A question about Hz. Ali :razi:...

Re: A question about Hz. Ali :razi:

^ It is deemed to be authentic for you and you will not deny it when I bring as proof of what I am saying. - That simple.

Dr. Sufi- Welcome to Gupshup :flower1: nice analysis :k:

Respectable Code_Red

Thanks for the compliments.

Regards

And i am not denying it…there is condemnation of those who refused to fight and praise for those who fought well…
but what u are saying is that those parts that are critical of syrians are not authentic but those that admonishes the kufans are…I dont see the logic

^ Sorry brother, I think that you got me wrong. I am not picking and choosing parts which are favourable to my stance.

Brother Lajawab had posed a question and I gave narrations of Hz. Ali (ra) condemning and rebuking his followers for his ‘apparent failures’.

And if you were to read the quotations of Hz. Ali (ra) with unbiased heart you will agree that Hz. Ali (ra) was let down by those who claimed to be his followers. Whether they were cowards or prone to corruption, it is initially their fault in the first place and it shows how fickle was their loyalty in the first place.

So my stance is that Hz. Ali (ra) was more damaged by his own camp than by his opponents. And the proof is in the narrations of Hz. Ali (ra) himself.

I am in now way absolving the Syrians of their misdeeds.

Since I was quoting everything from Nahjul Balagha [reason being that if the narrations and quotations were from Sunnis sources you would have jumped up and said that these hold no ‘Hujjah’ [proof] for you as the narrations are biased], I just wanted you to know stance of **eminent Sunni scholars **towards authenticity of Nahjul Balagha – And they have censured some of the narrations attributed to Hz. Ali (ra) and not the whole of the book. I have copy of Nahjul Balagha with me and there are really wonderful sayings [Pearls of Wisdom] of Hz. Ali (ra) in it.

I was not giving my personal opinion. I am not a scholar but just an ordinary bloke. Just see what I had said in my post.

true that is why I merely said that the followers cannot be be held solely responsible i am not saying that they were not responsible at all

I think many of them were both corrupt and cowards there is no denying that but the roots of the problem were deeper.than that …the source of all the conflict was the revolts that took place before …furthermore lets not forget those who served Ali loyally and the martyrs of these battles

My opinion is that the blame lies more on those who started the revolts in the first place…(also based on some of the letters/sermons addressed to the syrians

thanks brother das reich..you have said this many times but some people like to ignore this :slight_smile: I salute these warriors and companions of Maula Ali :as:

Re: A question about Hz. Ali :razi:…

:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap: Mashallah! What a nice reply!

Welcome on board. :wave:

Hazrat Ali a.s. was such a great stateman that even the UN quotes him.

In a statement delivered on the fiftieth anniversary year of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

From – http://www.un.org/News/Press/docs/1997/19971209.SGSM6419.html

The principles enshrined in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights are deeply rooted in the history of humankind. They can be found in the teachings of all the world’s great cultural and religious traditions.

** Imam Ali, the fourth Khalifa after Prophet Muhammed, instructed the governor of Egypt to rule with mercy and tolerance towards all his subjects: **
** “… Let the dearest of your treasuries be the treasury of righteous action… Infuse your heart with mercy, love and kindness for your subjects. Be not in the face of them a voracious animal, counting them as easy prey, for they are of two kinds: either they are your brothers in religion or your equals in creation.”**

Indeed there’s no youth like Ali (a.s), no sword like Zulfiqar.

Br. Ibn Sadique:

:jazak: for your great input as always…

But we do come to the same circle…How come Hz. Ali Ibn Abu Talib :razi: was not able to inspire in his followers the same verve and dedication that other Khulafa could? What was the fault in his followers that he asks for 1 of Ameer Muawiya :razi:'s men against ten of his?

Why in so many sermons does Hz. Ali :razi: bemoan the shortcomings of his own followers or Shian-e-Ali? Did he not inspire enough loyalty in them? Or was it the shortcomings of his followers?

Why was it that the Kuffans who on two occasions, even after pledging fealty and loyalty to the death, abandon him and his son in their hour of need? Whose fault was it?

Although I understand the sentiments behind many replies here, they come out of genuine love for the last of the Khulafa-e-Rashideen, however, these are questions which for me hold curiosity…
Maddie:** I don’t agree with you…

No one faced more challenges than Hz. ABu Bakr :razi:, because right after the demise of the Holy Prophet :saw:, the leaderless Muslim nation was on the brink of collapse from breakaway factions…From those who opposed the Zakat to false prophets and attacks from enemy nations…

In those times, Hz. Abu Bakr (razi) pulled together the fledgling Ummah and rallied forth against many foes both from within and without and persevered splendidly…The expansion of Islam under him was no small feat considering that he was thrust with a daunting responsibility with only the example of the Holy Prophet (saw) to guide him…

History is witness to the greatness of nations whose leaders inspired thier followers to do the unthinkable…Not the other way round…
Dr. Sufi:**

MashAllah Br. Sufi…What a splendid response from you…JazakAllah…Your response denotes that you possess knowledge along with good graces which speaks of a sublime intellect…I appreciate your wonderful response brother and I have gained much wisdom from your response…

In time I would address your post separately, and it is true, I hold great love for the Sahaba RadhiaAllahtaalaAnhum, for they were the best of the best of nations…

Re: A question about Hz. Ali :razi:…

Because all of them or may i say majority of them were not loyal or dedicated towards their ‘4th caliph’ like the people (though being on wrong side) were loyal to their leaders muawiyah.

And that is something not strange, there have been people of such kind in every era including the time of Holy Prophet [s] where some of his known companions had abandoned Him[s] during war to run for their lives. So, shortcomings can bethere in some of people of a selected group.

Shortcomings of “Followers” not of “Shian-e-Ali” as there is slight yet very grave difference between the two. Those who sided with Ali were of 3 types of people, who were:

1. Loyal to Ali (as) because they deemed him to be the khalifa/Imam after Rasulullah (s); They were the “Shian-e-Ali” in true (religious) sense, who were not so many in numbers.
  2. Loyal to Ali (as) because his khailafath was legitimate in accordance to the principles of ijma, bayya had been given hence it was compulsory to obey him e.g. Ubayy bin Kab . (means those who deemed him 4th caliph, were many in numbers)
    *]Loyal to Ali (as) as long as he fought Mu’awiya once arbitration was accepted these same people turned their backs on the Imam and became Khwaarijee.
    It should also be noted that all of these 3 categories of people were known as Shian-e-Ali at that time.

[quote=Das Reich]

[quote=Lajawab]

He inspired loyalty in many of his followers and many of them were already dead in the battlefields of Jamal and siffin by the time these sermons were given…killed at the hands of those rebels to the rightful Imam.
those who were not in the vanguard of fighting were obviously now in majority
It is interesting that these rebels which you hold in such high regard were responsible for shedding the blood of thousands of muslims of the best generations(sahaba and tabaeen) you totally ignore their contribution towards making the caliphate of Ali a ‘failure’

[quote=Lajawab]

AbuBakr(ra) was successful because those who intially oppossed him gave him their wholehearted support to him as soon as the false prophets appeared because the interests of Islam was dearer to them than their own self.
At the time of Ali(as) some ( who had a high standing in the ummah) and some others who accepted Islam grudgingly placed their own personal interests first …and caused a lasting rift amongst the muslims.

[quote=little human]
:clap::clap::clap::clap::clap::clap: Mashallah! What a nice reply!

Dear Br

Thanx for the compliments

Regards

Respected Lajawab

Assalam-o-Alaikum

Thanks for the compliments.

Regards.