a problem

i m married but never ever make anything, though we have a maid to cook but i also want to cook like my mum.my parents in law not even say a word for any purpose but my mum says that atleast i shud interfere in the kitchen.

so…
i like cooking, have so many cook books…buuuuuttttttt i m just confused “kiya banaon?kis technique sy banaon k sab pasand kerin”…?

n i just afraid of namak mirch …(khin kam ziyada na ho jaye)

plzzzz help…

Re: a problem

i think its alwyas better to use a light hand with the mirch and salt... b/c those can always be added later...whereas the opposite, too spicy, cannot always be undone.

Well the best bet is to start practicing with small quantities, try out a good recipe...the aj kya pakaya khya thread has amazing looking stuff.

Fazeelat, don't be afraid, start with simple stuff, then move on. You should remember even the best cook had to start somewhere, everything is learnt with practice. As Sara says, don't put a lot of salt and chilli in, TASTE first, then add.

U can let the maid do most of the cooking and make just one dish, then see how that goes. This means that if u r afraid people won't like it, they have the other stuff made by your maid.

U can make a simple keema dish or pilau maybe? Loads of recipes on this site.

jee fazeelat jaisay RW nay kaha kai is site per daikhyain recipes,,kion kai yahan aksar friends hainjin ki nayee shadee huwee hai yia woh jo cooking expertrs(not from tv prog)...unki recipes follow karayin,,INSHALLAH suub sahee hoga,,simple recipe say start karayin,,diffrent kind of daals,qeema..allo ghousht ,,waghera...aur phir paka ker hum ko batayin kaisa bana,,:)

ask the maid to teach you

Well I guess don't be afraid of experimenting, you just need to have a little sense of what kind of thing can go togather and won't taste bad. For salt and spices, start will little, if you feel you need more then you can always add more. Go with simple dishes and when your maid is cooking maybe observe her, pick tips from her, or even as her to teach if that will help you. If you can't cook without a recipe, then get recipes from internet or cook books and have them infront of you when cooking.

I can give you tuition but you will have to pay me, because I am gifted cook , highly innovative , creative and health conscious. All in one :k:

Oh God ! I love myself :smooth:

i love cooking … i m alone .. i used to cook each n everything .. frm breakfast to dinner …i myself …frm Burger , Pizza to biryani …:smooth:

hmm…no thanx i just want encouragement coz i can get tuition frm my mom coz she is a very good cook but she is in another city…anyways thanx i will manage..

thanx to all

Some useful tips from personal experience:
http://www.paklinks.com/gs/household-affairs-cuisine-corner/276958-cant-cook-getting-married-post5657037.html#post5657037

Before you ask it I am a man. I learned it all by overhearing my mother , sister , bhabies talk about this stuff back home. When I came to US I had never even boiled an egg but since I was single for about two years I had to implement it all . Then last year my wife got sick to the point that she could not pour even her chai in the cup. (She is back to normal Alhumdulilllah) so I had to learn some more tricks to please the kids who do not like the desi foods which have too much oil or too much salan.

awww so sweet n caring father..

Like someone said, ask the maid to teach you.

My parents house has a maid to cook too and I learnt a lot of my cooking from her. She's such an amazing cook.

The fact that she worked with other families before working at our place, she brought with her so much knowledge bout various things that you just cannot learn from reading a book.

Though I still never have or never will venture into making rotis EVER