph on many points. He particularly disliked the man who acted in his name. All the same, Ali did nothing that might have harmed Othman. He advised him to get rid of Marwan and other Omayyads. But he also pleaded with the rioters to give up mischief. He flatly refused to help their evil cause in any way.

When Ali came to know that the rioters had cut off the water supply of the Caliph, he went to them and said, "O people. you are doing an evil thing. Such an act does not befit Muslims. Even non-Muslims do not do this. Why do you cut off the food and water supply of Othman? When the Iranians and the Christians take someone a prisoner, they give him food and water. What harm had Othman done to you? Why have you beseiged him?? Why are you sent on taking his life?"

These words had no effect on the rioters. Seeing this, Ali threw his turbon in Othman's house. He wanted the Caliph to know that he did come to plead with the rioters but could not succeed.

Othman knew that Ali was sincere. He never said a word of complaint against Ali. All he said was that Ali should have been more active in his support. But for this lukewarmness, Ali had reasons. He believed that all trouble was due to Othman's advisors. He wanted them to go. The rioters made the same demand. Othman assured Ali that he would dismiss these men. He said so publicly in the Mosque. This removed all misunderstanding between the two sons in-law of the holy Prophet. They were once again as close to each other as ever.

But nothing could have been more hateful to the rioters. Throughout they had been using Ali's name to fan the fire of discontent. How could they see him stand by the side of the Caliph? So they forged the fateful letter. That letter put both Othman and Ali in awkward positions. It gave the rioters a good excuse to go ahead with their evil plans. They simply refused to listen to Ali. Ali felt helpless. In the face of the mysterious letter, he could do nothing. So he left the city. However, he ordered his sons to stand guard at the gate of the Caliph.

Brother , much blame go to marvan:

Since Othman, was kind to all people, he was all the more kind to his kinsmen. Some of them took undue advantage of this thing. They made a bid to gather all power into their hands. Many of the key-posts in the empire came to be filled by them of by their friends. Marwan got such a hold on the old Caliph that he sometimes acted in his name without telling him what he was doing. The Caliph came in for criticism for the doings of Marwan.

Re: A reality, but so painful…

Brother , you are right but the capital of King of Persia is in “Madyan” near river “dagla” in which muslims put thier horses to conquer the grand white palace made by “Nowsherva” so in iraq of that time iran and iraq are both under sassanid empire and here were majoosi there who latter on converted to islam and migrated to kufa .I read in Wikepedia in kufa section that the “mawali” also migrated to kufa in umar(ra) period alongwith yemeni tribes . Here i give the reference and that paragraph:

“”“”“”““Islamic conquest of Persia — 638"””“”“”“”“”"’
As of 638 it was a base for those Arab armies which were fighting the Sassanid Persians (637-651) at Mahoze / Madain (the Ctesiphon-Seleucia metropolis); the Kufans succeeded and carried off the gates of Mahoze that year.

The tribes which came to Kufa afterward tended to be Arabs of the Yemen and the desert, such as the Azdis and Kindis; there were also increasing numbers of foreign clients of the Arabs (mawali) who immigrated from Persia when their lands were overrun. None of these could or would claim to be descended from Ishmael as did the ruling Quraysh

www.en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kufa

So i mean to say that yet not all , but yet some kufis made mischiefs and further more Brother , It were Yemeni who first rioted for “Muselma kazzab” for false prophethood in abu bakr(ra) time and " muselma" also inculcated in his followers the “Yemen nationalism” against " Arab nationalism" until khalidbin waleed (ra) killed him after a very horrible fight in battle of “Yamama”.So , it is not strange that some people of yemen against arabian nationalism can again stand for it in kufa !!!

But yes i agree withyou , there were great sahabas and taabeen in kufa , infact it was one of the greatest centre of fiqah and knowledge like hazrat ibne masood (ra) and imam abu hanifa(ra) and many more.

But brother , let me allow again to jump into pool of history, it was from kufa that imam hussain(ra) received more than 600 letters to come kufa , where was muslim bin aqeel martyred??? where was his two little sons martyred???
when muslim bin aqeel came to fight with zaid , all kufis came with zeal and raising slogan"“”“”“'“Ya mansura ummatah””“”“”"“but on zaid warning , all left him and after maghrib prayer , when muslim said " salam” the 7 remaing also ran , where this incident happened??? who were the people who told zaid where muslim was hiding??? which army came to fight hussain(ra) ???
Is this from Syria , no brother no , it was all kufis and iraqis , not a single man came from Syria??? who martyred hussain(ra)??? who burnt thier khaimas??? who smashed thier bodies under their horses ???who snatched the scarfs of women??? who chained imam zainul abideen ???
who put of the heads of hussain and family???who fighted ali(ra) as kharjis???who martyred him???who became unhappy of hassan(ra) peace agreement???who cursed hassan(ra) and threw stones on him???

Brother who did all this ??? if this not happened , then why Mukhtar bin abi ubaid saqfi said that By God , i will run pools of blood in streets of Kufa and he did this…

Brother , the real painful thing is that the people who said that "We love ali(ra) the most , they taunted him the most at all ocassions """
When ali(ra) ordered them to leave madina when he took his power as caliph , they refused and disobeyed , in battle of "jaml" , when both partieswere about at peace , they started arrows from both sides at night , in battle of " Safain" when ali(ra) was about to win , muavia(ra) and umr bin alaa's(ra) tactfully put qurans on thier sword as a war plan , ali(ra) keep on shouting , do not trap but they insisted ali(ra) to stop the fight , and when ali(ra) agreed on "Tehkeem" , one group disagreed and started fighiting him as "khargis" etc etc..
But may billions of praises on ali(ra) , he fighted his whole life till death with great patience and mind and never complained this horrible situation of his own lovers and followers .Which Iqbal says in his famous poem as

***jamal_e_ishq_o_masti nai nawazi
                              jalal_e_ishq_o_masti bai niazi
                              kamal_e_ ishq_o_masti "Zarf_e_ Haider"
                              zawal_e_ishq_o_masti harf_e_Razi***

Brother , once i asked about the same dispute from my urdu teacher , as he was very learned man , he replied :
"""""""""""""""' Son , if Ali(ra) had received an opportunity of peace and stability as a whole and from his lovers , may be , people would have forgotten the achievements of
umar(ra) """""""""""""""""""""'

And we also believe this.....................

Brother remember , in a battle when an enemy spit on ali(ra) face , he freed him saying ,"""""""" now if i wll killyou ,it will also include my personal grudge"""""""""""""""

brother , everyone cannot have such heart .
Aisa "jigra" kisi kisi hee mai hota hai !!!!!!!!!!

But unfortunately , his own followers created difficulties for him.

Yes brother , i agree but this became prominent in abbasid periods and latter on “ibne ulqami” and " Naseerudin tusi" invited " haluku khan" to take over baghdad and millions of muslims died , as a revenge of “persian” against " Arab conquest of Persia" !!!11

Brother brother plz , he never saqid this , may be you are refering to the hadees when rebillions were around thier house , he refused to give up caliphate and quoted the hadees that"“”“”“” there will time o usman(ra) when munafiq will try to take off your shiirt which allah hasput on you , you never putt it off"“”“”“”“”
otherwise he never said this , his title was “ameerul mo’mineen” or “khalifatur rasool”
, nothing else…

I humbly request all the readers to also take part in this discussions so that we have more views and points to come closer.....

We will never believe you …

until and unless …

you will invite all of us , means members of this forums includind Mods to your wedding…:slight_smile:

Come on! There is no harm in doing local traditions! We will not become kafir or hindu!

does Allah act through a shura? ...and if Prophet(saw) knew that uthman will be the caliph after umar(ra) why was the shura neccesary?

haluku khan was persian? .....brother haluku killed thosands in iran as well
and btw remember most iranians were sunnis then

.I read in Wikepedia in kufa section that the "mawali" also migrated to kufa in umar(ra) period alongwith yemeni tribes . Here i give the reference and that paragraph:

""""""""Islamic conquest of Persia — 638""""""""""""'
As of 638 it was a base for those Arab armies which were fighting the Sassanid Persians (637-651) at Mahoze / Madain (the Ctesiphon-Seleucia metropolis); the Kufans succeeded and carried off the gates of Mahoze that year.

The tribes which came to Kufa afterward tended to be Arabs of the Yemen and the desert, such as the Azdis and Kindis; there were also increasing numbers of foreign clients of the Arabs (mawali) who immigrated from Persia when their lands were overrun. None of these could or would claim to be descended from Ishmael as did the ruling Quraysh

if you read the biographies of the agitaters against uthman all of them were arabs
and dont always bring that banu hashim vs ummayya thing
muhammad b abihudhaiyfa(ra) was a ummayyad yet he was a opponent of uthman and was killed by muawiyah

It were Yemeni who first rioted for "Muselma kazzab" for false prophethood in abu bakr(ra) time and " muselma" also inculcated in his followers the "Yemen nationalism" against " Arab nationalism" until khalidbin waleed (ra) killed him after a very horrible fight in battle of "Yamama".So , it is not strange that some people of yemen against arabian nationalism can again stand for it in kufa !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

okay so if all of them were so guilty why did Umar(ra) enlist them in the muslim armies and forgave them and released all the captives?
did the yemenis demand independence after that?
also many yemeni tribes like that of adi b hatim(ra) remained loyal muslims and fought against apostates so that does not hold any ground
furthermore it was Ashath b qays and jarir b abdullah who in the apostasy wars fought against muslims.These people pretended to side with Ali then later defected to muawiyah

But brother , let me allow again to jump into pool of history, it was from kufa that imam hussain(ra) received more than 600 letters to come kufa , where was muslim bin aqeel martyred???? where was his two little sons martyred?????
when muslim bin aqeel came to fight with zaid , all kufis came with zeal and raising slogan""""""'"Ya mansura ummatah""""""""but on zaid warning , all left him and after maghrib prayer , when muslim said " salam" the 7 remaing also ran , where this incident happened????????? who were the people who told zaid where muslim was hiding???? which army came to fight hussain(ra) ?????????

they were the descendents of those ashraf of kufa who had only given lukewarm support to Ali but now were trying to get rid of the ummayyads as they were not given participation in the govt. ...I never defend them they were criminals bought by muawiyah and later by ibn zubair

Is this from Syria , no brother no , it was all kufis and iraqis , not a single man came from Syria????? who martyred hussain(ra)????? who burnt thier khaimas???? who smashed thier bodies under their horses ????who snatched the scarfs of women????????? who chained imam zainul abideen ????????

now you are exaggerating 4000 with umar b sa'd came from syria
also dont forget the predominantly syrian army that pillaged madina and burned the kaabah
militarily there was no need to send the elite syrians to karbala in what was essentially a policing action from their point of view, they were to be needed soon enough in hijaz.

who put of the heads of hussain and family???????who fighted ali(ra) as kharjis?????who martyred him????who became unhappy of hassan(ra) peace agreement?????who cursed hassan(ra) and threw stones on him????

read my first post again never did i say that ALL kufans were blameless but you fail to distinguish between the good and bad ones
3000 of them kufans] also were the tawwabun who gave the ultimate sacrifice fighting against the SYRIANS and tried to avenge the blood of hussain(as), it was only the circumstances that prevented them from coming in time to the help of Hussaian(as) otherwise why would they give their lives simply to avenge his death? what did they have to gain except martyrdom?

Brother who did all this ??????? if this not happened , then why Mukhtar bin abi ubaid saqfi said that By God , i will run pools of blood in streets of Kufa and he did this

and mukhtar(ra) and many of his supporters were also kufans ....so it just proves my point
tell me this..... MQM gets elected from karachi almost always but are all karachiites supporters of MQM ? what about the huge sindhi pathan population in karachi? so should we blame ALL karachites for the policies of MQM no offence to any MQM supporters here]....similarly kufa was a big city of its time with people of different political inclinations

When Ali came to know that the rioters had cut off the water supply of the Caliph, he went to them and said, "O people. you are doing an evil thing. Such an act does not befit Muslims. Even non-Muslims do not do this. Why do you cut off the food and water supply of Othman? When the Iranians and the Christians take someone a prisoner, they give him food and water. What harm had Othman done to you? Why have you beseiged him?? Why are you sent on taking his life?"

it was talha (ra) who stopped the water