Okay I have a question about taharat. This is not a joke and a serious question so please answer if you know the answer. That would be greatly appreciated. If possible give any supporting Ayah or Hadith that you know to support your comment.
“Is it right to read “kalimah” while performing Taharat or during ghusul”…
You DO NOT read "kalimah" while in the process or after or before doing Taharat. The only thing you would do is read that dua (somone posted here before I don't have the link but I hope someone would post again here in this thread) while entering and exiting bathroom.
Ghusul
There are 3 steps on doing Ghusul. And it has been stated that Prophet (PBUH) used to go to bathroom first before doing the Ghusul.
a. Read the Kalimah first
b. Clean your mouth (Kurli) don't know how I would say it in English
c. Clean your nose make sure the water goes all the way inside your knows and its good to use the fingers to clean the nose from inside
After that start taking bath and make sure your whole body gets wet with water.
I can not provide you a link on the internet for this since I did not read this any where on the net but this is what I have been thought and I have also confirmed this from one of the Sheikh (not any mullah but a reliable/knowledgeable Sheikh) in our Mosque.
And when doing ghusl...does it have to be a shower...as in fresh water touching your body...or does simply jumping into a bathtub constitute that aspect of ghusl?...
I have two sorts of peole around me. One who says you need to read Kalimah during Taharat and second says NO you shouldn't........
I have asked both groups the reason behind, the first who says you should read it, claims that you are cleaning a "Najasat" and you cannot be clean (both physicall and spiritually) without reading Kalimah and if you touch other things without doing so, everything becomes "Paleed". They say that we are using "Kalimah" to achieve "Paki" and Kalimah is just an affirmation.......... it is more important to know the obligations, duties of a Muslims and fulfilling them properly rather than just considering the Kalimh a "Pak" kalaam and then forgetting about everything.......
The second group who says no it should not be read during Taharat, says that it is because Kalimah is "Paak" and respectable, we don;t read it in "Ghusal khana/letrine(Bathroom), by doing so we are doing "behurmati" of Kalimah. When I asked from them about the claim of the first group that what about "Paki and Paleedi" they were not able to answer anything except, that "Kalimah" ki behurmati hoti hai is tarha......
About Ghusal, the same conflicting opinion was obtained, so I was compelled to write it here..............
Noop, when you do ghusal, you have to let the water flow over your body either by shower or with a utensil, you cannot do tub sitting and fullfil the requirements of “Ghusal”
Tub sitting is equivalent to taking a bath “Nahana” but it is not the same as Ghusal…
Simple: "Amaal Ka Daromadar Neiat par hai"
Why do you guys want to get into nitty gritty stuff when we have bigger fish to fry? Allah is all knowing and he knows your intention. If you are taking a Ghusl to cleanse yourself so you can say your prayers ..Allah knows that, reciting Kalimah is not going to make or break your ghusl.
Lahore bhai you are right that there are two shcools of thought...one with reading Kalimah even after you are done answering nature call and one says not to read Kalimah.
To my understanding and knowledge that you need to do Ghusul only when you are "napak" so if we go by the 1st school of thought (the one that thinks that you need to read Kalimah after asnwering nature call) than one MUST do Ghusul every time they go to bathroom since they think you become napaak answering nature call.
The dua that you read when entering and exiting the bathroom is good enough to make you paak if you think you become napaak by doing so but I don't consider that one becomes napaak. Ghusul is something special and I think Ghusul is only done on few occasions such as when one sleeps with his/her spouse (you know what I mean).
There are people who consider Taharat as cleaning spirtually but my understanding is that Taharat basically means one MUST use water to clean him/her after answering nature call and there is a different process if one cannont find water.
Again this is my understanding otherwise there are people out there who go to such extreme that they totally mess up the whole meaning of the orignal.
Kaleem bhai Kalimah is a MUST for Ghusul otherwise one is not paak and I am talking about only for Ghusul. Its same as if you are praying and during your prayer if you don’t read Surah Fatiha than your prayer is not complete. There are some things you need to follow properly but ofcourse not taking it to extreme so don’t think you would get by if you don’t read Kalimah when doing Ghusul. Rest is up to you I am only voicing my opinion.
Teaser Sahab, I really appreciate your input. There are certain situations where "Ghusal" is "Wajib" and as you have told us, there is a specific method for ghusal and even if one read "kalimah" or whatsoever, "ghusal" will not be complete without those necessary elements............
For the sake of discussion, lets keep the ghusal issue aside, lets first deal with the issue of "Taharat" ..... My question is, if it is just "washing with water" then why not using "Tissue paper"???? Or some other anti-septic, had it been just a simple matter of physical cleansing .......
Plus: I think this is a very important issue for us because I have seen some of our fellows have adopted the "Westernized cleansing methodology" and I think it should be clarified......
For the sake of discussion, first I would like to know when you say one should read Kalimah for Taharat what exactly you mean by this? Here are some speculations...
a. one should read Kalimah on entering/exiting bathroom?
b. one should read Kalimah while cleaning?
c. one should read Kalimah while washing hands after he/she is done with Taharat?
Tell me when one should read Kalimah and than we can discuss this in more detail.
If its a matter of cleaning physically and spirtually than to my understanding...
Physically:
One would clean with water to get rid of najasat properly and it make perfect sence that water cleans it properly as compare to using tissue paper or anti-septic BECAUSE water can reach to the parts where tissue paper would not. Anti-septic that depends if you are talking about anti-septic as in the form tissue paper with anti-septic on it or anti-septic in the form of liquid. If in the form of tissue paper than it would be same as using normal tissue paper but if in the form of liquid than why not just use water?
Spirtually:
Sure one can cleanse spirtually and thats why there is that dua which one should read on entering/exiting the bathroom. Why it HAS to be Kalimah that will cleanse spirtually? On top of that there is no mentioning of this in hadith or Qur'aan (as far as I know but if there is than I guess there is no need to even discuss this).
I heard from a Mufti who said that "If the person has made it a habit to recite the Kalmah or any other Wird all the time, then even if he is in need of Ghusal or go for Taharah he can recite it with out the movement of tounge. "
If the person is not reciting it all the time then he should use the duaa's which are mentioned in Hadith for that purpose.
Hum, all I came to know was the word “During Taharat” and I myself don’t know what do they refer to out of these 2 options…
Yeah, I’ll talk to the ones who say we should read Kalimh, what do they mean and then post it here in this thread. Last time I spoke to them they said, “How would you feel if a person just cleaned himself with water after defecation without reading Kalimah and then served you food with the same hands?” I know it is a little awkward but this is what they claimed last time. They said everything you touch with those hands becomes “Paleed”…
And about tissue paper Vs water, I guess your comment is quite reasonable.
I used to read Kalimah while washing hands after I am done from bathroom but I was told one should not read Kalimah cuz there is no specific hadith or any Qur’aanic verse. Plus to me it make sence of not reading Kalimah. I think going to bathroom does not make someone paleet spirtually but physically yes and thus cleaning with water does the job.
You know it has been stated that cleansing is half of your Iman and one of the part of cleansing is to keep the finger nails short. We know there are people out there who grow their nails specially ladies to make their hands look pretty or for using nail polish or what ever the reason. Now going by the above statement I wonder those who grow their nails do they clean every single nail every time they visit bathroom? If they don’t does reading Kalimah will somehow magically clean their nails and thus they can serve or eat the food?
I think some people are so used to certain things and its hard for them to change.
I dont know if anyone answered the question or not …
Taharat means cleanliness, making your body clean (Pakeezgi in urdu). In islamic sense it has very specific meanings
Taharat is requirement for any prayer or religious act in islam.
-If someone indulge in sex or get discharge(sexual) or women after end of perods .. he/she is required to perform ghusal (bath/shower with clean water and washing mouth, nostrils 3 times)
-after using toilet, properly washing areas of discharge with water
Hello teaser ji, I am back. This is what I came to know from them....
They say, you are supposed to read kalimah when you are cleaning yourself and then washing your hands. After that, wash your hands with soap too. Then come out of the bath room.....
The other party says, no need to read kalimah at anytime. If you want, you can wash your hands with soap, thats upto you......