A question on prayer......

My Arabic and Urdu/Punjuabi are non existant/loosely conversational at best so I do most my praying in English. I feel I can only express myself in English and though Allah knows my heart I think proper verbal expression is a must in duwa. Any way the question is is prayer in the English language, not a traditionally Islamic tongue, any less of a duwa in the eyes of:

1. Allah
  2. The scholars of Islam. (Not the dodgy ones).

Thanks brothers/sisters in advance.

Dear brother mo_best,

AsSalaamu 'alaykum,

when you say 'prayer', do you mean 'namaz/salaah' or do you mean 'du'aa/supplication'?

kind regards
&peace

"No leaf falls except that He knows of it, and no rain drop forms except that He has willed it."

Brother,

I mean duwa, but assume someone was to say his/her namaz in English what about that case?

When I do say my namaz (sadly thats a rarity) it is in Arabic, although I'm sure my pronunciation is far from perfect. Allah forgive me.

Dear mo_best,

Du'aa can be made in any language. Although it is more rewarding to supplicate in Arabic, as it is from the Sunnah and the language of the Qur'aan, one ought to know what he/she is asking for and saying while supplicating. Thus this should be carried out in a language which you understand and are familiar with.

However, as far as du'aas from the Sunnah are concerned, which the Prophet - salallaahu 'alayhi wa sallam - made in certain circumstances or for specific reasons, then these should be recited in Arabic. For example, the supplications for salaat-ul-istikhaara; or leaving the house, or entering the market, or after ablution, or entering the masjid etc. But it is important that we try our best to also learn their meanings insha'Allaah.

As far as namaz is concerned, then this can only be recited in Arabic, but as i have already touched on, we should try and learn the meaning of that which we recite. This will help us not just to concentrate in prayer, but also bring khushoo (awareness and humbleness toward Allaah) and in turn increase our eemaan insha'Allaah.

My dear brother mo_best, i would sincerely advise you to try and pray regularly insha'Allaah and also try and find someone who can help you improve your recitation, if you feel that it is weak. It is important that we perfect our recitation of the Book of Allaah, because Arabic is such a rich language that slight variations in prunciation can alter the meaning of the text. In fact, reciting the Qur'aan correctly (i.e. Tajweed) is a science of its own, which unfortunately too many Muslims (particularly those from the Indian sub-continent) neglect.

Further, i would encourage you to memorise as much Qur'aan as possible. The Messenger of Allaah - salaatuhu wa sallam - explained that there are 100 levels of Paradise. On the Day of Judgement the believer shall be asked to recite Qur'aan and shall be elivated to the higher levels according to hom much Qur'aan he/she has memorised; the more one recites, the higher one will go.

If you would like to insha'Allaah improve your recitation, please send me a PM and i'll try and find out if there is anyone in your area who can help you better it insha'Allaah.

take care&regards,
WasSalaam

"No leaf falls except that He knows of it, and no rain drop forms except that He has willed it."

Hasnain bhai I'd like to improve my recitation, umm are there any online resources for that?

Dear ammarr,

I'm sure that there are some out there, although i haven't searched for any myself.

I recall a friend of mine mentioning to me a few weeks backs of Tajweed on-line. He's on holiday in Pak at the moment, but i'll ask him as soon as he returns insha'Allaah.

Please remind me, incase i forget s

acha mere bhai, take care

WasSalaam

Let me take this opportunity to ask a question regarding salaat.

Most Ahlay-Sunnah/Hadiths from the sub-continent, after finishing their salat, do a dua holding up the hands (which may include their own language) lead by the Imam (in case its a jama'at salat) or personally.

What is the reasoning behind it? Is this practiced due to a specific Hadiths or Sunnah? A reference will be much appreciated.

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
Let me take this opportunity to ask a question regarding salaat.

Most Ahlay-Sunnah/Hadiths from the sub-continent, after finishing their salat, do a dua holding up the hands (which may include their own language) lead by the Imam (in case its a jama'at salat) or personally.

What is the reasoning behind it? Is this practiced due to a specific Hadiths or Sunnah? A reference will be much appreciated.

i have never seen ahl-e-sunaa do that, maybe cuz i am out of the sub-continent....

but there is no evidence that the sahaaba use to raise their hands when sitting in a group and the Prophet Muhammad (pbuh) saying a duaa....
they just said "aameen" without raising hands....

anyway, do wait for a better response, i do not have references (cuz there isnt anything to prove otherwise)....

yup armughal is right, I dont think there's any evidence to support the collective raising of hands and making dua. Also, I couldn't find anything to support waiting for the Imaam to finish his dua before the others could get up and make their Salaat. My knowledge in this regard however is pretty limited so maybe someone else can expand on the topic.

I am kinda confused now. Sorry if my question was ambiguous, let me ask it one more time.

The school I went to had congregational Zuhar *prayers. And I observed that after offering the *farad 4 raka'at and before *sunat *prayers, the Imam sahib would turn towards us students behind him and raise his hands while sitting down & everyone will do so as well. (See the attached image below) At times he would say supplications out loud, for example close to Independence Day or Eid day etc. but mostly he would say it silently and we followed.

So, my question is that is this dua after farad prayers considered mandatory, because we never missed it? If so, what is the reasoning behind it.

Secondly, it might not be necessary to hold up hands like armagul mentioned but is it necessary to offer a dua after farad prayers?

Here is image ...

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *

*So, my question is that is this dua after farad prayers considered mandatory, because we never missed it? If so, what is the reasoning behind it.

One of the recommended times to make du'a is right after you have performed a good deed. It may be that since fardh salah is one of the best actions that a Muslim can perform that making du'a right after it has come to be seen as something highly recommended. There is also the following authentic hadith:

Abu Umamah relates that someone asked Allah's Messenger (s): "O Messenger of Allah (s), which du'a is the most likely to be heard (by Allah)?" He replied: "The one made during the middle of the night and at the end of the compulsory salah." (at-Tirmidhi #3499)

This hadith would appear to support the view that du'a after you have finished salah is a good thing. However, there is a difference of opinion as to how this hadith is to be interpreted. This is because the words in this hadith "at the end of the compulsory salah" can have two possible meanings:

1. These words can mean at the end of the salah after you have said salam to the right and left. In other words, you have finished salah and thereafter raise your hands to make du'a.

2. But it is also possible that these words mean at the end of the salah before you have said salam. Here the difference is that you are still in the salah itself and you make the du'a prior to saying salams. Of course, since you are in salah you wouldn't raise your hands under such circumstances. We are probably all used to saying a du'a at this time anyway, at the end of the salah after we have recited the Tashahud and sent Durood on the Prophet (s).

Ibn Taymiyyah (d.728H) was asked whether making du'a after salah was Sunnah or not. He was also asked whether someone would be correct if he criticised an Imam who didn't make du'a after the Asr salah. Here is his answer:

"All praise is for Allah. The Prophet (s) did not make du'a after the five daily salah, nor did those behind him, as is the practice of some people after the Fajr and Asr salah - this is not reported from anyone. None of the scholars held this practice to be recommended. And whoever reports that (Imam) ash-Shafi'i viewed this practice as being recommended is mistaken, rather the wording from his (ash-Shafi'i's) book negates this and the same is the case for (Imam) Ahmed and other scholars who also did not hold this practice to be recommended.

However, some companions of (Imam) Ahmed and (Imam) Abu Hanifah and others recommended du'a after Fajr and Asr, saying: 'There is no salah after these two prayers and so du'a takes their place.' And a group of the companions of (Imam) ash-Shafi'i and others recommend du'a after the five salah, and all of them are agreed that one who does not make du'a is not to be criticised...

And if the Imam and the followers make du'a after the salah sometimes for a reason which presents itself then that will not be counted as being contrary to the Sunnah, as is the case, however, with the one who constantly does it (i.e. constantly making du'a after salah is contrary to the sunnah, whereas doing it sometimes is not).

The authentic hadith show that the Prophet (s) used to make du'a at the end of salah - before the salam - and this is what he (s) would order the people to do as we have explained and quoted the hadith for... the person performing salah is calling privately upon his Lord so when he gives salam he finishes that (private discourse) and turns away. And it is known that it is fitting that the servant beseech his Lord whilst he is privately calling on Him (i.e. within salah), not after finishing (the salah) and turning away." end of quote

And Allah knows best.

Iqbal

making duaa at the end of the fardh prayer is one of the times of the acceptance of duaa (which has been pointed out by saheeh hadith)....

but raising the hands as u show in the pic is not evident from hadith....

however, i dont see any wrnog in it, since it just makes a person more humble and that is exactly how one shud be before his Lord....

Jazak'Allah iqbal for the explanation.

Fiqh Ahmadiyya that I follow (which by the way is closest to Fiqh Hanafi) takes the second interpretation, i.e. supplicating at the end of salat before salam.

Performing a collective or individual dua after salat is not prohibited but making a habit out of it is strongly discouraged mainly because it’s practice is not proven from AnHazoor (saw) sunnah or even of his sahabah. What is considered bidah is if out of habit the actual salat becomes short & hasty and dua after that becomes long, which sometimes I have seen people doing.

Originally posted by armughal: *
**but raising the hands as u show in the pic is not evident from hadith....

One of the etiquettes of making du'a is that you raise your hands. This is confirmed in a number of hadith. For example, Allah's Messenger (s) said:

"Truly Allah is modest/shy and beneficent. He is shy that when His servant raises his hands to Him that He should return them empty handed, disappointed." (Abu Dawud, at-Tirmidhi & ibn Majah)

Iqbal

Is fiqh Ahmediyah even comparable to sunni Islam, as the core is such kufr. I mean the actions may be the same, but from a spiritual POV-are they even comparable to us?

Iqbal i think i did mention, i am talking about groups not individual....

*Originally posted by mo_best: *
Is fiqh Ahmediyah even comparable to sunni Islam, as the core is such kufr. I mean the actions may be the same, but from a spiritual POV-are they even comparable to us?

dont compare black and white....
as for me i dont even see ahmedis as muslims....
they r what they call themselves, ahmedis, nothing else....

Originally posted by armughal: *
**dont compare black and white....
as for me i dont even see ahmedis as muslims....
they r what they call themselves, ahmedis, nothing else.... *

it's a good thing your opinion is worthless.

I to see Ahmedis as Kafir, they deny the finality of our master and son on, but as ppl I have no beef with any of them. Some of my associates are Ahmedis and there nice enough.