A question for Chefs of GS.

Gelatin: you know the stuff in jello.

what is it made off. and is it halal or haram, please dont move this to Rlgn. section cause i will have a fatwa issued against me.

Thankyou kindly. and hugs and kisses to the chefs. (not the male ones)

even if you are not a chef. halal hugs and kisses xoxo.

Re: A question for Chefs of GS.

Gelatin is a jelly like connective tissue found on the joints of animals and on the stems of plants. In west gelatin is mostly made from pig, therefore is haram. In east (Middle East and Pakistan) it is made from cows and I think in India it is basically from plants. (Once they extract gelatin from an animal or plant, then they take it to the factories for processing it)

wth, i love jello, i even know the jingle. hold on let me go tell my mother.

well ma brother-in-law told me, most of the time gelatine comes from west to Pak. I mean i m not sure, but it is made from the bones of animal, sometimes even dog bones too.

i heard it also comes from seaweed???

afsoos keh halal haram ka tu pak main bhi nahin pata chalta babu soos.jitnay gadhay kuttay aur billaian hotay un sab ki haddi ka surma bana kar gelatin nikal laitay hain, aur halal keh kar baichtay hain.

have barfee instead.

thank you

Gelatin made from vegetable source is available too, look for it

When in doubt, go vegetarian :k:

You are welcome :flower2: Kicks and punches to you too

but remember :

There is no such thing as female chefs or good female drivers on earth, if you are talking about some other planet please mention it clearly in statement, henceforth

You can buy 'halal' Jelly at most Pakistani shops. From my understanding, the 'gelatin' that is found in Danone yoghurt ( :( ) and Jello is haram.

Jello is really called Jelly

Soossyy

you can have calves foot Jelly, it contains no added geletin.. although the calves foot may be haraam

Pollyanna used to give it out to ill people.

recipe for healthy jelly for peopel on diet or for peopel with diabetes

take a clear natural juice.. for a sophisticated adult dinner party try fresh unsweetened pressed apple juice with elderflower cordial,

or peach and grape juice perhap with a hint of rose essence or orange flower
(if you have)
bring to the boil , add veg gelatin boil and then cool a little and pour into wine glasses or tall champagne flutes, add a few berries and rose petals

its very clean tasting, and clears the palate

for kids parties you can use your favourite juice or juice drink(containing a little sugar)

in the UK, roundtrees ready made pots of jelly are vegetarian and you can get powdered jelly crystals in holland and barrat. also the jelly in those birds trifle boxes doesnt contain gelatin

Codey; stop hangin around lower east village. :slight_smile:

Thank you all :k:

soosyy

you must eat a lot of jello to be so upset by the fact its haraam

Gelatin:
glutinous material obtained from animal tissues by boiling; especially **: a colloidal protein used as a food, in photography, and in medicine

Pectin:
any of various water-soluble substances that bind adjacent cell walls in plant tissues and yield a gel which is the basis of fruit jellies;

Gelatin is Haram:
Pectin is Halal

well i like my jello and vodka shots, i always thought one haram and one halal will balance it out. but two harams dont make it right.

^^ :rotfl:

jassoos khan U dork u r soo cute :hug:

haha dar gya

it's kosher gelatin in danon.

:cb:

there is a GELATIN in DANON Yogurt?!?!

U guys must be kidding me! Thats my all time fav yogurt and …muaaaaaaaaaaaa :crying:

lagta mainey abb faQouN say marna hai! :smack2: