Who is Aga Khan…? Details please…
Thanks…
I think his photo album answered all the questions…
lol....no other sects of Islam consider them as Muslim. And Ismailiz don't care about that either. They are bz people in their businesses because their religion itself is business. Everything and every sin has its rates, so who will care if majority of Muslims will call them non-muslims.
why are you laughing? what's so funny?! or are you trying to make fun of them...? I've noticed it in a lot of your posts...don't you know Islam teaches us not to laugh at those who are not in the right path!
At one time, I spent part of Ramazan with a group of my collegues in Singapore... three of whom were Agha Khanis. Great guys and all. The only weird thing was that they told us that for them fasting is "optional", so they never really fasted. However, on Eid day they were all lash pash ready to go to Eid ki namaz. We teased them a bit about it, as to shouldn't Eid be optional too... but it was all in good humor.
They typically have their own "ibadaat khaanas" in most parts of the world, and I don't think they visit mosques. Quite a close-knit community and generally gentle manners. Usually they are in trade and merchandizing but are basically in all professions now a days. I think all of them contribute a portion of their income to the grand-fund of the Agha Khan, and Agha Khan foundation has a lot of projects going on in different parts of the world.
Someone once told me that they believe that Agha Khan has the blood of Ali (KW) flowing in his veins...Also, you can buy your way into Paradise...Depends on how much you spend you can either get a house, a palace or a 'kholi'...
I am sorry CorruptAngle if you didn't like my comments. I am not laughing because of they are gone astry but this thread reminded me of my friend back home who was Ismaili and unveiled so much about this business nature of their religion. I was remebering his words 'abay apun ka tou majub hi bijinish hai aur kiya bolay hum' :D he used to say that whenever we friend used to tease him on his 420ees. Sorry but when a gujrati is agakhani too he is more funny because of his language and how quickly he kicks out the beliefs during business and brings it in when caught red handed. Its a very common scene for the people who have lived with them closely, specially in certain areas of Karachi.
He told us about how the money revolves in the community from rich to poor and the otherway around, and how they can be cleaned like they were born yesterday by paying money. There is a fixed rate for every sin that they commit or any prayers (their own prayers not salaat) that they miss. And yes this paradise residence also has its own price, more you pay here to Aga Khan larger the palace is built in jannah for you. Maazallah!
Everyone here is quick to launch an all out assualt on how Ismailis are non-Muslims etc... No one mentioned the role of Agha Khan in the establishment of the League!!! If it werent for him, perhaps there would have been no Pakistan!!! They are Pakistanis too, give them a break! Give credit, where credit is due... And another thing, you may say they are not Muslims, but most of the ones I know are better hearted then some of our esteemed Muslim brothers... Oh, and they make good samosaas too! ;)
*Originally posted by Spock: *
Everyone here is quick to launch an all out assualt on how Ismailis are non-Muslims etc... No one mentioned the role of Agha Khan in the establishment of the League!!! If it werent for him, perhaps there would have been no Pakistan!!! They are Pakistanis too, give them a break! Give credit, where credit is due... And another thing, you may say they are not Muslims, but most of the ones I know are better hearted then some of our esteemed Muslim brothers... Oh, and they make good samosaas too! ;)
Who's launching an assault?
*Originally posted by Lajawab: *
Who's launching an assault?
Come on yar, look at the majority of the responses here... Everyones talking about their kartoots and how they are not muslims...
Unlike the Ahmadis, Ismailis are currently legally recognised as Muslims by all Sunni Muslim states. I think that Iran is the only state that does not recognise Ismailis as being Muslims.
For example Ismailis are currently permitted to freely enter Mecca and Medina.
Incidentally Faisal, one of my Ismaili friends mentioned to me that those whole deal about fasting during Ramadan being optional for them is rather controversial amongst even their own community. His mother, for example, considered fasting to be so obligatory that even when she was so ill that she could not get out of her bed, she made sure that she kept all of the fasts during Ramadan.
From what I gather, the Aga Khan declared fasting to be optional, but a minority amongst the Ismailis are disturbed by that and disagree.
I heard from someone that Ismailis Imams have to marry Non-Muslim women and that for them all the Muslim women are mothers and sisters. Is it true that it's neccesary for their Imam to marry only a Non-Muslim woman?
*Originally posted by mAd_ScIeNtIsT: *
Unlike the Ahmadis, Ismailis are currently legally recognised as Muslims by all Sunni Muslim states. I think that Iran is the only state that does not recognise Ismailis as being Muslims.
For example Ismailis are currently permitted to freely enter Mecca and Medina.
Incidentally Faisal, one of my Ismaili friends mentioned to me that those whole deal about fasting during Ramadan being optional for them is rather controversial amongst even their own community. His mother, for example, considered fasting to be so obligatory that even when she was so ill that she could not get out of her bed, she made sure that she kept all of the fasts during Ramadan.
From what I gather, the Aga Khan declared fasting to be optional, but a minority amongst the Ismailis are disturbed by that and disagree.
Thanks Maddy....I didn't know this fasting stuff. On the state level, ur rite saying that they are considered Muslims, but you know among the general people they are considered non Muslims.
May Allah Give Hidayat To All Of Us, We All Need It As Much As Somebody Else Do, And I Need MOST!
we all believe that Mohammed (Sallahoalihiwassalam) is the rightest and last Rasool, who has brought "Complete Deen", practiced and demostrated.
now there is no room for any sect.
how can there be?
the sects we see in islam are only the result of the lust of money and women of their respective beginers.
we see all these sects were born many many years after sahaba "rizwanallahiajmaeen." how is it possible that prophet and his followers were follwing wrong deen and the sects are on right path.
their teachings(sects) are qiute self contradictory and close to jewism and christanity. u will find some of their influences once u go through unpartial unaltred books of recognized historians.
THE LEAST WE CAN DO EVEN IF WE THINK IS THAT WE PRAY TO ALLAH THAT IF WE R ON THE RIGTH TRACK FOLLOWING THE CORRECT DEEN, THEN GIVE US THE COURAGE TO HOLD IS FASTER.
BUT IF NOT(SINCE THERE R SO MANY, N AFTER ALL FEW HAS TO BE WRONG) PLEASE GUIDE US TO RIGHT PATH.
WHEN SOMEBODY PRAY FOR RIGTH PATH FROM ALLAH HE DEFINATELY SHOWS ONE TO HIM.
(My humble and sincere request to all brothers and sisters)