A Philosophical Question

Why do we even bother to watch Pk tv channels, such as ARY PTV PrimeTv???

If Pakistanis were born tasteless, then why do we seek entertainment?

is this wat u call philosophy? :rolleyes:

why do Pakistani channels look tasteless to you?

1- pakistanis weren't born tateless... they were made tasteless by the comparison of the so-called better world.In my openion we are tasteful as well as tasty.

2-what has that got to do with ARY and prime TV???

lol not exactly a philosophical question laikin I will answer anyway, ab kya hai na kai we gharib people have lots of time on our hands! Why not spend it watching Shehzada Faisal fall in love with some moti, or how bout watching some ugly skinny "artist" sing songs and fall in love with a girl that he can only dream of having, and the only way he can come close to her is by making her model in his video! Yaar in all seriousness PTV lets you stay connected with Pakistan. You dont miss Pakistan as much when ur watching PTV, just because they re spekaing urdu.. your language..

good point :k:

errr... Am I the odd one out here hummm

Listen... i really must appriciate your patriotism!!!

But still for the better or worse... I'm right! ;)

but Paki stories are the best! especially some of those old Drama's shown on PTV WORLD.

*Originally posted by Sharafat_Ka_Namouna: *
but Paki stories are the best! especially some of those old Drama's shown on PTV WORLD.

that true, in fact a lot beter than those shown on Star+, SET or Zee, where the prime topic of all soaps revolves around a women, getting pregnant, disco-shisco, abortion, etc. + thoses dramas are streached like a bubble gum! they do tend to be monotonous and sometimes totally out of order!

Exactly :k: i love some old Pakis Drama’s like Aanch, And and and :confused:… many more

1. This is not a philosophical question.

2. No ethnicity or culture is born tasteless. Taste is not a genetic trait.

Maybe you could ask why has Pakistan not moved forward in terms of technological quality? I would say its cuz of lack of money, really. People in Pakistan dont take entertainers seriously, so that factors in too. Plus this whole idea of anything not Pakistani is so much better has hurt the industry a lot. Folks will run after the most idiotic and senseless Indian or American movie, but they dont appreciate any form of entertainment in their own land.

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
1. This is not a philosophical question.

NAAAA... so you finally figured it!!!!! yaar is called eing an attention seaker ;)

1. No ethnicity or culture is born tasteless. Taste is not a genetic trait. [/QUOTE]

whaevr!

Maybe you could ask why has Pakistan not moved forward in terms of technological quality?

Ok then, so why hasn't it?

I would say its cuz of lack of money, really.
It would say it due to lack of expertise, rthater than lack of money1 Haven't you ever been to PK, believe me, ppl shed mony like water!!!! so don't underestimate!

People in Pakistan dont take entertainers seriously, so that factors in too.

Now you'e coming up with radom and discrete facts

Plus this whole idea of anything not Pakistani is so much better has hurt the industry a lot.

whaa???

Folks will run after the most idiotic and senseless Indian or American movie, but they dont appreciate any form of entertainment in their own land.

yes, but look at the type of media products pakis come up with!!! nearly all of the movie titles in lollywood are direct rip-off of that of indian originals! so wha-ve you got to say about this then!

Nearly, everyone in thepaki filmindustry is mad about the posbect of workig in a bollywood movie. a fine example would be the recent behaviour of Mira!

not to mention Saas-bahu! :hehe: all those drama’s just suck! :nook:

yeh and not to mention that every drama has a typical viin in it. They simply cannot make a drama without one!

ok aladin, are u talking about films specifically, cuz those were the examples you cited, or the entertainment industry as a whole (music, fashion, tv, film, etc)?

If you're talking about films specifically, then I can understand what you're saying, and to explain the problems there and the people trying to bring back quality would take another thread entirely.

I can see what you're saying about money. But money does factor in when refined actors and actresses dont want to work in a movie with a 1 crore budget which probably wont be able to afford much of anything except village clothing with gotha work on it, and perhaps a few sets.

As for expertise, yes this is a big problem. Again, people dont take entertainment as a serious profession, and that is why you dont see a film school, or tv school, or even courses in many colleges. It would be a good idea to start up a school, but who would do it? A lot of people are going abroad to take courses, and then coming back to work, but there's not many that can afford to do that.

Its a poor third world country - what do you expect?

*Originally posted by PyariCgudia: *
ok aladin, are u talking about films specifically, cuz those were the examples you cited, or the entertainment industry as a whole (music, fashion, tv, film, etc)?

I'm challenging everything to do with media but for the faculty of literature.

If you're talking about films specifically, then I can understand what you're saying, and to explain the problems there and the people trying to bring back quality would take another thread entirely.

hummm, I think that I'm starting to like you.

I can see what you're saying about money. But money does factor in when refined actors and actresses dont want to work in a movie with a 1 crore budget which probably wont be able to afford much of anything except village clothing with gotha work on it, and perhaps a few sets.

I was reading this weeks Akhbaar-e-Jahan and it read that Syed Noor is working on the new version of HeerRanja, which is estimated to have a budjet of around 7PkCroresRs.

And what is mr noor trying to prove???

Even a 5 year old child can produce a blockbuster provided that he his the hier of a billionaire. But its no guarantee that a rocking budgeted film will result as a superhit.

Had Bollywood produced a film worth 7crores, i can understand. But how on earth is noor going to reclaim all that investement and profit when paki film do only and only well in Pak and not evenwhere else on the planet. BTW Bollywood cinemas it meida not just in india, but the whole of middle east, portions of n.africa, the whole of Eu and USA, so it has a better chance of withstanding the impact of a flop!

As for expertise, yes this is a big problem. Again, people dont take entertainment as a serious profession, and that is why you dont see a film school, or tv school, or even courses in many colleges. It would be a good idea to start up a school, but who would do it? A lot of people are going abroad to take courses, and then coming back to work,

No, there are ppl whole do that this particular industry very seriously, however they are in their slimest minority. The rest of the industry is dominated by actresses channelled directly from those red zone areas. So how can we expect maturity from them. As for the actors, well they are maily concerned in becoming a superstars and not exploiting other acting avnues that much.

but there's not many that can afford to do that.

oh, God we're back to square one! And I thought that our thinking was so alike!

Its a poor third world country - what do you expect?

Yes, its a poor country, i.e. the gvernment is poor. Not the people!