A Pakistani Dancer and Her Life Underground

THE SATURDAY PROFILE
A Pakistani Dancer and Her Life Underground
By SETH MYDANS
http://www.sulekha.com/redirectnh.asp?cid=199292

KARACHI, Pakistan
New York Times

FOR the well-dressed, well-heeled and well-bred of the Horticultural Society of Pakistan, it was an unusually daring event, even risqué. Organizers had obtained a rare government permit and admission was tightly controlled.

Under a round yellow moon at the exclusive Marina Yacht Club here, in full view of her assembled audience, a woman was about to commit an act most Pakistanis are forbidden by law to witness: a dance performance.

White awnings billowed as a wind blew in from the Arabian Sea on this recent evening. Loudspeakers erupted with stuttering, syncopated music. Then, from stage right, a streak of white as the dancer, Sheema Kermani, bounded into the spotlight.

She never paused.

Sometimes with the rhythm, sometimes against, she bent and leaped and twisted. Her jeweled fingers flashed, her huge eyes flicked from side to side, her mouth opened and closed as if the music were breathing for her.

Vigorous, electrifying, sensual, a celebration of the body and its passions, her dance was everything conservative Muslim Pakistan now stands against.

In a country where most women cover their heads and some hide inside full-body burkas, where sexual feelings are seen as a challenge to purity and uprightness, a dancing woman is a defiance and a threat, and Ms. Kermani knows it.

“Muslim men have got this hang-up about dancing women,” she said after her performance. “They’re afraid that once they see a woman they can’t control themselves, that either she’ll seduce them or they’ll rape her.”

Quick, darting, impatient, Ms. Kermani, 49, fills her pauses with as much energy as her gestures, and she is as vivid and forceful offstage as on, her words as sharp and expressive as her dance movements.

“Here you have a whole culture in which girls are told to hide their bodies, not to be proud of their bodies,” she said, eating whatever was placed before her at a formal table. “At the root is the fact that men are scared of the power of women.”

It is a patriarchal challenge that seems to stimulate her. Dance, she said, is as much a social statement for her as an art. "When a woman stands up on stage, she stands up straight and she says, `Here I am. And here is my body,’ " she said. “I think that is the statement that people are afraid of.”

For the past two decades, strictures on dance have tightened as Pakistan has grown more conservative. Most public performances are now against the law. This year, all forms of dance were banned from television.

As a result, one of the region’s great art forms is disappearing here, although it still thrives across the border in India. Ms. Kermani is one of the few performers who have not retreated into exile or retirement, one of Pakistan’s last great classical dancers.

For all her vibrancy, when Ms. Kermani dances she is already an artifact of the past, a ghost dancer leaping and whirling as if her world were not already dying around her.

“I don’t believe there is any other country where dance has got this kind of stigma to it,” she said. “Only special private performances like tonight are allowed, and even for this they had to get special permission.”

Under these conditions, it is impossible to make a living as a dancer.

“It depends on the political situation of the moment,” she said. “If things are fine, then maybe I will have one performance a month, or even two or three. But sometimes months go by and I get nothing.”

She supports herself by teaching the daughters of wealthy families who want to give them a taste of their culture. Few stay long. Only two of her female students have continued into their 20’s and both seem on the verge of disappearing.

It has become a social convention in Pakistan that dance is immoral, even sinful. “A girl might not get a proposal of marriage if she is seen performing on stage,” Ms. Kermani said, laughing. “It’s very hard to go against convention. But one can if one wants.”

She does not deny the sexuality of her art, which has its roots in the earthy philosophies of Hinduism. But this is something to be celebrated, she says, not suppressed.

“There’s a devotional aspect and there’s an erotic aspect as well,” she said. “In Indian culture, the God who is most important in dance is Lord Krishna. You worship him and at the same time he is a lover.”

For Ms. Kermani, dance is also a weapon. Art and political activism, she said, have always gone hand in hand for her.

The daughter of an army major, she said the arts were a part of her world from childhood — piano, painting and dance. She was precocious in all of them. Five years after she started to study dance, she began teaching, at 21, alongside her instructors.

She earned a degree in fine arts in London, then studied in India with the masters of different dance forms. At the same time, she said, she took up political and feminist causes. “I’m very motivated in the women’s movement and in the peace movement,” she said. “Dance is part of this whole thing with me.”

When the conservative crackdown began in the 1980’s, she fought back, and she spends much of her time now as a leader of a politically oriented theater group.

“There is very little theater in Pakistan today, very little dance, very little song,” she said. “And that’s because they are so subversive. They tell the truth.”

Ms. Kermani’s husband works in theater as well. They have no children, but most mornings her front room is busy with little girls as she teaches them her art.

HER house is filled with music and the ocean breeze twirls strings of wind chimes at her door.

In Pakistan, it seems, murder is often considered a solution to disagreements, and Ms. Kermani said she regularly receives death threats, by telephone or written note.

Once, when she performed with a theater group at Karachi University, she said, students threatened to kill any man and woman who appeared together on stage. At other times, when she dances in major hotels for special functions, employees there send her threatening messages.

“Nothing has happened,” she said lightly, back home now from her performance at the yacht club. She walked quickly through her house, stripping her wrists of bangles, unclasping the jeweled ring from her nose and letting loose her long, black hair — lithe, graceful, impulsive, a girl of 49.

“I am still alive,” she said. “I believe in what I’m doing. I do it with all truth and honesty. And that’s how I’ve survived.”

[This message has been edited by durango (edited May 11, 2002).]

Syed Kermani played for India against Pakistan Cricket team.Let his residual Kirmani khandan play against Pakistan in Propoganda Match.Who cares for feudalistic surname system borrowed by hindu syatem themselves trying to show us hinduism.We were hindu & rejected pass that to become muslims m/s kermani nachania nautanki nachne bajane wali tamasha peshawar !!!

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/eek.gif

If m/s Kermani want hindu behaviour to be part of Muslim religion & pakistan culture

1/start a new religion or join hindu ism

2/ start a new country where she can remain ‘who cares what religion u are’ & still show her pounding gyrating hips in synchrony to pushed up victoria secret bras making her breast more pointed than Modonna in the famous videos ,

3/ find some respectable exercise of isotonic isopmetric aerobics without having to show MORE SKIN THAN SWEAT.

barque(bijli) yoon akadti hai apne karname pe ke
jaise phir naya hum aashiyaan bana nahi sakte

Today eight US personnel were watching Indian Kathak dance in a fort in Pakistan and a rocket was fired at them by extremists.

Surprising is that the Indian Kathak dance was organised by government officials. How can Islamic republic organise an Indian dance for Americans?

Ok first of all this reporter is an idiot. "No dancing allowed by law"?? He obviously has never seen Pakistani movies or the "culture shows" that are organized by every Multi national in Pakistan. Secondly Kirmani is a little jealous I think There are younger women who are coming up (from the film "industry"). There is that other Katthak dancer ( forget the name) but she was shown on state run PTV during Nawaz Sharif's time in office no less! She is quite famous and has a lot of students. Then there was that old guy Maharaj Katthak who died in 98 I think. He was training a lot of women.

I am not sure whether the National College of Arts has a dance department but thier performance showcases each semester feature dance numbers. Now off course Ms. Kirmani will get the spotlight she craves, since the newspapers in Pakistan will highlight her "Anti-Pakistan" sentiment and a whole other hooplah will be raised, enabling this idiot of a NY times reporter to state how the fundamentalist conservative Pakistani population hates everything.

There is a problem with this story....I mean I know for sure that during marriages...people always have dancers...and its quiet open....I think she's just jealous cause she's old and ugly and no one is giving her any business

"Zindagi mein to sabhi pyar kiya karte hain.....meri jaan mein to maar kar be tumhe chahoon ga"

Define DANCE .

Hence it is not banned or outlawed

I rest my case Seema .

49 yr old unmarried obviously no family (children).AApke qabar pe fatiha parhne walla koi nahi mile ga uske fiqr nahi aap ko :confused

uniya maine ART ke khidmat karne chaleen haine ? ??

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/confused.gif

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, ‘thank you,’ that would suffice.”

she's such an old act.. I saw her play in Open Air.. a pseudo artistic bore which I slept through mostly..

and yes.. the writer seems inclined to paint Pakistan as the next Afghanistan. It's too complex a nation to be so hastily filed under conservative, liberal or confused which it actually is.

Wasnt a Kathak and Bharat Natyam dancer killed in Lahore a few years back?

^ really? Name? year? how it happened. I didn't hear anything about it.....

this articl is a betutiful example of propaganda. according to the article “Pakistanis are forbidden by law to dance” is a white lie. Pakistanis do dance at weddings and other events.

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/dixsi.gif

There are many dance groups that are performing in the country.

Now something about women.

In most parts of the world woman has never accepted as the head of a political party or as prime Minster or presidents. In last 100 years only 24 women are chosen as the head of the country. Pakistan is the country where two times a female was chosen as the prime minister. At this time there are two main political parties Pakistan Muslim League and Pakistan People’s party. The head of Pakistan’s people’s party is a woman.

Pakistani woman has ruled the country that is very strange in most parts of the world. including japan, germany, russia, US etc. it is also very very strang in african countries, and all thoser countries where a woman has never seen as head of the state or head of the political party.

Hey durango I didn’t see this article in the link provided by you.

[This message has been edited by cool down (edited May 13, 2002).]

**>> FOR the well-dressed, well-heeled and well-bred of the Horticultural Society of Pakistan, it was an unusually daring event, even risqué. Organizers had obtained a rare government permit and admission was tightly controlled.

Under a round yellow moon at the exclusive Marina Yacht Club here, in full view of her assembled audience, a woman was about to commit an act most Pakistanis are forbidden by law to witness: ...**

Forgive me, but till this point I thought that something really exceptional happened. And all this hooplah for a .... dance! For crying out loud.... from schools to weddings to corporate functions to circus to heera mandi to birthday parties, there are dances for all ocassions in Pakistan. There is hardly anyone stopping them.

And to add on to what PA said, Sheema Kirmani is perhaps the more boring variety of dancers in Pakistan. Not to mention ancient. (Or maybe I could never care for her redention of kathak).

In a country where most women cover their heads and some hide inside full-body burkas

The Seth Mydans dude probably never visited Karachi, Lahore or Islamabad lately. Or maybe he did that in early 19th century.

when she dances in major hotels for special functions, employees there send her threatening messages.

If she wants cheap publicity, atleast she should make the premise a little more believable.

a girl of 49

Yea rite!

That made my day. :)

Originally posted by durango:
Wasnt a Kathak and Bharat Natyam dancer killed in Lahore a few years back?

Yes. Jahan Ara, her father Zahoor and another person were gunned down by her ex-fiance.

Her mother, Scheherzad Aklaq continues to live in Toronto.

[This message has been edited by Muzna (edited May 14, 2002).]

Girls get gunned down by Fiances for various reasons .Its like since flies have wings & fly then birds which have wings & fly must be flies too

Pakistan is conservative country even more so than India & much much more than West !!What else is new.

Dont we have to adopt the culture custom ,fads & attitude when we choose to live in west ???

Dandiya, Bhangra dancing girls in marriage situation proves that Dance itself is not defined or banned by any definition,.Rest depends on public acceptence ,if they dont accept Seema Kermani ,she should look in at herself hard & ask Is there anything i may be doing wrong???But then many intellectuals cant do that Introspection!,it is expecting too much froma limb & arm throwing dancing girl using only her mid brain

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rotato.gif

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/pagal.gif

“If the only prayer you said in your whole life was, ‘thank you,’ that would suffice.”

[This message has been edited by Tipu Sultan (edited May 13, 2002).]

I’m not quite sure what you are referring to but let me clarify…she was not killed because she was a dancer.

She was shot because she broke off her engagement and decided to marry another person.

Zia banned dancing. It doesn’t cover the dancing on weddings. The main center of dancing in Pakistan was Hira Mandi – we are talking about religiously inspired court and temple dancing (such as Bharat Natyam) and not your day to day butt shaking by fat ladies. The highly artistic form of dancing was banned in the country because it was thought to be un-islamic. If Mullahs have their way, they will take away even breathing let alone dancing.

Pristine, until what age is it acceptable for one to refer to herself to as a girl?

Originally posted by Muzna:
** I'm not quite sure what you are referring to but let me clarify.....she was not killed because she was a dancer.

She was shot because she broke off her engagement and decided to marry another person.

That makes allthe sense then. Phew...I thought it was something as illogical as dancing.

I would like to add this----------->Pakistan is only country where awards were first announced for females, and later for males. In all other parts of the world first award is always given to a male artist.

Hey durango I didn’t see this article in the link provided by you.

durango why the link is not working???

http://www3.pak.org/gupshup/smilies/rolleyes.gif

waiting for durango.

Dont worry about DURANGO who is veteran of throwing a stone & quietly sit on the banks enjoying the ripples break the calm gentle tranquility of still water .

You can go on sulekha an indian forum where all (almost all) posta are ANTI ISLAM Anti muslim Anti pakistan & NO post favouring us.Durnago just pastes one or two from there just to annoy us

Rather funny sadistic at the same time