a new bowler (How's that) - Merged

*Originally posted by Sharaabi: *
Umar316, i am sorry to say, but u fail to make any sense on this topic. Uv never seen him play, yet you support the decision to have him in the team.

The person has hardly played any domestic cricket, is just a medium pacer, and according to people who have seen him play, he's nothing but an ordinary medium pacer.

On the other hand there is Mushtaq Ahmed who has taken the county circuit by storm, with his 99 wickets this season. The bowler seems to be at his very peak....and there is no mentioning of his name by the selectors...At a time when our national side seems to be struggling, at a time when our bowling looks weak and unpenentratable bowlers of the class of Mushtaq Ahmed are thrown to the sidelines...

this is just disgusting....

Sharaabi bhai saheb, Junaid Zia was not handeled properly by the captain, he was brought in too late, and he was being expected to blast out the tailenders.
No one should be overlooked when given a chance, many of today's great stars were dissappointing in their first appearances, if you are going to experiment, then atleast have him justify his selection.

Take Marvan Attapattu for example, his first couple test scores were 0, 0, 1, 0 or something similiar, and he went to become Sri Lanka's best batsman in test cricket.

About Mushy, Pakistan is better of without playing a specialist spinner, both Hafeez and Malik have done a decent job of filling that role.
In test matches, it maybe a different thing, I do want to see him play test cricket.
Hopefully we might see him against SAF.

Umair....not everyone is Attapatu or Inzamam or Wasim.

Just cause there have been a couple of instances...u cant support the theory and keep bringing new players who have absolutely no domestic cricket experience behind them. Imran Khan had an eye for talent...everyones not Wasin and Inzamam.

You dump ur heroes...and go for young blood, and bring players like Yasir Ali and Junaid Zia....what is the PCB trying to proove. All Iam saying is the player should have substantial amount domestic cricket behind him before being thrown in to the deep end. I dont have anything against Zia, how he was handled by his captain is a different story, what iam saying is why is he in the team in the first place....he sould play domestic cricket, proove himself that he is worthy of being in the side...and then the selectors should choose him.

We'v been experimenting for ages...dozens of teenage players brought and then they were just thrown away. It is just so unprofessional from the PCB's part....

well, of all the comments that i have heard, all i would like to say is that we better not compare any youngster with wasim or waqar or saeed.....when they made their debut, they were big super stars.....they were also ordinary youngsters given a chance in the team, and overtime, they proved themselves......
as for him letting the tai-lenders play, what i can say is that on any particular day, even the tail can play...and btw, even other bowlers couldnt capitalize and bundle them for below 100........so is it only zia's fault?????

He is not worth comparing with Umer Gul and Shabir ... atleast for now...
Yes we should give a chance and only chance Zia should get is to play domestic and earn his place rather than get a "chance"

The match was at home, against Bangladesh, the weakest international side, Bangladesh were 5 down. The bowl was around 10 overs old. What more could Junaid Zia want ?

I think Junaid Zia would have been thanking the captain for bringing him when Bangladesh were 5 down. That is generally the best time to introduce the new bowler because the other teams is under pressure and the new bowler is not under pressure. I do not think any body was expecting for him to blast the tail, but nobody was also expecting Zia to be blasted the way he was…

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *About Mushy, Pakistan is better of without playing a specialist spinner, both Hafeez and Malik have done a decent job of filling that role.
In test matches, it maybe a different thing, I do want to see him play test cricket.
Hopefully we might see him against SAF.

Umair yaar r u ok ????? U say Mushi is just a specialist Spinner !!!!! Man this chap has made some good scores at nr. 9 or 10 .... also check out his batting average in the county the current saeson ..... u'll realize Mushi is by far better in both bowling and batting than Saqi and for sure better than this Zia chap ...... and i sincerely hope not see him against SA nor in ODI's neither in Tests .....

Well my reasoning that Junaid should be given another chance is based on the fact that he must be considered something special to have been given a chance ahead of the likes of Abdul Rauf in the first place. otherwise why bother picking him in the first place? The selectors should back their own judgement otherwise the initial selection will look dubious.

As per articles, comments Yasir Ali is better than Junaid Zia, at least for pace so may be we should focus more on Yasir Ali than Junaid Zia.

i havent seen him and he could very well be a talented bowler but sharaabhi is rite we cant keep bringing in new guyz and hope that they become the next wasim or waqar. greats like imran and miandad had great cricketing sense and vison and they spotted the talent rite away. except for a one or two times, we shdn’t be keeping this policy. its pretty obvious to everyone y he played in the odi. its also sad on the part of tauqir zia since he tries to be this epitome of honesty, credibility, accountability in cricket. he shd have been more responsible. mayb he was just being nice to kid! or mayb he just gave a b/d gift to him or something in the form of a chance to play alongside the seniors. :hehe:

By passing 5 brillitant fast and fast/medium bowlers is a SIN. Those guys are far better than him and have proved themselves in the domestic circuit. Their careers are on stake because of this General’s son.

Check out BBC Urdu’s article on Zia

i heard about The General's Daughter....

but The General's Son sounds hillarious too :p

anyway he is a pretty ordinary bowler....
i think umar gul gets more points than him....
and even umar gul will find it difficut to find a place in the team once shoaib and sami combine with razzaq and azhar....

How is Junaid Zia? Purchi hai ya waqaee merit per select hua hai.

Jjunaid Zia played only two ODIs in the first one he fail to got any wicket but in the second ODI he took three important wickets. So wut do you people think that he is a purchi or selected on merit.

Re: How is Junaid Zia? Purchi hai ya waqaee merit per select hua hai.

*Originally posted by moizkiyani: *
Jjunaid Zia played only two ODIs in the first one he fail to got any wicket but in the second ODI he took three important wickets. So wut do you people think that he is a purchi or selected on merit.

2 were tailenders. wouldn't really call them important.

Re: Re: How is Junaid Zia? Purchi hai ya waqaee merit per select hua hai.

*Originally posted by nomaan: *

2 were tailenders. wouldn't really call them important.

Now days, their tailenders are putting more runs then their top order batsmen.

whatever! but u must realize that there are better options than this one

Junaid Zia got a chance and he didnt do anything spectecular. In the next match if Sami comes in Junaid is automatically out. I think the selectors were hoping Junaid picks up some wickets agaisnt Bagali batsmen so they can have a reason to stick him in the South Africa tour as well. I havent seen him bowling but from comments of other people who have seen him bowl it seems his inclusion was not purley on merit. Either Tauqir Zia influenced his selection or Amir seleceted him to kiss Tauqir's ass. In any case I think his inclusion was very questionalbe since there were way to many better performers at the domestic circuit.

Just saw the highlights. Zia is no more than an honest tryer. His wickets were taken where the batsmen were going for the slog, none were due to exceptional deliveries the likes of which both Gul and Shabbir have been producing regularly this series. He should be given another match so we can determine that his inclusion was based on nepotism or genuine talent once and for all.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Just saw the highlights. Zia is no more than an honest tryer. His wickets were taken where the batsmen were going for the slog, none were due to exceptional deliveries the likes of which both Gul and Shabbir have been producing regularly this series. He should be given another match so we can determine that his inclusion was based on nepotism or genuine talent once and for all.

oh please! NO MORE CHANCES FOR JUNNY PLEASE.

"I SELECT YOU, YOU SELECT MY SON", Lets Play This Fun Game

Junaid Zia named to lead Emerging Players team

LAHORE: Pakistani selectors on Sunday named a 14-strong Under-23 team led by the son of the country’s cricket board chairman to play alongside arch-rivals India in this month’s Emerging Players Trophy in Sri Lanka.

The Emerging Players Trophy was originally scheduled to be played in Colombo between September 20 and 28, but the organisers have delayed the competition for a week. The fresh dates and draws of the double-league contest are expected to be announced on Tuesday by Asian Cricket Foundation (ACF).

Besides Pakistan, Sri Lanka and India will take part in the tournament. Pakistan and India will meet for the first time in a junior level tournament since playing in the ICC (International Cricket Council) Junior World Cup in New Zealand in February last year.

The third event, a four-nation between ‘A’ teams of Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, will be held in India in December. The resumption of cricket at the junior level raises hopes that India’s national team will tour Pakistan to play three Tests and as many one-day games in February-March of next year.

No Indian team has toured Pakistan for a full tour since 1989-90. The Emerging Players Trophy is one of three events agreed to by Pakistan and India under the auspices of Asian Cricket Council (ACC). Pace bowler Junaid Zia, son of Pakistan Cricket Board chairman Lt General Tauqir Zia, will lead the sqaud.

Pakistan Under-23: Babar Naeem, Usman Tariq, Shahid Yousuf, Asim Munir Butt, Aamer Sajjad, Qaiser Abbas (vice-captain), Fawad Alam, Amin-ur-Rehman (wicket-keeper), Junaid Zia (captain), Yasir Arafat, Mansoor Amjad, Yasir Ali, Mohammad Khalil, Fahad Masood.

Stand-bys: Pir Zulfiqar, Shahnawaz Malik, Wahab Riaz, Sohail Ahmad. Azhar Zaidi (manager) and Naved Anjum (coach).

Media criticism forces PCB to replace chairman's son as captain
Wisden CricInfo staff - September 15, 2003

Lt-Gen. Tauqir Zia, the chairman of the Pakistan Cricket Board, has over-ruled the selection of his son, Junaid, to lead the national under-23 team in the Emerging Nation's Cup in the light of considerable media criticism which accused the selectors of neoptism.

Junaid Zia, 19, was chosen as captain of the team by the selectors, headed by Amir Sohail, to play in the triangular tournament featuring India and Sri Lanka in Colombo later this month.

A day after the announcement, Tauqir, who retired from the army last week, dismissed the selection of his son, saying he was too young to lead the side. Sohail quoted Tauqir in a statement, saying: "I respect the decision of the selectors, but in my opinion Junaid is too young to handle a team." Sohail also announced that Qaisar Abbas would now lead the side and Junaid would be vice-captain.

Junaid was also controversially picked for the current one-day international series against Bangladesh ahead of some other notable performers, a decision which unsurprisingly went down badly in the national press. Junaid failed to take any wickets in his first match at Multan, but took 3 for 21 in the second ODI at Faisalabad.

Intikhab Alam, the former Pakistan captain, said he felt sorry for Junaid: "His selection was unjustified but I feel sorry for the youngster, it's not his fault, it's up to the selectors to realise that others are better than him."

© Wisden CricInfo Ltd