A Pleasent Change

Recently i had a chance to go for sum interviews in U.S, they went fine but quite surprisingly (@least for me) I was not asked a single word abt my marital status, future marriage plans etc. in any one of them. I use to get very :naraz: on this issue and had quite conviniently ratafied a long speech which i use to give in every other interview in pakistan related to the matter. I think it’s time to forget it now na :smiley:
It feels nice being evaluated on same grounds :yahoo:

Re: A Pleasent Change

^ Why in teh world would they ask ur marital status on a job interview ???

Glad ur happy though :hehe: But i think thats’ the law here, job candidates are supposed to be evaluated on their education/work experience, and not religion, marital status, race/ethnicity etc..

because when ur married...u would eventually want kids...with kids u have a lay off...which supposely causin the learning curve to go down or new advancin are, or a younger woman eventually will take ur place...and btw this is why ur wage is like 86 cents to a mans 1........have fun ladies

yaar sara in pakistan for whichever firm I went for an interview they use to ask me do I have plans to get married in future if i m not already married. Most prolly coz my job is kindda demanding in terms of travelling n timingz wagaira and in pakistan mostly galz leave their jobs after getting married so employers think k v'll hire her 2day n she'll leave us in sum critical project for her mayoon/ mehndi ki rasam. And hiring a person definitely generate costs for a firm so may b that's y pakistani firms are risk averser in that matter.

Itni khushi !!!

hmmm

:hmmm:

lagta hia baat pakki ho gai hai :hmmm:

Acha seemi ji !

Ye tu bata do ke larka karta kia hai ?? date phix ho gai ? :roman:

I dont think its odd question in an interview, they just want to know how flexible you can be if there is out of hours call or away from home, which is difficult for married people, and if the job is mainly focused on mobility etc

ASking about flexibility for travel is a very common question here in the US as well, if the job requires it. In addition, they can also discuss longer working hours and any issues that may create for you. But they won't ask you for your marital status or kids or religion etc; since that should play no part in your selection for the position. If you want to volunteer additional info, thats up to you,

Ohh okay that makes sense then! But I dunno abt here, if marital status is even asked at a job interview or anything.. :halo:

Unfortunately TD has a point, the fact that women will take time off to have kids/expected of them to is the reason their wage is still not as equal to a mans :frowning: